S’pore Hurdler Sexually Assaulted By Coach, Urges SportSG To Review Reduced Penalty

kobayashiGT

S’pore Hurdler Sexually Assaulted By Coach, Urges SportSG To Review Reduced Penalty

source: https://mustsharenews.com/hurdler-sportsg/

Spore-Hurdler-Got-Sexually-Assaulted-By-

Singapore Athlete Appeals To SportsSG After Coach’s Suspension Is Reduced

On 1 Nov 2018, SportSG suspended a national hurdler’s coach for 2 years, after he was guilty of inappropriate behaviour during training.

But Ms Kerstin Ong recently found out that the coach only served an 8-month ban after corners were allegedly cut & the suspension period was reduced.

In an Instagram post on Saturday (27 Jun), the athlete reveals her side of the story in detail.

Screen-Shot-2020-06-29-at-11.jpg

In her impassioned plea, she appeals to SportSG to review the way they deal with sexual assault cases and to take them more seriously.

You can read her full account here:

photo_2020-06-29_10-30-15.jpg

photo_2020-06-29_10-30-14.jpg

We summarise her key points below.

Coach behaved inappropriately in 2016

The coach involved in the incident was an apprentice national coach under the Singapore Athletics Association (SAA), training Ms Ong in 2016.

According to a complaint report, he was behaving improperly during training sessions, enough to make the hurdler feel uncomfortable.

105568318_153117516295232_19452745296821

This includes making sexual jokes and touching her inappropriately. On one instance, he smacked her buttocks while she was resting during a team physical training.

106330039_800611240759925_85834815675237

He was charged for 3 offences, including insulting the modesty of a woman, outrage of modesty of a woman and 1 count of using criminal force.

77040117_150837096533705_416362469930156

This was after the athlete was put through 7 hour-long interviews and lie-detector tests with the police.

Only served 8 months of 2 years SportSG ban

Eventually, the coach had to serve a 2-year suspension by SportSG, according to Channel News Asia (CNA).

This was after he admitted all his offences to the police, stated the athlete.

82294539_684119609105709_287521996537700

Furthermore, after it was backdated by 10 months, he only served 8 months of his ban, which is “unjustifiable and not transparent”, she asserted.

Athlete calling for justifiable punishment by SportSG

In her post, Ms Ong expressed how upset she is with the way SportSG dealt with her sexual assault case.

She shared that the way local authorities deal with sexual assault cases is significant in encouraging more victims to come forward. Adding that failure to properly punish perpetrators is demoralising for victims who muster up the courage to speak up.

As such, the athlete is calling for SportSG to review their verdict and urges them to take future sexual assault cases more seriously.

MS News has reached out to SportSG for a statement regarding the matter.

However, Ms Ong points out that SportsSG had since reduced his suspension to 1.5 years.

Kudos to athletes for bravely speaking out

Kudos to Ms Kerstin Ong for bravely coming forward with her story. We hope that this incident will spark more fair & necessary conversations about sexual harassment cases.

This is just one story in many other unheard voices, and hopefully, her story will eventually contribute to building a safer environment for female atheletes in Singapore.

The coach Fabian YOLO sia. 🤣

• Angry 2
  • Shocked 5

Not condoning this guy's behaviour in the least (nor minimising her ordeal) but we must recognise the societal double standard here. If the gender roles were reversed, it's very unlikely the male athlete would've complained (and if he'd done so, even less likely he would've been taken seriously). 

Females have always enjoyed more latitude in handling males than the reverse, perhaps because of the implicit bias toward considering males sexual predators.

How often have you seen a female cleaner cleaning a male toilet while males use the urinals? Have you ever seen a male cleaning a female toilet, especially when there's even one woman inside an enclosed stall? 

Even doctors are not spared this - it's drilled into us repeatedly that we always need female chaperones when examining a female patient, but the reverse never held true in my time (and probably still doesn't).

Ditto for harassment and statutory rapes by teachers - it's always an asymmetrically treated phenomenon. 

If we are really moving toward gender equality, those asymmetries need to be addressed. Women can just as easily be predators as men can.

1 hour ago, Turboflat4 said:

Women can just as easily be predators as men can.

This movie may have been for a laugh, but imagine a male doctor doing the same things to his female nurse. 

image.thumb.png.5f7908025ae657c92b1a3cf2980e632c.png

3 hours ago, Turboflat4 said:

Not condoning this guy's behaviour in the least (nor minimising her ordeal) but we must recognise the societal double standard here. If the gender roles were reversed, it's very unlikely the male athlete would've complained (and if he'd done so, even less likely he would've been taken seriously). 

Females have always enjoyed more latitude in handling males than the reverse, perhaps because of the implicit bias toward considering males sexual predators.

How often have you seen a female cleaner cleaning a male toilet while males use the urinals? Have you ever seen a male cleaning a female toilet, especially when there's even one woman inside an enclosed stall? 

Even doctors are not spared this - it's drilled into us repeatedly that we always need female chaperones when examining a female patient, but the reverse never held true in my time (and probably still doesn't).

Ditto for harassment and statutory rapes by teachers - it's always an asymmetrically treated phenomenon. 

If we are really moving toward gender equality, those asymmetries need to be addressed. Women can just as easily be predators as men can.

Bro...need to have Men's Charter first.

Got Women's charter but no Men's charter already not fair....hahahaha

2 hours ago, Macrosszero said:

This movie may have been for a laugh, but imagine a male doctor doing the same things to his female nurse. 

image.thumb.png.5f7908025ae657c92b1a3cf2980e632c.png

Which movie is this?

7 hours ago, Turboflat4 said:

No women prey on me leh. 😢😪

Bottomline, this bloody coach should serve full ban. Damn it!

36 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

No women prey on me leh. 😢😪

Bottomline, this bloody coach should serve full ban. Damn it!

Oh definitely. "Bottom" line indeed. 😁

13 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

He was charged for 3 offences, including insulting the modesty of a woman, outrage of modesty of a woman and 1 count of using criminal force.

77040117_150837096533705_416362469930156

Those who are more legally savvy can advise me here.

Her posting claims he was "charged" for 3 sexual offences.

But I only see that he was officially warned by police. sounds like they could not find enough evidence/reason to detain him further and just told him to clean up his act regardless. To me, if charged he would be going to trial and waiting to see either fine, jail or cane from judiciary.

Is this a case of the woman misunderstanding the conclusion of the police and thus crying father murder.....

Edited by t0y0ta

11 hours ago, Turboflat4 said:

Female doctors also need chaperones when handling male patients in case the patient abuse the doctor.

AdvancedBossyBirdofparadise-max-1mb.gif

21 minutes ago, Windwaver said:

Female doctors also need chaperones when handling male patients in case the patient abuse the doctor.

AdvancedBossyBirdofparadise-max-1mb.gif

You'd think so, but that's not the general thinking. It's about a power gradient. Doctor over patient during the exam (patient has to cooperate with doctor's directions).

8 hours ago, Turboflat4 said:

You'd think so, but that's not the general thinking. It's about a power gradient. Doctor over patient during the exam (patient has to cooperate with doctor's directions).

not if i'm the patient hahahaha.....think i cooperate meh?

20 hours ago, Turboflat4 said:

yah lor...even Ultrasound scrotum...why no chaperone?