M’sia Confirms S’pore-JB Rail Project Is Back On Track, Agreement To Be Inked End-July

kobayashiGT

M’sia Confirms S’pore-JB Rail Project Is Back On Track, Agreement To Be Inked End-July

source: https://mustsharenews.com/singapore-jb-rail-agreement/

Msia-Confirms-Spore-JB-Rail-Project-Is-B

Singapore-JB Rail Project Expected To Start In Nov 2020

After several deferments of the highly anticipated Singapore-JB rail link project, we hope Malaysia would stop playing with our hearts.

On Sunday (12 Jul), our northern neighbour has just confirmed news on the project again, saying that works are expected to start this November.

JB-SINGAPORE-RTS.jpg

This is great news, considering how long this project has been put on hold for years.

Both countries to sign Singapore-JB rail project agreement

According to The Straits Times, Johor’s chief minister Hasni Mohammad said Malaysia and Singapore will be inking the agreement on the project end-July.

The project will be connecting Johor Bahru’s Bukit Chagar area – near JB Sentral – with Woodlands North MRT station.

woodlands-station-7.jpg

More details were revealed concerning the project:

• Depot for train maintenance will be built in JB instead of Mandai
  • Train depot will span around 2.83 hectares — almost the size of 4 football fields

31 Jul was final deadline granted by Singapore

To recap, Singapore and Malaysia had signed a bilateral agreement in Jan 2018 for the Singapore-JB train line, dubbed Rapid Transit System (RTS).

The project was supposed to have started construction last year, but was met with multiple delays. Some major ‘obstacles’ also included a change in the Malaysia government and the ongoing Covid-19 crisis.

Singapore had granted the final deadline of 31 Jul to the project – suspended since Apr 2019 – as Malaysia still had about 222 project-related issues to look into.

As of last Monday (6 Jul), we learnt that 220 had already been resolved, though Malaysia senior minister Azmin Ali remained mum on what the remaining 2 issues were.

A dream come true for Causeway commuters

After much has been said and done over the RTS link project, we hope that this is the final deferment, and that works will begin smoothly as planned.

Once this project is completed, it would undoubtedly help to relieve the notoriously heavy Causeway traffic and offer a more efficient alternative for travellers and Malaysian workers to commute between both countries.

Fingers crossed that the project will proceed swiftly.

聽聽就好 lah. 😂

That Dr M is still like a cockroach. Havent die. Their politiks might change again with what backside govt forming here and there.

29 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

no mattet what, must solve the "chop passport" human jam

else simi sai RTS is just a white elephant ...

Can just get more machines. 

Few separate issues to be finalised, RTS is one, so its fantastic news.

Going forwards are the 2 borders crossing, still in discussion on timing to be safely open for " Green Lane for essential services " and not any Tom, Dick or Harry's cars entry for leisure, I hope that Singaporean motorists show restraints , cooperation on mutual agreement and keep abreast of both sides standards protocol of temp. taking, distance distancing and adhere to all C-19 safety measures upon implementation.- Its not break free yet, The virus are still around actively and looking for opportunity to strike anytime.

1 hour ago, Wt_know said:

no mattet what, must solve the "chop passport" human jam

else simi sai RTS is just a white elephant ...

It’s definitely faster than bus despite human jam.

Confirm ppl will take RTS.

On wkdays, daily commuter rather walk than take bus.

I'll believe it when i see it

Bolehland next week can change gahmen, 2 months later change back, then 6 mths later change again

Covid should demonstrate who needs who more and MY do need to start some infrastructure works to boost the economy. Everyone's pocket is empty, including those of many politicians up north. 

another boleh land rubbish.... like the rest said, must see it physically working them i believe.

Not to say SG is perfect, but still better although sometimes with the things that we do, we can be boleh land kechil....

Edited by Mkl22

1 hour ago, inlinesix said:

It’s definitely faster than bus despite human jam.

Confirm ppl will take RTS.

On wkdays, daily commuter rather walk than take bus.

you subscribe to the rush to wait idea. whats the point of having a quick journey over the johor straits when the traveling time isn't the bottle neck.

13 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

another boleh land rubbish.... like the rest said, must see it physically working them i believe.

Not to say SG is perfect, but still better although sometimes with the things that we do, we can be boleh land kechil....

Seeing sometimes also cannot believe...I had seen pillars for the crooked bridge up in JB before...

32 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

you subscribe to the rush to wait idea. whats the point of having a quick journey over the johor straits when the traveling time isn't the bottle neck.

Currently, there are 2 bottle neck.

CIQ & traffic

500 jobs sent to JB with the depot moving there! Who is footing their salary? And we lose tax revenues. Maybe WP can ask thus question. 

3 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

500 jobs sent to JB with the depot moving there! Who is footing their salary? And we lose tax revenues. Maybe WP can ask thus question. 

this one no choice la ... JB = faster better cheaper ....

the land size cost for a depot is billion dollars hor ... and salary is 3x more ex ... 

myr3k for a technician or sgd3k for a technician? [sly] 

4 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

RTI is a joint project btw SMRT and Prasana (i think).

If it bleed, SMRT has to pay.  Whose money would that be?

In Bkt Chagar, land cost is ZERO le.