When would a 99 year property start to depreciate?

Ct3833

15 minutes ago, Enye said:

here talking about property and you go and bring up the topic of essential goods and services?

stay within the scope and don't throw up unrelated topics to distract

🤣

Muayhahahahahahahahahahahahahaha.......talk for Show mah......same as the nick

33 minutes ago, Showster said:

Actually there is an inherent bias here.

There are no HDB chat app. Else you will also see the same with a-z complaints.

Also, people pay more for the facilities so there are more grounds for these complaints as well (expecting higher level of service).

You can exit the condo app to shut out the negativities as well.

True, there is no hdb chat app/group, so people cannot complain. Also maybe people in hdb tend to be more bo chap and also they are the ones who would dirty the corridor, create noises etc, so high chance they would not have complains. Lol.

Like you said, people stay in condo pay more for their house, pay more for the facilities, and maybe people also more vocals. So higher chance of complains? Lol.

Error 404 : Recession not found. 

For context, this is a 10 year old HDB.

A five-room HDB flat at Block 441A, Clementi Avenue 3 set a new price record for the block when the 1,248 sq ft unit changed hands for $1.04 million ($833 psf) on July 5. This tops the previous record of $1.038 million ($810 psf) chalked up by a 1,280 sq ft, five-room flat in the block in July 2019.

https://www.edgeprop.sg/property-news/five-room-hdb-flat-clementi-sold-104-mil

30 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

HDB heartlander also got good got bad.  

Same as teachers, lawyers, doctors, bankers, engineers, programmers etc.. etc...😂

me and my ah beng friends in hdb slums

🤣

1 hour ago, Enye said:

here talking about property and you go and bring up the topic of essential goods and services?

stay within the scope and don't throw up unrelated topics to distract

🤣

You were saying just because not buyer or seller not affected.

As long as human, will be affected.

4 hours ago, noobcarbuyer said:

Error 404 : Recession not found. 

For context, this is a 10 year old HDB.

A five-room HDB flat at Block 441A, Clementi Avenue 3 set a new price record for the block when the 1,248 sq ft unit changed hands for $1.04 million ($833 psf) on July 5. This tops the previous record of $1.038 million ($810 psf) chalked up by a 1,280 sq ft, five-room flat in the block in July 2019.

https://www.edgeprop.sg/property-news/five-room-hdb-flat-clementi-sold-104-mil

New idiot found!! 

18 hours ago, 13177 said:

I would not believe people who stay at private, able to stay in hdb la. Even they want to downgrade also will consider buying a smaller unit private.

I personally know 2 person who did this, so it is possible especially one does not use the facilities much and realised that they have been paying for others.

About Pinnacle's car park, I only want to say Pinnacle's residents car park is at B1, go have a look before commenting. What public have seen is the level 1 car park for public. 

Why Pinnacle? It is about the 26th/50th floor sky bridge, its location and amenities. It is about the proximity to group of specialists at SGH (people with older folks will know what I mean) and 3 mrt interchange. It is about staying near to work place in CBD when most cannot afford the condos there. Time saved for travelling is at times unmeasureable.

And yes, I will not pay 1mil for a flat there but it does not mean others will not due to the reasons above.

😊

If you talk about condominiums, the key is not freehold or leasehold. It is the probability of it being en-bloc.
There are 2 factors - location and density. If a condo is next to MRT and has room to increase its plot ratio, then it has a high probability of being en-bloc and its value will stay or even rise.

Many property investors make the mistake of insisting on freehold. I have only ever bought one freehold condo and it’s the only property I lost money on. Imagine if you stay in a freehold property that is 50 years old in a lousy location and things are falling apart with dwindling sinking fund. Who will dare buy the place from you. Case in point are the many freehold condos near Changi prison 

On 7/16/2020 at 9:22 AM, Sdf4786k said:

Need to weigh in the neighbourhood of flats pricing as well as the estate viability for SERS upgrading.

But in general, if a condo is going at 1.2 mil vs hdb 10 year old flat going for 1mil in similar size, it would not make much sense to get the hdb. But i have been wrong before like those in bishan could command 1 mil many years back.

Iconic duxton pinnacle has also peak already but how do you benchmark that hdb with condo.?

Just take a look at prices of 99 year LH Beacon condo opposite Pinnacle.

Similar location, both 99 years.

easily 60% more.

2 hours ago, Fitmugen said:

If you talk about condominiums, the key is not freehold or leasehold. It is the probability of it being en-bloc.
There are 2 factors - location and density. If a condo is next to MRT and has room to increase its plot ratio, then it has a high probability of being en-bloc and its value will stay or even rise.

