Termite Attacks

awhtc

My two houses got hit by termites recently.  Anyone experiencing this as well?

The termites are quite tiny and skinny ~5 mm long and 1 mm wide only.  They look quite harmless but they are really deadly to my wood furniture.

33 minutes ago, awhtc said:

My two houses got hit by termites recently.  Anyone experiencing this as well?

The termites are quite tiny and skinny ~5 mm long and 1 mm wide only.  They look quite harmless but they are really deadly to my wood furniture.

Wah ..... 2 houses, so good.  I got 2 houses too.  1 is HDB and the other is made using Advanced Materials - Advanced Paper for Building and Construction.

Anyway, I know I know, I very good with this one de.

OK Quick Questions:

a) Is there Termites trail in Bed Rooms, like near/under Bed or Wardrobe ? If yes, Bad Health with the Dweller, very serious ill or circling around the drain - FengShui thing

b) Termite generally enter your home via AirCon duct, selectively open the duct casing for inspection.  Put Mothballs inside the duct to stop the progression- NOT SURE if mothball will react with the piping insulation.  I put it never affect lor.   Spray insecticide at affected area.

c) Termite will not tunnel Concrete but not Plaster, knock the plastered wall for void.

d) Termite don't like Teak Wood one, it will never chew it.

e) Find the nest and Queen, they like warm, humid and dark place like Store Room.  I found my at the Aircon compressor point duct.  Kill Queen and the entire colony collapse or they appt new queen.

f) Keep ants, places at home with NO Ant are indication of Termite infestation one.  So I keep some ants by not killing them. The black tiny type.  NOT Fire Ants.

If not PAY $5000, at Reno simi kill to settle.  

28 minutes ago, Apple-Tree said:

Wah ..... 2 houses, so good.  I got 2 houses too.  1 is HDB and the other is made using Advanced Materials - Advanced Paper for Building and Construction.

Anyway, I know I know, I very good with this one de.

OK Quick Questions:

a) Is there Termites trail in Bed Rooms, like near/under Bed or Wardrobe ? If yes, Bad Health with the Dweller, very serious ill or circling around the drain - FengShui thing

The termites only have trails near the furniture.

b) Termite generally enter your home via AirCon duct, selectively open the duct casing for inspection.  Put Mothballs inside the duct to stop the progression- NOT SURE if mothball will react with the piping insulation.  I put it never affect lor.   Spray insecticide at affected area.

One house got attacked in the bathroom cabinet and subsequently started attacking the wooden door frame.  I suspected this group flew in and established in the warm and humid bathroom.  The pest controller has already removed the termites and I had to change the cabinet inside.  The other house got attacked by a group that cracked through a tiny crack in the floor concrete in a storeroom and I just called a pest controller to come this week.  This one will be a major project 🙁

c) Termite will not tunnel Concrete but not Plaster, knock the plastered wall for void.

They look for concrete cracks in the flooring to crawl into the house.

d) Termite don't like Teak Wood one, it will never chew it.

e) Find the nest and Queen, they like warm, humid and dark place like Store Room.  I found my at the Aircon compressor point duct.  Kill Queen and the entire colony collapse or they appt new queen.

f) Keep ants, places at home with NO Ant are indication of Termite infestation one.  So I keep some ants by not killing them. The black tiny type.  NOT Fire Ants.

Interesting to note this.

If not PAY $5000, at Reno simi kill to settle.  

I'm still waiting for the final bills 😥

Termites will follow the conduits or trunking eg from garden lights into the house, other than those that fly in directly (can be inside false ceiling).

Hearsay also mango trees with the spreading roots attract termites. You may want to remove if you have.

I think they need soil to literally cover their tracks...

The whole of Singapore is infested with TERMITES, almost 80-90% due to our climate, raining seasons and humid condition will cause them to find warmer places for their habitat, thy can even claw their way up to 30+ storey , be it hotel, old conservation houses in any densed wet, moist environment  and forested area are their main attraction.Termites can claw their ways via brick and mortar HDB walls, into your aircon piping and into your flat, surely and slowly thy will conquer.

So if your property has parquet flooring and nice korean buffet table, wooden wardrobes and cabinet, welcome to their love interest , the termites will attack in colony phases, mind you there little creatures are very intelligent and commando trained in all aspects, thy will finish chewing every wooden pieces under your parquet below but leave the top surface ' swee swee" as if everthing is ok, till one day U step on the surface and realised it's shallow below . . . Voila you better call the Pest control men , Only your friendly Termite has visited you.

2 hours ago, awhtc said:

Hope really solve your problem.  It is my daughter that discovered the termite lor.  She said she heard wood chewing sound.  It is that bad lor.

Now 1 year after after I destroy the nest.  So far so good.

2 hours ago, Apple-Tree said:

Hope really solve your problem.  It is my daughter that discovered the termite lor.  She said she heard wood chewing sound.  It is that bad lor.

Now 1 year after after I destroy the nest.  So far so good.

even if you have engage a pest controller, thy can come back and haunt you again, remb your enemy how thy came back, if one colony has been cleared by a pest control coy, thy will re-group again and form another colony ( 3-6 mtgs later ) Termites are special pest that requires licensed control specialist to eradicate thoroughly, sound easy however you can totally removed them by not using any woods materials, I have changed all my parquet flooring to ceramic tiles. If not thy can come back after 6-9 months period simply they have antenna to sense the route to your apartment.

Been there and done that. Lol [rifle]

They are part and parcel of nature. They job in life is to eat and get rid of dead wood, including furniture! 

