GE2020: Singapore General Election - 10 July 2020

Picnic06-Biante15

26 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

Bhutan got wifi? :a-SOS:

I need to continue use MCF one leh. hahahha

Unless you use Huawei 5G brand tablets or handphone cos they just install 2 repeater stations (5G) on Mount Everest. [sly]

Other brands I don't know. [:|]

If you receiving confused signals on the mountains, bring along @SiLangKia there too. He is very good in fine tuning confusing signals.... :a-m1212:

:grin:

• Haha! 7

30 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

I don't agree with him at all here. The government argument about land sales is always that we only have a finite amount of land and if we use land sales to fund recurrent expenditures, it is just not sustainable as one day we will run out of land.

land sales can be recurring too..

leases of commercial sites valid for 30 years, residential ones (excluding freehold) range from 30 to 99

1 hour ago, Yewheng said:

Maybe on 23th june he saw the news parliament going to be dissolved on 24th June, nomination date on 30th June and election date on 10th July. He did his best to find the earliest possible flight to fly back to Singapore. Remember that now a lot countries on lockdown and very few flights flying around the globe, plus travel from UK to Singapore need at least 12 hours? So when he arrived Singapore he faced another challenge, which is tio stay home notice. This can blame him or not, it is difficult to say, coz he might had commitments in working or what in UK there? 

However it is after he come back, how he prepare the team subsequently, should be the one that he can control.. But then he seems like failed in that. 

Do you think he is not aware of when the intended election will be? Given that almost all the opposition parties are communicating way ahead of announcement. Given what have happen so far, it is no surprise that high up there all opposition leaders knew it is coming and when it is coming. Otherwise how are they ready? Almost everyone is in town and all ready to go, except of course our dear RP chief.

Election is a big thing, its about the country, and it sld have been given priority if anyone is serious. If one candidate only fly in near polling day, just to walk about, do some shouting and then disappear after losing, just to appear again in 4-5 years, how are voters going to give him their votes? 

whereas if you look at WP and SDP, they are always here, creating awareness and showing ppl they are ard and working on the ground. None of them are full time politician, except mayb CSJ. 

Not that I am supporting CSJ or WP now because I have predicted and wanted them to win, but comparing them to kenneth J, I think is really an insult to the rest... 

Even that hopeless Lim Tean makes more noise than Kenneth J. If I am to rank them in term of hopelessness, Lim Team gets 4 out of 5 stars, but KJ gets 4.5 out of 5 from me...[:p][laugh][laugh]

7 minutes ago, Blueray said:

why worry for CCS, its his problem to solve. 

if he cannot solve it, then voters will find someone else who can solve it. 

have we really benefited from CECA, if not, then just rip it up. you scared India invade us ah ? grow some balls lah. [laugh]

Wait india don't fire the space satellite for ERP 2.0 how ?

can we save some money and Use china to fire satellite to space .. ?

Edited by Sdf4786k

4 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

Unless you use Huawei 5G brand tablets or handphone cos they just install 2 repeater stations (5G) on Mount Everest. [sly]

If you receiving confused signals on the mountains, bring along @SiLangKia there too. He is very good in fine tuning confusing signals.... :a-m1212:

Then no choice lor. @SiLangKia must come. hahahahha. Need to bring a chef also. Can @Carbon82 come along? :grin:

13 minutes ago, Blueray said:

have we really benefited from CECA, if not, then just rip it up. you scared India invade us ah ? grow some balls lah. [laugh]

Ya.. Who created this mess in the 1st place. So find someone better to do the job in negotiation with India? Who can it be? I think this need a hard look for all parties to think deep, not only pap but all opposition parties..

Edited by Yewheng

15 hours ago, Wt_know said:

this one posted before ? sorry to repost but i just watch ... SALUTE!

scare her friend will unfriend her ... she pecah lobang that her friend got hdb + bungalow and some got private still got Pioneer $$$ and she don't have ...

she also said ... "dirty diapers must changed"... lol

Dis wan muss wait tail I trooly leetire then can watch...wery drain after one minute...

9 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

Then no choice lor. @SiLangKia must come. hahahahha. Need to bring a chef also. Can @Carbon82 come along? :grin:

Sure, bring whever you want, just keep BB here in SG [laugh]

Sorry, OT liao 

15 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

Actually the MIMO is the one you need after setting up the base station. 5G works on line of sight and hence a serious consideration is to piggyback on top of the street lamp as an infrastructure to groom the network in small country.

