Anyone into Jigsaw Puzzles?

BabyBlade

Hi all. I've been inspired to start my own Jigsaw puzzle collection after some poison by a friend, in particular the Disney Series! There is zero thread regarding Jigsaw puzzles so... 

Looking for places to buy. I've looked through Carousell, Amazon, Shopee (too ex), Lazada and some specialised shops in Singapore like PerfectFit.

• Where do you usually get your jigsaw from, preferably from Singapore?
  • What's a recommended brand to get on average?
  • Where do you get your poster frame?

This is my personal favorite and I'm trying to find this right now but hopefully the 1,500 one. Apparently only overseas have.

toys-and-games-jigsaws-and-puzzles-jigsaws-adult-thomas-kinkade-disney-beauty-the-beast-1000-piece-jigsaw-puzzle.jpg.562917f5245aad0e88edb33395d468c9.jpg

toys-and-games-jigsaws-and-puzzles-jigsaws-adult-thomas-kinkade-disney-beauty-the-beast-1000-piece-jigsaw-puzzle-1.jpg.09698f10fc5566adfc8bfac031f2e3fc.jpg

Damn cool or is it just me?

Disney-Memories-The-Lion-King-1000-Piece-Jigsaw-Puzzle.thumb.jpg.79adca0220a204379d452711a01b223b.jpg

4905823946268_bdd1f691529ece5a76eaa70f9867a656__91643.1577242938.jpg.83b0d5972f1f0d9a737e1b84ce50659f.jpg

Any luck here? Anyone into "boring" jigsaw puzzles too?

Although jigsaw puzzles is fun but it needs patience to piece up a jigsaw puzzles. Think i do not have it. Lol. 

53 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Although jigsaw puzzles is fun but it needs patience to piece up a jigsaw puzzles. Think i do not have it. Lol. 

Alamak. What a disappointing first reply. Hahahahhaha. I just ordered the Beauty & the Beast 1,500 one.

my wife and kids used to play jigsaw puzzle, quite a few over the years. yes they also like Disney series [laugh]

then come the problem, where to keep? frame and hang them? but not for long cos you got sian looking at them  [laugh]

21 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

my wife and kids used to play jigsaw puzzle, quite a few over the years. yes they also like Disney series [laugh]

then come the problem, where to keep? frame and hang them? but not for long cos you got sian looking at them  [laugh]

I have a big Pearl Harbor movie poster framed up in my living room, since 2005. Was a birthday present from my friends. I also have a picture of the Twin Tower framed up in my living room, way before the September 11 attacks. Until now still the same.

2 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

U remind me of me  Preambree Skool dayz 

Primary school never tackle 1000 pieces one. Usually 70-100 pieces or less. Hahaha.

2 minutes ago, BabyBlade said:

Primary school never tackle 1000 pieces one. Usually 70-100 pieces or less. Hahaha.

Me was tackling "other things"  back then 🤣

42 minutes ago, BabyBlade said:

Alamak. What a disappointing first reply. Hahahahhaha. I just ordered the Beauty & the Beast 1,500 one.

Think i found a cure if i cannot sleep liao, try to piece up a 1,500 jigsaw puzzles, confirm i will fall asleep. Lol.

42 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

This is another problem when playing jigsaw puzzles, cause need to find place to store all these big big small small finished jigsaw puzzles siah?! Eventually these things would become an eye sore, ended up dont know should keep or throw away? Lol.

Edited by 13177

7 minutes ago, BabyBlade said:

I have a big Pearl Harbor movie poster framed up in my living room, since 2005. Was a birthday present from my friends. I also have a picture of the Twin Tower framed up in my living room, way before the September 11 attacks. Until now still the same.

Movie posters are worth collecting as it shows the history of pop culture.

My father loves jigsaw. He would spend his evenings on that for weeks. We already have a few on the wall plus a good frame is usually more expensive than the puzzle. So he would put it on the board for a few days, then goes back into the box. [laugh]

For the frame, we used to go to a photo shop and have it done up. The glass needs to have a coating to prevent UV and colour transfer. So far the jigsaw still in good shape after more than 20 years. The cheaper frames we got did nothing to protect the colour. After a few years the colour faded and turns yellowish.

7 minutes ago, 13177 said:

This is another problem when playing jigsaw puzzles, cause need to find place to store all these big big small small finished jigsaw puzzles siah?! Eventually these things would become an eye sore, ended up dont know should keep or throw away? Lol.

Yes the problem is always the storage part. After spending hours, days to fix up the puzzle, what's next? Can't be there lying on the floor or table forever. End up all back into the box which is kinda a waste of time and space. Need to have the frame ready at least it's on the wall not taking up space.

6 minutes ago, Stratovarius said:

Movie posters are worth collecting as it shows the history of pop culture.

My father loves jigsaw. He would spend his evenings on that for weeks. We already have a few on the wall plus a good frame is usually more expensive than the puzzle. So he would put it on the board for a few days, then goes back into the box. [laugh]

For the frame, we used to go to a photo shop and have it done up. The glass needs to have a coating to prevent UV and colour transfer. So far the jigsaw still in good shape after more than 20 years. The cheaper frames we got did nothing to protect the colour. After a few years the colour faded and turns yellowish.

Not sure if you remember more than 10 years ago Suntec City used to have a jigsaw puzzle shop and also a movie poster shop selling all the frames as well. 

The puzzle I got cost $80 including delivery. Ordered an aluminium rose gold frame from a Carousell seller for $70. Hopefully the quality is decent. How much does it usually cost for a decent quality frame and also puzzle on average?

2 minutes ago, BabyBlade said:

Yes the problem is always the storage part. After spending hours, days to fix up the puzzle, what's next? Can't be there lying on the floor or table forever. End up all back into the box which is kinda a waste of time and space. Need to have the frame ready at least it's on the wall not taking up space.

Kind of waste time and effort if after i have finished fixing a jigsaw puzzle and then all goes back into the box. Like that i would not start fixing it in the first place. So my this type of mentality not suitable to play jigsaw puzzle lo. Lol.

2 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Kind of waste time and effort if after i have finished fixing a jigsaw puzzle and then all goes back into the box. Like that i would not start fixing it in the first place. So my this type of mentality not suitable to play jigsaw puzzle lo. Lol.

Same. But I'm determined to complete my first 1,500 jigsaw lol. Good time to start also since COVID-19 still around. 

s-l600.jpg.9fff0d0f5da975af74086ff859c55e02.jpg

Classic and timeless ones like the above can keep. This is so beautiful also. Sorry I'm a Disney fan. Haha.

Hi bro,

My wife n myself used to crazy over it when we are newly wed.

We bought a couple of boxes (500 - 2000pcs/box) usually cartoon n disneys.

Start-up with 500 pcs n gradually to 2000 n more.

Issue is on the space need (Usually frame it up) and a table for in-complete project.  Due to sizes issue, we even customize the frame.

Hope you enjoy this hobby too.

Advise is to have a feel on the individual puzzle surface before you buy. Quality issue.

19 minutes ago, BabyBlade said:

Same. But I'm determined to complete my first 1,500 jigsaw lol. Good time to start also since COVID-19 still around. 

s-l600.jpg.9fff0d0f5da975af74086ff859c55e02.jpg

Classic and timeless ones like the above can keep. This is so beautiful also. Sorry I'm a Disney fan. Haha.

Jigsaw puzzle is good during the CB period. Cause stay home more than go out. Good to keep occupied. But now no more CB liao. Lol.