COVID-19 SG: Start of Phase 2 from 19 June

Blueray

Message added by kobayashiGT

Churches & cinemas among places that are not allowed to reopen in Phase 2

Read more: https://mothership.sg/2020/06/cinemas-bars-cannot-reopen-phase-2/

9 hours ago, inlinesix said:

Either token or app. No more IC

If IC can no longer use then if people no go collect the token or no use phone that can support the app, then many problem liao.

13 hours ago, Didu said:

Hello? This is ownself blow ownself ok? ...And only allow one blow per passenger. Give one big blow so that the "stick" registers your VOC. Otherwise will need to re-blow. 🌬️

Oh. don't mind don't mind, my imagination sometimes goes wild.

3 hours ago, CremornePt said:

The forced surveillance is getting fairly oppressive, we're effectively like China now - no app on smartphone = can't leave your home.

Worst part is that this kind of technology may end up becoming semi-permanent "for safety" or at least linger for years, long after COVID-19 has become a managed disease.

Will TT & SafeEntry still be mandatory in 2025?

Drip, drip, drip, drip.......

What happens to the multitude of tourists we are supposed to be trying to bring in. For sure there will be rights issues forcing EU/US residents/citizens to install an App to get in ANYWHERE or is the plan to loan tokens to everybody on arrival.

I agree with you, this path is a slippery slope that we already have started to climb down but under current conditions we are, at least, still tied on. We only don't know how long the rope is, or if we have enough carabiner in our pouch to keep us safe as we get lower.

Very easy to criticise now that cases are low. 

Rights issue for amdk? Simple, don't come in if not agreeable. Even Japan is considering making a tracking app mandatory for potential visitors next year. 

Oppressive? Ok.... Pls let us know all the things you cannot do today because of trace together. No, no one really wants to know what porn u watching. And if the gahmen really wants to track you and find you cos you are some vvip on their radar, they don't need a trace together to do that. 

Edited by Mockngbrd

3 hours ago, Yewheng said:

Okay understand where government come from.. But if make it mandatory vs not mandatory is very different thing. Once make it mandatory especially if there is a need to use device to enter or sort of, then people should be also be able to replace the device as and when needed like lost the device, device faulty and etc. Hope government have that plan and don't keep thinking TraceTogether token lost still got hp to use what. This should not be the mindset, coz we need to think of whole population as a whole and not just general trend. Yes in terms on general trend, almost all people know how to use smartphone, but what about the very minority who is very lost, this is especially so for elderly? We must also not neglect them. Like for them, lost TraceTogether token = cannot go in shopping malls, cannot go wet market and etc? If they could go make replacement fine, if there is no way for replacement then this lady who lost the TraceTogether token how? 

Agree.

At most we all LOST Together loh :grin:

4 hours ago, CremornePt said:

The forced surveillance is getting fairly oppressive, we're effectively like China now - no app on smartphone = can't leave your home.

Worst part is that this kind of technology may end up becoming semi-permanent "for safety" or at least linger for years, long after COVID-19 has become a managed disease.

Will TT & SafeEntry still be mandatory in 2025?

2 sides of the coin. More surveillence = more security for all, whether in crime or COVID.

If you really want absolute freedom, then you need to do an Amos Yee

5 minutes ago, t0y0ta said:

2 sides of the coin. More surveillence = more security for all, whether in crime or COVID.

If you really want absolute freedom, then you need to do an Amos Yee

Don't think we are talking those absolute here but during a health crisis, when lives are at stake, individual privacy and the rights of society have to rank ahead.

Bo bian, must sacrifice the KTV and massage parlour girls. Wahaha....

22 minutes ago, Windwaver said:

Agree.

At most we all LOST Together loh :grin:

Ahhh...the "digitally" missing generation [laugh]

16 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

during a health crisis, when lives are at stake, individual privacy and the rights of society have to rank ahead.

Hard to disagree against of course.

And for the record, I installed Trace Together months ago.