Many property investors make the mistake of insisting on freehold. I have only ever bought one freehold condo and it’s the only property I lost money on. Imagine if you stay in a freehold property that is 50 years old in a lousy location and things are falling apart with dwindling sinking fund. Who will dare buy the place from you. Case in point are the many freehold condos near Changi prison 

Wait.

before you jump into that discussion and conclusion.

property to live in is not property for investment although sometimes they may overlap depending on the changing circumstances of the owners.

insisting on freehold is amongst the many other criterias which people look at for investment properties.

definitely not the only one.  But it is one of the soundest criterias.

you buy freehold andt still lose money shows how good you are as a property investor. Cheers

Edited by Throttle2

To add on. 

Probability of being enbloc is also like picking an ace from a pack of cards.  Yes, you can do you best to read it but en blocs can be postponed or delayed, many such examples . 

Secondly, if you can deduce that it will be enbloc soon, do you think the owners of the property wouldnt know better? The price would reflect accordingly already. 

Andyour argument of the 50yr old freehold in a lousy area with things falling apart is flawed.  Why? Imagine if it wasnt freehold but leasehold instead? Do you think it will be worse or better?  

Lastly, Those freehold condos near changi prison you mentioned. What will they be worth if they were leasehold instead?  Better or worse ?

Dont compare a beat up freehold in lousy area with a tiptop brand new leashold in a great location lah. There is no comparison.

freehold will cost more of course, but from a large ticket asset investment perspective which is what we are talking about here, it is worth paying more (if you can) like for like 

Edited by Throttle2

22 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

Wait.

before you jump into that discussion and conclusion.

property to live in is not property for investment although sometimes they may overlap depending on the changing circumstances of the owners.

insisting on freehold is amongst the many other criterias which people look at for investment properties.

definitely not the only one.  But it is one of the soundest criterias.

you buy freehold andt still lose money shows how good you are as a property investor. Cheers

Haiz, still insist on judging people. 

How about his LH properties that allowed him to gain? 

Be humble! At least you really learn something and do not have to depend on build up done by previous people / generations. 

Guess condo in lousy location high chance is freehold? Or near to prison and hospital?

Sigh, talk so much also no use, jobless, living in punggol hdb, surviving on sale of assets every week.  When will i tio beh pio?!?!?

🥺😪😢

10 hours ago, Showster said:

Haiz, still insist on judging people. 

How about his LH properties that allowed him to gain? 

Be humble! At least you really learn something and do not have to depend on build up done by previous people / generations. 

6B245217-C8B5-418A-9384-E6773E0FB41F.jpeg

11 hours ago, Fitmugen said:

Agreed. I used to see freehold as the only way to go. After searching and analysing, I do find good LH is comparable to lousy freehold or even better when all things put together e.g. location, quantum, yield etc. Good is never cheap, cheap is never good. Both LH and FH have merits in their own rights.

I read with amusement of comments about Pinnacle's dark and narrow car park without checking facts, calling buyers of expensive hdb "idiots", without knowing what these buyers value for in such purchases. Sometimes, $$ is not everything. How many people can spare 1m for a hdb? These people that are able pay such prices are not stupid. Lastly categorising people as lousy investor for merely sharing one's experience without disclosing overall property portfolio is just mind boggling. 

Just mho. 😊 

On 7/16/2020 at 11:14 PM, Showster said:

Soon, we will get to experience the increased cost and time of building to completion. It will start with HDB and push all the way to private.

Raw materials aside, do you know how often a foreign worker needs to be swabbed currently? It’s once every fortnight, $200 each time. Just go ask and calculate.

Money no enough that’s true, but purely because one can buy less and less, and not more and more.

Swab test is going to drive the next Singapore property bull run?  Haha.... 

Did you check the price of anything from reinforced steel, ready mix concrete, copper and cement used for construction recently? 

So many stupid people telling me higher construction cost will translate into higher property prices when construction cost have probably remained flattish in the last 10 years. And it has dropped during every big crisis, from AFC to GFC.  Go Google.

Edited by Voodooman

11 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

Swab test is going to drive the next Singapore property bull run?  Haha.... 

Did you check the price of anything from reinforced steel, ready mix concrete, copper and cement used for construction recently? 

So many stupid people telling me higher construction cost will translate into higher property prices when construction cost have probably remained flattish in the last 10 years. And it has dropped during every big crisis, from AFC to GFC.  Go Google.

I don't really care about construction costs.
But renovation/A&A/rebuild cost to us end consumers have gone up significantly in last 10 years assuming the contractor/builder margin as a % is roughly the same for last 10-15 years.