Msia Singapore border crossing should it be opened soon?

StreetFight3r

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2020/06/16/call-to-reopen-border-crossings

JOHOR BARU: The two land border crossings with Singapore should be reopened as soon as possible to spur the economy, which has almost come to a standstill since the movement control order started, says Datuk Tee Siew Kiong (pic).

“However, a proper standard operating procedure (SOP) should first be put in place to ensure Covid-19 cases do not suddenly spike in both countries due to the mass movement of people, especially workers and the business community, ” said the adviser to the Johor Mentri Besar.

Tee hoped that the top brass of the respective foreign ministries would work out a mechanism to reopen the border.

“Reopening the Causeway and Second Link will enable both countries to recover from the huge social and economic impact of Covid-19, ” he said, adding that all government agencies should gear up with the proper SOP to handle cross-border movement.

He expressed confidence that the relationship between Malaysia and Singapore would be better post-Covid-19.Once the border is reopened, he said the state government should move forward with its plans via the setting up of the Johor Investment Company (Jico) in Singapore to spur the state’s economy.

Jico, which is scheduled to be opened by end of the year, is expected to be a platform for Johor and Singapore to discuss bilateral issues. It is similar to Singapore’s consul-general’s office in Johor Baru.

Meanwhile, Johor Indian Business Association president P. Sivakumar said the closing of the two land crossings had caused much inconvenience to the people and businesses.

“Many people are jobless since the border closed on March 18. How long can people survive on loans or borrowing from relatives?” he said.

Besides that, Sivakumar said many families had been separated while many students studying in Singapore were also affected.

“I have received hundreds of calls from people asking for help. Many people are wage earners who couldn’t cope with the high cost of living in Johor Baru. They are willing to adhere to the SOP that will be implemented as they want to get back to work, ” he said.

“Social and economic problems will worsen when the government’s six-month moratorium on bank loans expires, ” he said.

Sivakumar suggested that the border be opened in stages for economic activities while tourism or leisure should be in the final phase.

“Malaysia’s SOP so far has been effective in controlling the contagion, ” he said.

Seems like msia side more keen than sg to open the borders... Hope officials can work out details on how to open borders safely for those who need to work.. Thousands moving in and out at immigration daily.. It will be hard to practice social distancing... By then u won't know if its imported case or community case.. Bolehland will also be quick to call out sg for imported cases even though one may get infected in msia too.. Leisure travel n travel for cheap petrol n food will have to wait:XD:

30 minutes ago, Freeder said:

Think will be after GE then will discuss..

Yup....  

If parliament will to be disbanded for GE, no minister to discuss ... :we-all-gonna-die: 

So have to wait until GE over, that's also don't know when ... :lll._.:

:grin:

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2020/06/19/time-to-open-jb-singapore-border-putrajaya-told/

really more ganjiong than us.. still not sure how we can open the borders safely for mass travel.. Majority will be Msian workers using the causeway.. And maybe minority Singaporeans with family in msia or stay there/Singaporeans with business there/investors...

2 hours ago, StreetFight3r said:

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2020/06/19/time-to-open-jb-singapore-border-putrajaya-told/

really more ganjiong than us.. still not sure how we can open the borders safely for mass travel.. Majority will be Msian workers using the causeway.. And maybe minority Singaporeans with family in msia or stay there/Singaporeans with business there/investors...

Earning Yusof Ishaks is the top priority for Johoreans. To hell with Covid-19 when stomachs are growing hungry. 

Only Fools rush in  . . . danger lurking up north, don't go in juz for foods, pharmacy refills or recreational activities, ( all very stressed inside ) yet exploding & we don't know what to expect upon arrival@Sp Custom side. Temp check, social distancing, Compulsory mask wearing and very thoroughly vehicular check . .  Strawberry, Blue-berry & Pineapple jam part 3 . Muahahaha !

46 minutes ago, Hamburger said:

Saw in the papers that there was long queue at the pawn shop in Jb. :lll._.:

During MCO, these ppl cannot pay interest to extend their pawn.

• Sad 1

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/asia/singapore-malaysia-covid-19-swab-test-quarantine-ismail-sabri-12852046

“We have agreed to allow Singapore citizens that live in Singapore or Brunei citizens who live in Brunei to come into our country. Hence, we are opening up our country to Singapore citizens and Brunei citizens to come in without the need for approval from our immigration department or to undergo COVID-19 screening tests or home quarantine,” he said.