Just saying watch out where this can lead... - the government has a huge fetish for tech oriented solutions (whether effective or not) & easily scalable ones, and when first things are in place, it usually takes a long time to get rid of again.

Edited by CremornePt

1 minute ago, CremornePt said:

Hard to disagree against of course.

And for the record, I installed Trace Together months ago.

Just saying watch out where this can lead...

True. Hopefully it won't "linger" on. Don't fancy G knowing too much with the press of a button. 

Thailand admits first foreign tourists in 7 months

Thailand’s tourist industry on Tuesday (Oct 20) took a modest step towards reviving its coronavirus-battered fortunes by welcoming 39 visitors who flew in from Shanghai, the first such arrivals since regular travellers were banned from entry almost seven months ago.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/asia/thailand-first-foreign-tourists-china-7-months-covid-19-13322722

14 hours ago, Yewheng said:

There is one big concern.. Which is what if elderly lost the trace together token and they are clueless on using smartphone other then making phone calls? I think since government gonna make it mandatory to use either trace together token /app.. Government should also have locations that should people lost the token and need to buy new one, they could go to that location to do that. If not it would be very difficult and frustrating if they lost the token and clueless on smartphone.. Then they can't even go in shopping malls and etc? This covid-19 situation already make people lose a lot of freedom. I think government should make it as easy for compliance and also as straightforward as possible and the device should be easily purchasable/replaceable . The easy for compliance and straightforward think government do quite a good job, but the device is it easily purchasable/replaceable? 

Not only elderly but kids are also prone to losing stuffs. So in cases where they found out on the spot that they either lost the token or token battery flat (expected 6mths lifespan) then how? U turn go home?

I read below FAQ and it doesn't seem very reassuring.

How is the TraceTogether Token powered? Do we need to change its battery?

The Token’s battery is expected to last 6 months and is non-rechargeable. In the event of a low battery (indicated by a blinking red light), please call our service hotline 69736511 or email [email protected] for the latest information on service assistance.

Edited by Jellandross

8 minutes ago, Jellandross said:

Not only elderly but kids are also prone to losing stuffs. So in cases where they found out on the spot that they either lost the token or token battery flat (expected 6mths lifespan) then how? U turn go home?

The Token’s battery is expected to last 6 months and is non-rechargeable. In the event of a low battery (indicated by a blinking red light), please call our service hotline 69736511 or email [email protected] for the latest information on service assistance.

if the item that you need to carry around and use it so often, then you will probably hold or keep it properly (like tie it to your bag) so that you can take it out easily just like a phone to a young or adult and IC to the old folk that many already doing it now.

if scare battery flat, use the app lor.

12 minutes ago, Jellandross said:

Yah, if your token battery flat and you have already travelled all the way to the place that you want to enter, if U turn go home would waste time and effort liao. And your phone dont have the trace together app. Lol. 

16 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

if the item that you need to carry around and use it so often, then you will probably hold or keep it properly (like tie it to your bag) so that you can take it out easily just like a phone to a young or adult and IC to the old folk that many already doing it now.

if scare battery flat, use the app lor.

Once make it mandatory means need to factor in those thing that rarely happens but still happen. Like lost ic.. It rarely happen, but it still happen to some right? So when these people lost ic, they can go ICA and make for replacement right? So TraceTogether token is of no difference. Maybe if possible, make it such that those who lost the TraceTogether token if really somehow cannot use TraceTogether app.. Can make police report and get a new replacement. Minewhile while waiting for the new replacement, just show the police report that the token is lost and still waiting for replacement and then scan ic go in. These are cater more for elderly and kids like someone here mentioned.. 

Government cannot have the mindset like many will say scared battery flat use app lor. Or lost use app lor. Yes majority of people already using smartphone and know how to download app and use.. But still need to cater for very small number of people who are just clueless on the app, like these elderly only use hp for calling only. Coz it is mandatory, so really need to factor in all sorts of conditions for all population (not just majority). 

Edited by Yewheng

1 hour ago, Jellandross said:

Ya, U-turn, go home.