business closures due to slowdown during covid

Ysc3

48 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

I went to Decathlon once, they have wide a ranging of products,  though their price is cheap , very few are of good quality by my expectation,  I am not sure if it is just me or others have similar feeling ? I dont know if they could survive in the long run. 

Their quality is about average, for the price it lasted quite well. 

But for things like you use very often, say running shoes if you are a runner, then obviously the premium specialty brands are better.

16 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Cheapest is buy from those shoe stall in market. Lol. Secondary school kids would know what design/brand of school shoes and havesack to use de.

I ask my mummy to bring me to market this weekend. See if I can get a new shoe anot. :XD:

17 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

I ask my mummy to bring me to market this weekend. See if I can get a new shoe anot. :XD:

You dont go to wet market ah. Lol.

32 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Cannot survive for too long, esp now online can buy so many similar items with cheaper price.

err ... cos u obviously not shopped this items online before.

Decathlon prices are cheap even compared to buying these products from China decathlon. Or just generic stuff from the Internet.
Unless u are talking about heavy/bulky items, then yes there is some premium.

3 minutes ago, 13177 said:

You dont go to wet market ah. Lol.

got go lah. haha. But I go there eat only. hahaha.

2 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

Change your finance minister! Then you can keep buying le.

BBBMTL!

Haha.... True. I learnt my lesson also. Next finance minister better not come with a MIL. 

3 hours ago, Acewin said:

Buy from internet Taobao can kena "Cheong" one, I kena once bought a Wilson Tennis racquet at about 60% of the price and very happy. Bring to the shop for stringing the uncle tell me Bro your racquet cheong one bought from internet right? and he bring one from his shelve compare for me to see can see the difference if you have another similar to compare.

At that moment Malu liao just say yes my son buy from internet but actually I buy one.

Lol.... Reminded me when I bought my Specialised road bicycle to local bike shop for repair. The uncle looked at my bike with disgust and said 'never look after one ah?'

I looked around and said with a head shake 'my son one lah'...  

He's in pri school... 

2 hours ago, 13177 said:

Cannot survive for too long, esp now online can buy so many similar items with cheaper price.

I like Deca. Most products usage occasions well specified. And can find right sizes. Quality very good for the price. Eg all my ski gear from Deca (some online Deca).  Prices in Sg is about the same as China stores. So I don't feel kena chopped 🥕

3 hours ago, Ct3833 said:

I went to Decathlon once, they have wide a ranging of products,  though their price is cheap , very few are of good quality by my expectation,  I am not sure if it is just me or others have similar feeling ? I dont know if they could survive in the long run. 

Imo Decathlon is value for money i.e. decent quality for the price paid. Especially for exercise attire/equipment which I expect to get thrashed/soiled.

Maybe it's a poor mentality, but I'd dare not wear a $30+ Under Armour shirt to the gym to drench and stink it up with my sweat (I am a profuse sweat-er haha)

1 hour ago, boonhat_91 said:

Imo Decathlon is value for money i.e. decent quality for the price paid. Especially for exercise attire/equipment which I expect to get thrashed/soiled.

Maybe it's a poor mentality, but I'd dare not wear a $30+ Under Armour shirt to the gym to drench and stink it up with my sweat (I am a profuse sweat-er haha)

Can skip the details bro. hahahha.

2 hours ago, RadX said:

Surprising challenger still open

Challenger during this WFH period and Home Base Learning period huat ah.

8 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

Change your finance minister! Then you can keep buying le.

BBBMTL!

Brudder...don’t anyhow recommend impeachment against domestic fin min hor...that one can exercise executive veto power or go on hunger strike - she goes on strike while you go hungry...then the house cannot function properly leaving it in disarray state. 

best option is to ask nicely if she can release a plan (named after East coast, West coast, Gold Coast whatever coast also can) with some nicely packaged packages to fund the stimulation to economic boost 

13 hours ago, Yewheng said:

Ya.. Think the next logical thing for government to do is to reduce taxes, reduce government expenditure, reduce government regulations and more.. Coz big government is not to solution.. Big government is one of the source of the problem.

Business they themselves if have more money in reserve, they can use these money to expend their business and if in bad times, they can use these reserve to tide over the difficult period. If say government keep increase direct and indirect tax, keep add new regulations year by year and businesses keep need to set aside more and more money for taxes and regulatory requirements.. Their savings will get lesser. When their savings get lesser, how does it help the business? Not at all, in fact he hinder their business, coz they might not expend their business coz of lesser cash flow for expenension, they might also have lesser savings to tide over the difficult period. 

