pandan smelling water from tap

Ysc3

no wonder my morning glass tasted different yesterday ... in tampines (not yishun).

PUB: Boiled tap water in S'pore smelling like pandan is safe to drink

Some residents in Singapore are smelling the sweet scent of pandan coming from their boiled tap water, raising the prospect that people here might be hallucinating.

However, National water agency PUB told The Straits Times on July 22 that the cause of the unusual scent is an organic compound in the water and that the water is safe for consumption.

PUB said it has received feedback on the faint pandan smell in boiled tap water from residents residing in Pasir Ris, Yishun and Tampines.

PUB said it is looking into the matter, and that preliminary investigations have been carried out.

"(The compound) may be detected by customers with a keen sense of smell or palate, but is otherwise without any adverse health effects in trace amounts," a PUB spokesman told ST.

"The water supply remains safe to consume."

Laboratory tests of water samples found trace levels of less than 10 parts per billion of tetrahydrofuran (THF), a type of organic compound, in the water.

The water was taken from affected homes and water mains.

Malaysia too

Singaporeans are not alone though.

Malaysian media also reported on July 22 that residents in Johor Baru having noticed a weird scent in their tap water.

PUB said its investigations so far have shown that the smell appears to be linked to water imported from Malaysia, which is derived from Johor River.

PUB said the "affected water" has been "isolated" and it is working with the Malaysian authorities.

Those in Singapore can request for water bags by calling the PUB hotline on 1800-225-5782.

When I saw the title I click and expect to see "Panda smelling water from Tap" video... then no panda till i read is pandan! whahahahahahahaha...

Edited by Ody_2004

Who the heck pour solvent into the Johor river?

tetrahydrofuran (THF)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tetrahydrofuran

Precautions[edit]

THF is a relatively nontoxic solvent, with the median lethal dose (LD50) comparable to that for acetone. Reflecting its remarkable solvent properties, it penetrates the skin, causing rapid dehydration. THF readily dissolves latex and is typically handled with nitrile or neoprene rubber gloves. It is highly flammable.

my wife noted the smell yesterday.

haha my water bottle water has the taste actually.

2 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

my wife noted the smell yesterday.

haha my water bottle water has the taste actually.

Use those got brand water filter lor

Amazon cheaper

6 minutes ago, Mustank said:

Amazon cheaper

lol. To me boil tap water can liao lah. I don't think really required in sg.

10 minutes ago, Mustank said:

Amazon cheaper

I use diamond one....^_^[laugh][laugh]

8 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Even my boiled white rice had a slight tinge of the smell this morning... 

10 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

By right no need boil also can la. During army dont know drink how many gallon of tap water liao, still alive today le?! Lol.

19 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said:

Clear mandate. Now they put stuff in the water to make the mandate clearer next time. 😂😂😂

Expect vanilla or peppermint no less