Mr Ismail Sabri, who is also defence minister, said this was because both Singapore and Brunei are categorised as green zones by the Malaysian Health Ministry.

“We have agreed to allow Singapore citizens that live in Singapore or Brunei citizens who live in Brunei to come into our country. Hence, we are opening up our country to Singapore citizens and Brunei citizens to come in without the need for approval from our immigration department or to undergo COVID-19 screening tests or home quarantine,” he said.

However, he noted that this was on the condition that Malaysians would also be afforded the same privileges. 

“The loosening of the border restrictions must be reciprocated and both these countries must allow our citizens to enter without restrictions, as we have allowed,” said Mr Ismail Sabri.

For the case of Singapore, he stressed that the decision is dependent on the outcome of discussions between the foreign ministries of both sides.

“This is being negotiated by our foreign ministry with Singapore’s foreign ministry. They are still discussing … If they agree to our suggestions, we will agree to relax the restrictions and open our borders. So we have to wait and see how the discussions pan out,” the minister added.

In a separate press conference on Friday, the Malaysian health ministry's director-general Noor Hisham Abdullah said that Singapore was one of the six countries Malaysia was in negotiations with to facilitate the movement of citizens across their borders. 

He noted that most of the COVID-19 cases in Singapore comprised foreign workers and that the proposed arrangement with Malaysia would only involve Singapore citizens. 

"(The arrangement with Singapore and other countries) is doable but we need to explore ... The discussions are ongoing. If it is reciprocal, we can implement," said Dr Noor Hisham. 

Steady steady Singapore... Don't kena pressure to open.. Eveyrhting open at once hosay.. All chiong at the border...but the day the borders open (hopefully under safe circumstances and situation), it think it'll be a very touching scene lor.. Finally can see the row of cars queuing up to go across again for both sides..the things we've taken for granted.. Even seeing pics of jewel and the waterfall today finally running brought a tear to my eyes.. 😢

I'm sitting on a fence, really it's not an easy task to allow both land borders to open, Our G is suggesting " Green Lane " zone for essential services lorries, truck / coaches " to facilitate daily transportation of deliveries both ways, taking into stringent measures for the sheer size of motorcycles bumper to bumper is the biggest issues and mounting challenges in temp.check, mask-up and 1m distancing , sure hell break loose when someone trying to cut Q . . . The step taken to do contact tracing on car on necessary 3/4 steps will be a breeze, hopefully things can came to an amicable agreement both way.

I expect some motorists forget to bring T&Go wif low balance RM card and passport missing / expiry date less than 6 mtgs left. Do your checklist on arriving, departing Sp and into JB. Fuel tank check, tyre pressure et cetc

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2020/06/19/malaysia-seeks-to-open-its-borders-to-six-039green039-countries-says-dr-noor-hisham

On whether it is wise to open up to Singapore considering the high number of Covid-19 cases in the country, Dr Noor Hisham said most of the cases involved foreign workers.

“They are just like us, their numbers are high due to cases among their foreign workers. We won’t allow their foreign workers to enter our country, but we probably can allow Singaporeans who have

not travelled to other countries recently. This is the kind of discussion we must have with these countries, ” he said.

Awwww thank u ah bang..... 

28 minutes ago, Meanmachine said:

I'm sitting on a fence, really it's not an easy task to allow both land borders to open, Our G is suggesting " Green Lane " zone for essential services lorries, truck / coaches " to facilitate daily transportation of deliveries both ways, taking into stringent measures for the sheer size of motorcycles bumper to bumper is the biggest issues and mounting challenges in temp.check, mask-up and 1m distancing , sure hell break loose when someone trying to cut Q . . . The step taken to do contact tracing on car on necessary 3/4 steps will be a breeze, hopefully things can came to an amicable agreement both way.

I expect some motorists forget to bring T&Go wif low balance RM card and passport missing / expiry date less than 6 mtgs left. Do your checklist on arriving, departing Sp and into JB. Fuel tank check, tyre pressure et cetc

Not just worried about custom.. Once either side enter the country its another mess.. U can bring the virus to msia n spread, msia side also can Bring in to sg n spread.. Impossible to really trace the source by then.. Quite worried once our borders open 

• Sad 1

17 minutes ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

Hope it open soon but i wont be the first one to go in lol

Neither for me though I really miss the massage at Bangkok Spa. So far the best.. Even go bkk do also not so shiok