If only we can send them to some companies and govt departments....

3 hours ago, Meanmachine said:

even if you have engage a pest controller, thy can come back and haunt you again, remb your enemy how thy came back, if one colony has been cleared by a pest control coy, thy will re-group again and form another colony ( 3-6 mtgs later ) Termites are special pest that requires licensed control specialist to eradicate thoroughly, sound easy however you can totally removed them by not using any woods materials, I have changed all my parquet flooring to ceramic tiles. If not thy can come back after 6-9 months period simply they have antenna to sense the route to your apartment.

This is the 1st time within 1 month that my houses are under termite attacks.  I had changed my bathroom cabinet to aluminium.

I will just extend the termite controller warranty annually once this round is cleaned up.  I think this is due to the unusually wet and warm weather in June and July.

4 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

They are part and parcel of nature. They job in life is to eat and get rid of dead wood, including furniture! 

If only we can send them to some companies and govt departments....

what you say is true but i am so scared of them that  i have been singing contract  with pest control company. they will come inspect for termites every 3 months .

1 hour ago, awhtc said:

This is the 1st time within 1 month that my houses are under termite attacks.  I had changed my bathroom cabinet to aluminium.

I will just extend the termite controller warranty annually once this round is cleaned up.  I think this is due to the unusually wet and warm weather in June and July.

if yours are landed, get a pest control company  to help you, termites can come from anywhere under the ground, dont try to solve it yourself. and once they come, they will keep coming until the whole kingdom is killed . if you get Rentokill, they have a comprehensive package that they will perform treatment plus 10 years warranty. The problem with this package is they will have to drill holes around the parameter of your house so that they could pump chemical into the ground through the holes . Each  holes is about 2 feet apart,  you  can imagine the number of holes they will drill from your car porch, living room, kitchen and wet kitchen and back out again.  The package cost about $7k up depending on how big your house is. Be prepared to sacrifice your tiles of course.

A simpler way is to sign a contract with any of the pest control which will cost you a few hundred bucks a year, they will send workers to check around your house before applying chemical  powder on affected areas quarterly.  Most of them  do have one time service  too.  To save the trouble and have a peace of mind, i sign up contract. 

if both your houses are apartment, then no need to drill holes, and i think the elimination process should be a lot easier and therefore, cheaper in cost. 

Edited by Ct3833

4 hours ago, Meanmachine said:

Er ........ I think you quoted the wrong guy ...... ya.  I am the guy with 1 HDB and 1 house built with Advanced Building Material - Nano-Cellulose Technology... ya.

I DIY one, no money to engage Pest Control.  Luckily, when I am a young I worked Part-time as a Demolition Man, ya, I take down fixture one.  

The worst kind of termite nest is UNDER your landed property wor.  This one long story.

I think pest control superficially kill off the insect you can see lor, then, these days, a lot of restriction on pesticide use lor.

Anyway, my home ALL marble floor and I gradually can to Teak, piece by piece.  Recently, I was thinking to change my door frame from metal to Teak too.  Door man said, WHY CHANGE, metal good leh.  I OK lor.  

1 hour ago, Ct3833 said:

if yours are landed, get a pest control company  to help you, termites can come from anywhere under the ground, dont try to solve it yourself. and once they come, they will keep coming until the whole kingdom is killed . if you get Rentokill, they have a comprehensive package that they will perform treatment plus 10 years warranty. The problem with this package is they will have to drill holes around the parameter of your house so that they could pump chemical into the ground through the holes . Each  holes is about 2 feet apart,  you  can imagine the number of holes they will drill from your car porch, living room, kitchen and wet kitchen and back out again.  The package cost about $7k up depending on how big your house is. Be prepared to sacrifice your tiles of course.

A simpler way is to sign a contract with any of the pest control which will cost you a few hundred bucks a year, they will send workers to check around your house before applying chemical  powder on affected areas quarterly.  Most of them  do have one time service  too.  To save the trouble and have a peace of mind, i sign up contract. 

if both your houses are apartment, then no need to drill holes, and i think the elimination process should be a lot easier and therefore, cheaper in cost. 

Sometimes after all the drilling and the ground Treatment works. The buggers come over from your neighbor via the roof, unless you are living in a bungalow. 

8 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

Sometimes after all the drilling and the ground Treatment works. The buggers come over from your neighbor via the roof, unless you are living in a bungalow. 

haha that is my worries too, how to check roof huh? unless i go open a hole at the false ceiling, i can't see the beams on my roof. 

Edited by Ct3833

1 hour ago, Apple-Tree said:

Er ........ I think you quoted the wrong guy ...... ya.  I am the guy with 1 HDB and 1 house built with Advanced Building Material - Nano-Cellulose Technology... ya.

I DIY one, no money to engage Pest Control.  Luckily, when I am a young I worked Part-time as a Demolition Man, ya, I take down fixture one.  

The worst kind of termite nest is UNDER your landed property wor.  This one long story.

I think pest control superficially kill off the insect you can see lor, then, these days, a lot of restriction on pesticide use lor.

Anyway, my home ALL marble floor and I gradually can to Teak, piece by piece.  Recently, I was thinking to change my door frame from metal to Teak too.  Door man said, WHY CHANGE, metal good leh.  I OK lor.  

hi, side track, did you ask for a quote of  teak door frame ? how much  per frame ? 

25 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

hi, side track, did you ask for a quote of  teak door frame ? how much  per frame ? 

He never say. Normal wood already in 750 range - It is far more expensive than the door.  2 days work as reason.