GE2020: Singapore General Election - 10 July 2020

Picnic06-Biante15

1 hour ago, Datsun366 said:

Lets face it. Only one guy won SK, Mr Cockle.

The rest are just buoyed by him.

Although, the nice smile lady would be something to look out for.

For the klingon, the return master strike is impressive, it proves what she said is correct and she is not complaining. Poison pill if there is ever one. She only does business with the obtuse.

Ah sing will propably try to change her out.

Fyi my two residences have the only green result. Wonder why? 😁

There are some who are saying, don't know how jamus will perform.. As look at csm.. Before get elected, he seems like a very good caliber, but after get voted in, he like never do work. So jamus still need to prove himself he is not the csm type.. Before vote in on paper looks good, but after get vote in.. Not so good.. 

Edited by Yewheng

11 minutes ago, yishunite said:

I think maybe hsk when walkabout in East Coast grc before nomination day also saw how hostile these people in East Coast towards pap is as compared to his walkabout on tampines when he was in charge over there.. And then feedback to Lhl about it.. And say.. Eh.. Boss, I think cannot la, east coast peoples a lot are very hostile to pap and is very obvious.. We need to put super strong minister inside. Then after much discussion.. Okay hsk go in. 

Edited by Yewheng

its pay back time!!!!!!!!

if give and give or pay and pay makes no difference.

might as well pay and pay to the max!!!!!

its time to refill the coffers!!!!!!

tax until your pants drop!!!!!!!

Edited by Ho2786
  • Dislike 1

23 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

I googled. 

Jamus Lim is actually older than Pritam Singh by a year.

Ya. To me, the WP is just renewed and refreshed. Pritam is only 43.

He can focus on his work with his current team, while continuing to work towards attracting up and coming candidates to WP. 

One should always plan for immediate, near-term and longer horizon succession plans. It is only good for the party because at anytime if things happen, there will always be someone ready to take up the mantle and not rock the boat.

unlike the PAP now, where succession planning took too Long and till date no one seems to have the popular mandate or the full support of the people and party to become our next PM.

45 minutes ago, Meanmachine said:

Naturally MND is not doing his work right, late LYK says; Never ever sell your hatch-D-B flat no matter what . . .die die must own a 2 rooms unit, he continues, it's an asset one will have for Singaporean during old age . . .( retirement or rent-out )

This minister screwed-up saying 99 years once expired, is worthless, Zero, Zilch.

What utter rubbish ![confused]

I remember once lky in his documentary.

We need to form a army. We need men to take up weapon and fight. We need to given a house. A home to fight for.

Anyone remember that interview?

99 years lease with spiral zero value.

Home? 

Found it. Number 17

https://www.nas.gov.sg/archivesonline/data/pdfdoc/20060817994.htm

17. The home ownership flat provides the incentive for Singaporeans to work hard to own a flat, and to defend it.  National Service (NS), the conscription of able-bodied male citizens to serve in Singapore�s military defence, would not be possible if Singaporeans did not feel that they had such a tangible stake to defend. 

Edited by Kopites

51 minutes ago, Meanmachine said:

Naturally MND is not doing his work right, late LYK says; Never ever sell your hatch-D-B flat no matter what . . .die die must own a 2 rooms unit, he continues, it's an asset one will have for Singaporean during old age . . .( retirement or rent-out )

This minister screwed-up saying 99 years once expired, is worthless, Zero, Zilch.

What utter rubbish ![confused]

But... it was 99yrs all along. Not freehold.  

Strategically.. a small island cannot be freehold that way. 

23 minutes ago, Kopites said:

17. The home ownership flat provides the incentive for Singaporeans to work hard to own a flat, and to defend it.  National Service (NS), the conscription of able-bodied male citizens to serve in Singapore�s military defence, would not be possible if Singaporeans did not feel that they had such a tangible stake to defend. 

wah ... no wonder ... no $1M no talk for maximum effort

hqdefault.jpg

27 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

There are some who are saying, don't know how jamus will perform.. As look at csm.. Before get elected, he seems like a very good caliber, but after get voted in, he like never do work. So jamus still need to prove himself he is not the csm type.. Before vote in on paper looks good, but after get vote in.. Not so good.. 

CSM case might be due to internal political struggle within WP.... such that he lost heart in serving or was simply ousted 

Five years later, in May 2016, Mr Chen made an unprecedented move of his own, taking on Mr Low for the post of WP leader in the party's central executive committee elections. Mr Low had never faced such a challenge since he took over the party in 2001.

This came just months after the WP narrowly retained Aljunied GRC with 50.96 per cent of the votes in the 2015 General Election.

Mr Chen's attempt was unsuccessful and Mr Low fended off the challenge with 61 votes to 45. Three months later, Mr Chen resigned as party treasurer but remained a central executive committee member.

https://www.straitstimes.com/politics/mixed-report-card-for-chen-show-mao-and-png-eng-huat

11 minutes ago, Kopites said:

I remember once lky in his documentary.

We need to form a army. We need men to take up weapon and fight. We need to given a house. A home to fight for.

Anyone remember that interview?

99 years lease with spiral zero value.