Edited by Sdf4786k

1 hour ago, Turboflat4 said:

All true, but I'm sure the dirty as sh*t P@P also thought of all these things in the way they announced the GE with practically no lead time. Must be fair. To say P@P aren't is an understatement, they're as disgustingly dirty as they come. 😂

But...their opponents should have realised this long ago and made defensive moves. 

Were inbound flights from the UK operating through May and June, including CB? Do you know? 

To be fair, I dont know the flight details from UK during that period mentioned, and I do agree on the dirty part of politics. 

However, as a politician, and a key appointment holder of an opposition party, I am sure he is well connected with the other opposition parties, and information sld have been fed to him way earlier. 

Our air border was never closed, even during CB, so I am sure he would have a way to come back early had he wanted to. 

Sorry ah, I lazy to retype everything again, so I quote you what i reply to someone else on the same subject below....[laugh][laugh][laugh]

6 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

Do you think he is not aware of when the intended election will be? Given that almost all the opposition parties are communicating way ahead of announcement. Given what have happen so far, it is no surprise that high up there all opposition leaders knew it is coming and when it is coming. Otherwise how are they ready? Almost everyone is in town and all ready to go, except of course our dear RP chief.

Election is a big thing, its about the country, and it sld have been given priority if anyone is serious. If one candidate only fly in near polling day, just to walk about, do some shouting and then disappear after losing, just to appear again in 4-5 years, how are voters going to give him their votes? 

whereas if you look at WP and SDP, they are always here, creating awareness and showing ppl they are ard and working on the ground. None of them are full time politician, except mayb CSJ. 

Not that I am supporting CSJ or WP now because I have predicted and wanted them to win, but comparing them to kenneth J, I think is really an insult to the rest... 

Even that hopeless Lim Tean makes more noise than Kenneth J. If I am to rank them in term of hopelessness, Lim Team gets 4 out of 5 stars, but KJ gets 4.5 out of 5 from me...[:p][laugh][laugh]

29 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

"Another way is to channel a fraction of land sales receipts (which currently go toward reserves) toward meeting recurrent expenditures like health and education. The common govt argument that land represents assets ignores the fact that human capital is an asset, too.‬"

mmm... Does anyone understand Jamus argument here?

I don't agree with him at all here. The government argument about land sales is always that we only have a finite amount of land and if we use land sales to fund recurrent expenditures, it is just not sustainable as one day we will run out of land.

Unless, he is assuming that the people we develop will help us to generate more income for the government in the future, which to put it bluntly, taxing the future generations more. 

I am not economics trained... so maybe I understand wrongly.

I agree that GST favours the capital (I assume the rich) because it is a regressive tax but putting land sales receipt into the reserves does not favour capital or labour, I feel. 

IMHO.
It is very simple if want to use $ from land sales to fund recurrent expenditure, just make land infinite by reducing the lease.   Reduce 99 years to 50 years.  Every 50 years can change house.

I also can make suggestion,  scrap COE and replace with ERP.  Keep increasing ERP until there is no congestion. If ERP reach $8 per day, annual is $1.7B.  Want more, increase. Like we can own and collect whatever cars we want.  Also help to fill up those empty places in HDB car park. 

I am also not economics trained.   I have very simple understanding.  I am currently helping by paying taxes and GST.   While I do my best to buy things locally (and pay GST)  there are already many instances that the things I want is not available for me to buy. 

42 minutes ago, Blueray said:

CECA is really a PCN treaty from the beginning till now..

In return of investments in India?

Tell me till now , any profits generated?

Losses in the billions and counting..

Really shitty judgement.. 

We need people with IRON to nego with them..

Not softies to fulfill their KPIs n make the future generations to suffer..

If the current aftermath is not severe enough, then KJ’s parting shot applies...

Edited by Freeder

3 hours ago, Yewheng said:

Also look at Lim Boon Heng, remember he also was against building casino and then what happened? He retired at ge2011 right? I remember when he give speech, he was in tears. So there seems to have common in here.. Those that go against party line somehow will retire or get voted out sooner or later. 

teo-ser-luck-humble-pap-mp-heart-residen

7 minutes ago, Sdf4786k said:

Actually the MIMO is the one you need after setting up the base station. 5G works on line of sight and hence a serious consideration is to piggyback on top of the street lamp as an infrastructure to groom the network in small country.

Aiyah. Just bring @SiLangKia there lor. Anyway, if @Carbon82 cook, we need more stomach to help finish the food mah. hahahahha.

1 minute ago, Adrianli said:

Looks like she tone down after watching the many memes of herself during nomination day.:XD:

Have to tone down and think before speaking. Cannot shoot like a machine gun leow  .....  :a-shoot:

Wait someone make poice report how ???? ... [sweatdrop]

This GE, so many police reports made .... :lll._.: