GE2020: Singapore General Election - 10 July 2020

Maxus-MIFA9

1 hour ago, Macrosszero said:

LOL. Are you Cantonese? 

Hock chew but can speak Cantonese.

1 minute ago, Wind30 said:

Honestly, I am Chinese so I don’t really know. It’s not about who is fighting for who. It’s about having a parliament with all Chinese. Personally I am completely comfortable with that. Are our Malay Indian Singaporeans ok with that???

i would think some of them will be unhappy. It also allows opportunistic politicians to exploit the fact that it’s a all Chinese parliament. To me, the risks justify the grc policy. Just tell me another practical way for ensuring minority representation with less trade offs.

Why not?

we have had Chinese PMs who speak Malay, since independence.

ensuring minority representation is a matter of mindset, not by physical representation.

1 hour ago, Freeder said:

Why don’t they have a debate for all newbies n let us judge which are the potential candidates to lead SINGAPURA ahead... Er........

Debate? Seriously?

IMG-20200704-WA0017.jpg

3 minutes ago, Theoldjaffa said:

It’s funny when it’s we Singaporeans making fun of ourselves.

but when Malaysia butts in like this, I’m offended because its sarcasm, even if it’s thinly veiled as humour.

some things are just not funny when said by some people or entities.

On the contrary, tons of mocking of them at the other side too...from the red dot pl 

2 minutes ago, Theoldjaffa said:

It’s funny when it’s we Singaporeans making fun of ourselves.

but when Malaysia butts in like this, I’m offended because its sarcasm, even if it’s thinly veiled as humour.

some things are just not funny when said by some people or entities.

When our young generation of miw are getting from bad to worst and many Singaporean still have not wake up, what can we do.

We have been laughing at boleh, now they start laughing at us.

• Praise 10

1 minute ago, Tohto said:

When our young generation of miw are getting from bad to worst and many Singaporean still have not wake up, what can we do.

We have been laughing at boleh, now they start laughing at us.

Exactly

its Time to get down from the high horses and call a spade a spade

the 4G does not have that mettle in them anymore, much less the 5G or incumbents 

18 minutes ago, Theoldjaffa said:

Its ok to disagree cos I don’t agree with u too.

this brings back to my original questions.

Even if we don’t have MPs from the minority race represented...

Must it a Malay to fight for Malay/Muslim  issues? 

Likewise,

Must it be a low income person in parliament to represent the low income folks?

Must it be a HR practitioner to helm MOM?

Must it be a police officer to helm the MHA? 

I answer you first. No need to have a Malay to fight for Malay/Muslim issues. 

Because we had an electrical engineer to helm MOH. 

Because we had a paper general to helm MTI. 

Because we had an eye surgeon to helm MFA.

Because we had an oncologist to helm MOD.

11 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

Honestly, I am Chinese so I don’t really know. It’s not about who is fighting for who. It’s about having a parliament with all Chinese. Personally I am completely comfortable with that. Are our Malay Indian Singaporeans ok with that???

i would think some of them will be unhappy. It also allows opportunistic politicians to exploit the fact that it’s a all Chinese parliament. To me, the risks justify the grc policy. I think too many people take our racial harmony for granted. Our racial harmony is a direct result of good policies implemented by the Pioneer government and grc is one of them.
Racial harmony is not the norm, u just have to look around the world to realise that. 

Just tell me another practical way for ensuring minority representation with less trade offs.

If we look back to LKY's days and how he and his team built Singapore. Did he face this issue of minority representation or he simply embrace the different races into his team? Those that came forward are there to serve with the people supporting them. Now many of those who have fallen through the gaps were forgotten. Can we extend our helping hands to them or we only think of how our GDP and where to squeeze our next million?

1 minute ago, Lethalstrike said:

I answer you first. No need to have a Malay to fight for Malay/Muslim issues. 

Because we had an electrical engineer to helm MOH. 

Because we had a paper general to helm MTI. 

Because we had an eye surgeon to helm MFA.

Because we had an oncologist to helm MOD.

I was stumped when I read an oncologist to helm MOD.

i mean... who can helm in our Mod  @RadX?

then I realised... you are referring to Mindef 🤣🤣

aiyah joking only hor don’t mind me 🤪

25 minutes ago, Theoldjaffa said:

Its ok to disagree cos I don’t agree with u too.

this brings back to my original questions.

Even if we don’t have MPs from the minority race represented...

Must it a Malay to fight for Malay/Muslim  issues? 

Likewise,

Must it be a low income person in parliament to represent the low income folks?

Must it be a HR practitioner to helm MOM?

Must it be a police officer to helm the MHA? 

Once we go along those racial lines, we are no different from tribal ideologies liao

whatever Happened to “regardless of race”

slippery slope I tell you.

that is why , tharman is ever ready for PM, regardless of what some aristocrats think that we “are not ready”

Hogwash!!

2 minutes ago, Theoldjaffa said:

I was stumped when I read an oncologist to helm MOD.

i mean... who can helm in our Mod  @RadX?

then I realised... you are referring to Mindef 🤣🤣

aiyah joking only hor don’t mind me 🤪

Jiala liao... all with mustache is father ah😂😂

yah maybe i oncologist, cure myself from all the English cancer i see here😂😂

Just now, RadX said:

Once we go along those racial lines, we are no different from tribal ideologies liao

whatever Happened to “regardless of race”

slippery slope I tell you.

that is why , tharman is ever ready for PM, regardless of what some aristocrats think that we “are not ready”

Hogwash!!

I couldn’t agree more, mindef. I mean mod. 

:grin: 

Just now, Theoldjaffa said:

I couldn’t agree more, mindef. I mean mod. 

:grin: 

Drop 50 soldier!!😂😂

12 minutes ago, Victor68 said:

If we look back to LKY's days and how he and his team built Singapore. Did he face this issue of minority representation or he simply embrace the different races into his team? Those that came forward are there to serve with the people supporting them. Now many of those who have fallen through the gaps were forgotten. Can we extend our helping hands to them or we only think of how our GDP and where to squeeze our next million?

Who’s idea was to set up GRC?

28 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Who’s idea was to set up GRC?

That is why blank cheque is bad when greed creeps in. We need real voices for check and balance. 

You mean losing PAP candidates can magically be resurrected? What black magic is PAPAP performing?

Edit: sorry for typo as very hard to differentiate between the two although they're totally independent organizations.

Edited by Jellandross