Home? 

Found it. Number 17

https://www.nas.gov.sg/archivesonline/data/pdfdoc/20060817994.htm

To be fair, a home is a home. Doesn’t matter whether is 99, 999 or FH. Doesn’t matter if the value spirals to zero at the end of 99 years, which by then it’ll have lasted at least 2 generations of family.

owning something vs renting something is different. Owning has intrinsic value, it gives purpose, and makes people have something to fight for.

contrast that to renting, where it’s just occupying someone else’s property. There’s no emotions attached. You can let go anytime.

Driving your own car vs driving a rental car.. u get the gist right? Put aside the fact that you are only entitled to the car for the coe period. 

so although a 99 year HDB has zero value at the end of its life, it’s not the main point cos what really matter is, during our lifetime, when we have a home that we go home to at the end of the day, one that we’ve paid or paying for and call our own, and that is something to fight for.

just like for our parents. Our children. Ourselves. We don’t live forever but still we do what’s best and we fight for them, cos these are people close to our hearts.

3 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

A friend who’s in HR got retrenched, seek those career coach and they asked her take up a course to be a BAKER. 🙃

and hence, thats my point. From a process perspective, without quoting the case or the person, but just mention that Career coach tried to help a retrenched worker, but the Singaporean was resistance to the idea of a career switch.

Case close, like what the ITIL process dictates in order to improve the SLA.

But IF you look into each and every singaporean that was displaced, you would end up with a suite of emotion and helplessness and despair that a career coach may end up not being able to look themselves in the mirror when they leave for work each day due to morality or self-worth as a career coach.

5 minutes ago, Theoldjaffa said:

owning something vs renting something is different. Owning has intrinsic value, it gives purpose, and makes people have something to fight for.

contrast that to renting, where it’s just occupying someone else’s property. There’s no emotions attached. You can let go anytime.

Driving your own car vs driving a rental car.. u get the gist right? Put aside the fact that you are only entitled to the car for the coe period. 

so although a 99 year HDB has zero value at the end of its life, it’s not the main point cos what really matter is, during our lifetime, when we have a home that we go home to at the end of the day, one that we’ve paid or paying for and call our own, and that is something to fight for

Your are correct but one should not pay his life just to own a home or roof over his head. This is his country, if he cannot afford, the least he could also rent so that he can plan for his other needs. Of course after paying his entire working life saving for that HDB and it ended zero value because lease expired, then where to find saving for retirement?

11 minutes ago, Theoldjaffa said:

To be fair, a home is a home. Doesn’t matter whether is 99, 999 or FH. Doesn’t matter if the value spirals to zero at the end of 99 years, which by then it’ll have lasted at least 2 generations of family.

so although a 99 year HDB has zero value at the end of its life, it’s not the main point cos what really matter is, during our lifetime, when we have a home that we go home to at the end of the day, one that we’ve paid or paying for and call our own, and that is something to fight for.

just like for our parents. Our children. Ourselves. We don’t live forever but still we do what’s best and we fight for them, cos these are people close to our hearts.

a house or a flat is NEVER a home. Its when the bottom layer of needs is address and a family nucleus is there is where a family try to have a place call home.

An empty shell with 99 years is just an investable instrument.

Else every person even if they live in a 5 room HDB would have been given a Covid19 / workfare incentive.

So LKY was trying to create a landscape and a eco system where a family and a warm home is worth fighting for. Not an empty shell where you come back to. 

Those refugees quickly abandon their place where they live because it was no longer hospitable.

Just like people who already started to apply the Australia migration, they looking at a new place called home.

Edited by Sdf4786k

1 hour ago, Playtime said:

Give him some slack la.. he really could have retired. I don't doubt his intentions are fundamentally good. Just he isn't a natural born leader in lky, obama... even trump ... when it comes to charisma and personality. 

But worse... if not him now, then who???

CCS is not a better choice is he.?

Singapore now needs hsk to hold the fort  more than he needs to be in politics. 

If want to blame,  blame lhl... he screwed up the renewal by delaying until gct kpkb.

He poisoned the atmosphere until he couldn't really find anyone to join.. it's like relatives, civil service, and saf... 😑

Who would want to give up a good career and try to bring new ideas to the PAP?

CSM, jamus and several opposition candidates did for their parties.. can't say the same for pap.

Considering its likely 5 more GE than 5 more years before a full alternative govt can be in place. We ironically cannot afford pap to continue the long slide down.

I personally think Singapore is already in the beginnings of a political crisis. 

Hope I'm wrong...

lhl should hand over asap and quit the party completely, not even holding a SM post.  let Tharman and his kaki assist the 4G team moving forward.

54 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

Like liang eh. Almost nobody knows what he has done leh.

Some things r done r not for hoalian or score points.

27 minutes ago, Victor68 said:

Your are correct but one should not pay his life just to own a home or roof over his head. This is his country, if he cannot afford, the least he could also rent so that he can plan for his other needs. Of course after paying his entire working life saving for that HDB and it ended zero value because lease expired, then where to find saving for retirement?

I remember in the 1990 period.. bloody hdb prices jumping like ponzi... biggest mistake of govt.