Malaysia Touch 'N Go Card post-COVID-19

Kangadrool

18 hours ago, inlinesix said:

Just nice to pay VEP.

After that, top up at toll booth.

Should not confuse VEP and RC (Road Charge). VEP is the registration of foreign vehicles entering MY and only need to do once for a number of years (i think it's 5?). The one u pay at the toll booth is RC and you need to pay EVERY single time you enter MY. They are not the same thing. Just that, you can make use of TNG wallet app to link it to the VEP RFID to make payment for the RC at the JB checkpoint.

3 hours ago, Kar_lover said:

Should not confuse VEP and RC (Road Charge). VEP is the registration of foreign vehicles entering MY and only need to do once for a number of years (i think it's 5?). The one u pay at the toll booth is RC and you need to pay EVERY single time you enter MY. They are not the same thing. Just that, you can make use of TNG wallet app to link it to the VEP RFID to make payment for the RC at the JB checkpoint.

is the VEP required currently to enter malaysia?

iirc it wasn't even fully setup before CB

8 minutes ago, lexiton said:

is the VEP required currently to enter malaysia?

iirc it wasn't even fully setup before CB

Officially yes. My previous car, i got the VEP RFID installed in Aug 2019.

3 minutes ago, Kar_lover said:

Officially, VEP RFID tag has not been implemented yet.

Edited by inlinesix

12 minutes ago, Kar_lover said:

how long is the validity?

1 hour ago, lexiton said:

how long is the validity?

i guess will be scrapped and a new one implemented. Don't focus too much on boleh land prata schemes. anything and everything can be implemented and scrapped at anytime.

https://www.kln.gov.my/web/sgp_singapore/archive/-/asset_publisher/2Rtn1kxaGSJf/blog/vehicle-entry-permit-vep-registration?inheritRedirect=false

since 2015....

JPJ and LTA competing to see who can delay projects the longest. ERP2 since 2016 and counting.....

Edited by Mkl22

19 hours ago, Atonchia said:

So will the expiry be the same for both countries?

The EzLink and TNG wallets are separate.

For TNG, the problem for us is deactivation of card if not used for a year. My TNG card still valid, but deactivated and cannot used.

3 hours ago, Ojsi said:

The EzLink and TNG wallets are separate.

For TNG, the problem for us is deactivation of card if not used for a year. My TNG card still valid, but deactivated and cannot used.

I guess most TnG card like yours are dead. But the $$ stored still  inside., I guess. 

Maybe need to head down to the TnG centre and transfer the $$ to the new card. 

RFID lanes are now available in most major highways where the RFID lane will detect either VEP RFID tags for foreign cars or the TnG RFID tag for Malaysian vehicles.

List of the expressways here:

https://rfid.touchngo.com.my/rfid-enabled-highways

https://paultan.org/2021/12/24/rfid-on-plus-highways-how-does-it-work/

One point to take note is you need to enter the RFID lane at a slower speed compared to the SmartTag lanes - below 10km/h is advisable. Any faster and you may end up having to reverse and retry going forward.  Whereas for SmartTag lanes you could still enter the lane at 25-30km/h.

On 3/30/2022 at 12:03 PM, nedelk said:

RFID lanes are now available in most major highways where the RFID lane will detect either VEP RFID tags for foreign cars or the TnG RFID tag for Malaysian vehicles.

One point to take note is you need to enter the RFID lane at a slower speed compared to the SmartTag lanes - below 10km/h is advisable. Any faster and you may end up having to reverse and retry going forward.  Whereas for SmartTag lanes you could still enter the lane at 25-30km/h.

Standard...... one step forward, two steps back. 🙄

20 minutes ago, bsswan said:

Standard...... one step forward, two steps back. 🙄

It is a heng Suay matter le.

MY Fren Triton installed with TnG RFID.  Go through it slowly (like 20km/h).  Never have to reverse.

Other fren always have to reverse.

On 3/30/2022 at 12:03 PM, nedelk said:

I entered at 20-30km/h no issue with RFID lane. 

2 hours ago, Luckcent said:

Guys, are there Touch n Go machines at Tuas before the passport counter?

Nope at both woodlands & tuas crossing. e oni places to topup is all after e MY passport counter..

Edited by zipping

18 minutes ago, zipping said:

Nope at both woodlands & tuas crossing. e oni places to topup is all after e MY passport counter..

Like that, jialat liao, my card not used for over 2 years but card expire only 2028, can still use ?