Malaysia Touch 'N Go Card post-COVID-19

Kangadrool

By the way can anyone advise whether I can use my "touch and go app" to pay for the petrol at shell and Petronas. I don't have the RFIG. I meant using the app similar to our paynow over at the counter. 

Can I also reload the touch and go ewallet at the service station counter (using pin reload- learnt from YouTube) similar to those cash reloading shown at 7-11 shown on YouTube. I have stacks of RM inside my drawer. 

Edited by Kopites

1 hour ago, Kopites said:

By the way can anyone advise whether I can use my "touch and go app" to pay for the petrol at shell and Petronas. I don't have the RFIG. I meant using the app similar to our paynow over at the counter. 

Can I also reload the touch and go ewallet at the service station counter (using pin reload- learnt from YouTube) similar to those cash reloading shown at 7-11 shown on YouTube. I have stacks of RM inside my drawer. 

What I know is only few stations of Shell have this TnGo payment, but only through designated RFID bays (meaning, you need to have RFID stickers). Cannot pay through NFC. But, you can use Apple or Samsung pay though.

To be frank, using CC is not a problem at all in Malaysia. I have been using it over a decade. Cash is totally fool-proof, but some one may rob lol.

6 minutes ago, Steptronic said:

What I know is only few stations of Shell have this TnGo payment, but only through designated RFID bays (meaning, you need to have RFID stickers). Cannot pay through NFC. But, you can use Apple or Samsung pay though.

To be frank, using CC is not a problem at all in Malaysia. I have been using it over a decade. Cash is totally fool-proof, but some one may rob lol.

He meant scanning QR codes to make payment via TnG app, like how we use PayNow to scan QR codes for payment.

2 minutes ago, Beehive3783 said:

He meant scanning QR codes to make payment via TnG app, like how we use PayNow to scan QR codes for payment.

I do not think so.

47 minutes ago, Beehive3783 said:

Yes. Scanning qr code. Can be done?

Otherwise no point loading touch and go with rm.

Unless casino accept touch and go slot machine.😁

2 hours ago, Kopites said:

https://www.shell.com.my%2Fmotorists%2Floyalty-and-payment%2Fpay-with-ewallet.html

Petronas uses Setel app instead of TnG e-wallet.

You can also use TnG e-wallet to pay for groceries or food at vendors that support TnG e-wallet payment.

Edited by Beehive3783

7 minutes ago, Beehive3783 said:

https://www.shell.com.my%2Fmotorists%2Floyalty-and-payment%2Fpay-with-ewallet.html

Petronas uses Setel app instead of TnG e-wallet.

You can also use TnG e-wallet to pay for groceries or food at vendors that support TnG e-wallet payment.

Thanks. That was pretty helpful. So now I can load my RM into the TNG app and use the qr code for petrol payment. 👍

Just now, Kopites said:

Thanks. That was pretty helpful. So now I can load my RM into the TNG app and use the qr code for petrol payment. 👍

For petrol, just use CC.  You don't want to leave your family in the locked car.

• Sad 1

58 minutes ago, Kopites said:

Yes. Scanning qr code. Can be done?

Otherwise no point loading touch and go with rm.

Unless casino accept touch and go slot machine.😁

TnG app got scan QR code (printed on the counter) for some places, some places they use their checkout scanner to scan your phone's QR (similar to how we claim HPB e-voucher at NTUC or what).

The former is more common. The latter i think i used it 1-2 times.

33 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

For petrol, just use CC.  You don't want to leave your family in the locked car.

Yes thanks.  

We will work out something. Must always be vigilant when overseas. 

47 minutes ago, Kopites said:

Actually ringgit use very fast one lah. Haha I brought 2400 ringgit there for holiday. I use cc and tng most of the time. Still come back left few hundred liao. 

14 hours ago, Xers007 said:

Did you managed to use your TNG card?

I have a Watson TNG card expiry 2027 but havent used since 2019, checked on the TNG web portal shows status "active". Hope its good to go.

i have an old Watsons TNG card that was not used for many years. Didn't top up value for years until a few weeks ago as my friend needed a card to go Msia. So i top up and pass it to him to use.

Managed to use it to pay the Rm20 road charge and entrance toll fee at JB kastams. 

edit: i just checked. My card also expires 2027

Edited by Shibadog

13 hours ago, Voodooman said:

You must have pumped at Petronas. Don't use Youtrip card at Petronas, the refund will take a few days but you will eventually get it. I find it bloody troublesome to track/ monitor.

Shell generally doesn't have this issue (debit, hold and refund), I think.

The FX rates don't look that attractive.  

my case with the 7 day unresolved refund was at Petronas 😄

5 hours ago, Lala81 said:

Eh in Langkawi it's between petronas and this shady looking buraq oil or something... Didn't see any other petrol stations. 

i saw this during a recent b-road drive in Perak.

Wanted to use the toilet and top up my tank but they were closed for lunch 🤣 Anyway i saw they only had 95 so i wouldn't have pumped anyway. 

1407174102_WhatsAppImage2022-12-02at13_27_52.thumb.jpeg.1e65cf955b2e942273295b41800c6907.jpeg

5 minutes ago, Shibadog said:

i saw this during a recent b-road drive in Perak.

Wanted to use the toilet and top up my tank but they were closed for lunch 🤣 Anyway i saw they only had 95 so i wouldn't have pumped anyway. 

1407174102_WhatsAppImage2022-12-02at13_27_52.thumb.jpeg.1e65cf955b2e942273295b41800c6907.jpeg

yeah their stations just look like this. Only in the less developed areas of langkawi, then i got see cars inside their kiosk. 

5 hours ago, Shibadog said:

i have an old Watsons TNG card that was not used for many years. Didn't top up value for years until a few weeks ago as my friend needed a card to go Msia. So i top up and pass it to him to use.

Managed to use it to pay the Rm20 road charge and entrance toll fee at JB kastams. 

edit: i just checked. My card also expires 2027

thanks for letting me know. 

On 11/16/2022 at 11:12 AM, Beehive3783 said:

Beware, can top up doesn't mean can use. I read about this before on TnG website.

Just confirmed today. Card in domain for years and only last month reloaded  at JB 7-11 by a colleague.  No problem for toll, custom fees. 

Edited by Kopites