You are reading too many tea party literature and blindly applying it to SG.

SG Govt's expenditure as a percentage of GDP (14%-15%) is also one of the lowest among developed nations and we rank highly in terms of economic freedom. Go google it. A lot of things that are regulated in developed country are not regulated here.

Should we privatize our healthcare, MRT, bus service, prison, public education, etc like in the US?  Small govt means G do less and the private sector do more, right?  I am actually happy they are building hawker centres again. 

This is especially funny...."Business they themselves if have more money in reserve, they can use these money to expend their business and if in bad times, they can use these reserve to tide over the difficult period."

Go goggle where did all the profits made by US companies (the most competitive and loudest advocate of small govt/ less regulations in the world) in the last decade went?  Dividend and share buyback, not for rainy days for sure. The US Govt is bailing out private companies now. Did the tea party object?  

So you want more privatization of public goods or less regulations in SG or both?  

17 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

Brudder...don’t anyhow recommend impeachment against domestic fin min hor...that one can exercise executive veto power or go on hunger strike - she goes on strike while you go hungry...then the house cannot function properly leaving it in disarray state. 

best option is to ask nicely if she can release a plan (named after East coast, West coast, Gold Coast whatever coast also can) with some nicely packaged packages to fund the stimulation to economic boost 

want stimulation package can, go bedroom at night, and can talk about all sorts of fun except funding no talk.

35 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

You are reading too many tea party literature and blindly applying it to SG.

SG Govt's expenditure as a percentage of GDP (14%-15%) is also one of the lowest among developed nations and we rank highly in terms of economic freedom. Go google it. A lot of things that are regulated in developed country are not regulated here.

Should we privatize our healthcare, MRT, bus service, prison, public education, etc like in the US?  Small govt means G do less and the private sector do more, right?  I am actually happy they are building hawker centres again. 

This is especially funny...."Business they themselves if have more money in reserve, they can use these money to expend their business and if in bad times, they can use these reserve to tide over the difficult period."

Go goggle where did all the profits made by US companies (the most competitive and loudest advocate of small govt/ less regulations in the world) in the last decade went?  Dividend and share buyback, not for rainy days for sure. The US Govt is bailing out private companies now. Did the tea party object?  

So you want more privatization of public goods or less regulations in SG or both?  

Not say privatised.. But look at how government keep increase in government expenditure year by year.. 

https://data.gov.sg/dataset/government-fiscal-position-annual?view_id=42b84b79-19aa-4681-af29-96bd3e742190&resource_id=98856a60-33cd-482a-9dc4-1ed52e562d5d

Screenshot_20200709_223447_com.android.chrome.thumb.jpg.fc81ed831f21b9ace288628f358bbb00.jpg

Is this sustainable to keep increase government expenditure like that? Now we compare.. Has our salaries rise that fast as compared to government expenditure? Then the direct and indirect tax keep increasing and government expenditure keep increasing at faster rate then the salary of the same job. So in 20 years how? So really need to think of ways to reduce government expenditure and not keep increasing it at the expense of need to keep increase in direct and indirect tax. 

Bigger government is not the solution, bigger government is the problem for resource allocation for business to expend their business or to save for rainy days. 

Take it as the bigger the government, the more taxing it is on people and businesses to fund the big government. 

Edited by Yewheng

2 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

Not say privatised.. But look at how government keep increase in government expenditure year by year.. 

https://data.gov.sg/dataset/government-fiscal-position-annual?view_id=42b84b79-19aa-4681-af29-96bd3e742190&resource_id=98856a60-33cd-482a-9dc4-1ed52e562d5d

Screenshot_20200709_223447_com.android.chrome.thumb.jpg.fc81ed831f21b9ace288628f358bbb00.jpg

Is this sustainable to keep increase government expenditure like that? Now we compare.. Has our salaries rise that fast as compared to government expenditure? Then the direct and indirect tax keep increasing and government expenditure keep increasing at faster rate then the salary of the same job. So in 20 years how? So really need to think ways to reduce government expenditure and not keep increasing it at the expense of need to keep increase in direct and indirect tax. 

Then it is not big govt and regulations you have an issue with. 

In recent years, govt spending on public housing, education, social and healthcare (due to aging population) have increased? Which one do you think should be cut?