When would a 99 year property start to depreciate?

Ct3833

3 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

Millionaire  spotted . 😀😀

my colleagues are the true millionaire ...

their address is Pinnacle and Boon Keng ... 

i just want to sit with them on the same table during lunch ... i need to sell my flat first! [laugh] 

1 minute ago, Throttle2 said:

$888k for 2 units ah?

1 unit la ... 100m from mrt station

people say near mrt no $1M no talk leh

i already price down ... give chance la

Just now, Wt_know said:

my colleagues are the true millionaire ...

their address is Pinnacle and Boon Keng ... 

i just want to sit with them on the same table during lunch ... i need to sell my flat first! [laugh] 

Having 1 million is not bonafide millionaire lah. Worse still in a depreciating asset....

muayhahaha...sell your flat! Yes

1 minute ago, Wt_know said:

1 unit la ... 100m from mrt station

people say near mrt no $1M no talk leh

i already price down ... give chance la

Good luck.  

Give me $788k i also dont want.   Hee hee hee.

21 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

Haha, @Enye Mai suan ah, I have a 99 lease hold on rental  too, but have to let  go sooner.  But  rental yiled of freehold apartment  cmi

It is a reality that one day our hard earned money on a property will become zero, may be not when I am alive, but when and who  will strike by the reality. 

99 disposal value is lower, but it is also cheaper to buy. Rightfully the returns (IRR) should be the same for leasehold and FH. If not, the price for one or the other will adjust up or down, so that both returns will be the same, risk adjusted. 

99 still can make money, if you pay a lot cheaper for it.

BUT, looking ahead, with the "strong" mandate for PAP, it is likely they will realise more taxes from wealth like second property, or expensive property, and less from GST etc to address the income gap. Foreign imports probably will go down too. Should wait and see if property is still a good investment.

Personally I won't bother for next several months unless to live in. 

Edited by Volvobrick

I have done quite a bit of analysis on this question before, and I would say that on average, it is around the 20 years mark before its value starts to go flat before declining.

Those condos that are popular with tenants can sometimes reach 25 years before tapering.

The above is for 99 years LH

Edited by Icedbs

Just now, Throttle2 said:

For people who buy $1mil hdb, they dont care about profit. Its not for investment.

its for using.

I also belong to the group that believes primary housing is for staying. I nvr believe it's for investment so for me if I can break even after staying, I'm Ok with it. In fact, I'm more concerned that as it gets much older esp Private Property like condos, it might depreciate. I know this is not the conventional thinking but I am conservative.

HDB $1mil I will nvr buy no matter how attractive the location is precisely cos as the lease ages, there is a possibility of loss which is a no go for me. I can't stomach losses and that's why I also don't count on profits which is nvr in my thinking.

This may not be the platform to say this but I also don’t understand why Govt allows HDB owners to buy Private n rent out the HDB as HDB shld nvr be an investment asset, it shld be for staying. Last time this was not allowed but don’t know what prompted a change in the rules. Sorry rant over!

27 minutes ago, Spring said:

This may not be the platform to say this but I also don’t understand why Govt allows HDB owners to buy Private n rent out the HDB as HDB shld nvr be an investment asset, it shld be for staying. Last time this was not allowed but don’t know what prompted a change in the rules. Sorry rant over!

not enough buyers (real stayers) in the market

must allow rent out hdb to FT so that sinkie can use the collected rental + take more loan to upgrade

if every upgrader must sell hdb ... where got so many buyers in the market?

the property need more fuel $$$ to get the engine burning ...

1 hour ago, Wt_know said:

my cck flat i price down $888K ... also no viewer la [bigcry] 

Cck hdb flat can sell $888k? You mean cck condo?

5 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Cck hdb flat can sell $888k? You mean cck condo?

bro, cck condo opposite hdb ... no $1.2M no talk la

DBD16D4C-4DA3-4F59-A665-FC0C420C64FA.jpeg

• Shocked 2

Singaporeans are quite sad and uncreative. The roof over our familiies' heads  is considered an asset grower. End up shifting about after  minimum top just to make the money real.

1 hour ago, Spring said:

It was an honest mistake. 

But still a f**king big mistake in my opinion.

12 minutes ago, Karoon said:

Singaporeans are quite sad and uncreative. The roof over our familiies' heads  is considered an asset grower. End up shifting about after  minimum top just to make the money real.

Wait until 65yrs old , pocket empty with a property, good luck on retirement. 

Maybe they can peel the paint off the walls of their property and cook it

34 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

bro, cck condo opposite hdb ... no $1.2M no talk la

DBD16D4C-4DA3-4F59-A665-FC0C420C64FA.jpeg

Lanjiao Property agents like to anyhow post price .

for this condo $800psf is too much!!!

last price lodged in March 2020 only $834psf.

now confirm lower . $750psf at best

already 12 yrs lease gone muayhahahahahaha

B1181F55-604E-4C5B-8285-E2586C2AD5EB.jpeg

Edited by Throttle2

5 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

Lanjiao Property agents like to anyhow post price .

for this condo $800psf is too much!!!

last price lodged in March 2020 only $834psf.

now confirm lower . $750psf at best

already 12 yrs lease gone muayhahahahahaha

B1181F55-604E-4C5B-8285-E2586C2AD5EB.jpeg

waiting for $950K ... 😬

31 minutes ago, Karoon said:

not many of such people around lah....

i live in my ah beng infested hdb slum neighbourhood for so long, can see got a large number of families really live and bring up kids here and still staying even after the kids are grown up

people who stay in the hdb would know lah as opposed to look from outside and getting information from media 

😅

Edited by Enye