LIVERPOOL FOOTBALL CLUB - 2020/21 Defending The Title

Picnic06-Biante15

6 hours ago, Raymondism said:

Thiago has very good close control and dribbles at almost full speed... luckily Bayern snatched from Barca .... imagine Thiago supporting Messi in attack... scary...

Meanwhile i worry for his ankles... will kena from EPL defenders

Look at his stat first season in BM he was down with injury. Spend lengthy spell in treatment room.

Good to have him more so to provide competition than a straight first team starter.

Not many dribbler succed in the premier league. Only our very own ex luis S.

1 hour ago, Akula said:

Latest news Liverpool and Wolves have agreed a fee of £41m rising to £45m for Diogo Jota. In a separate deal, Ki-Jana Hoever is valued at £9m plus £4.5m in add ons to move from Liverpool to Wolves. It is also reported we have added a sell on clause for Hoever.

Some other likely “conclusions” -

1) Does this means we have ended our interest in Sarr?

2) We are likely going to see some departures

3) Will we need a 4th CB or use Fab to plug in as an emergency option

Now we are really moving. 

Sarr too expensive. Or need cash upfront. 

From James Pearce via the Athletic,

Liverpool have completed a £45 million deal for forward Diogo Jota from Wolverhampton Wanderers, reports James Pearce. The 23-year-old Portugal international has signed a five-year contract. An initial fee of £41 million will rise to £45 million depending on appearances and team success in the Premier League and Champions League. Dutch teenager Ki-Jana Hoever is going in the opposite direction in a £13.5 million deal — £9 million guaranteed and £4.5 million in add-ons. Liverpool have also negotiated a 15 per cent sell-on clause. It completes a remarkable day for the club following the unveiling of £27 million signing Thiago Alcantara from Bayern Munich.

Why are Liverpool signing him? 

The Anfield hierarchy believe Jota will ease the burden on the front three of Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane and Roberto Firmino. 

The club’s recruitment staff have followed his progress closely over the past two seasons and have kept in close contact with his agency Gestifute, who also represent Fabinho. 

Jurgen Klopp has long admired Jota’s flexibility, determination, eye for goal, work rate and ability to play across the front line. His tactical intelligence on and off the ball also caught Klopp’s eye. 

How did they get the deal done? 

Assistant boss Pep Lijnders was integral. 

The former Porto youth coach used his contacts in Portuguese football and received glowing references about the player’s character. 

Wolves’ willingness to be flexible on payment terms was crucial. They have accepted less than 10 per cent of the guaranteed figure in the next 12 months. The vast majority of that is offset by the initial payment from Wolves for the Hoever deal. 

What about Watford’s Ismaila Sarr?

The Senegal international was understood to be Liverpool’s main attacking target. However, after initial discussions with Watford this week, it soon became clear that the price tag and the payment structure would be prohibitive.

Despite their relegation to the Championship, Watford were still demanding a base fee of £40 million rising to in excess of £50 million — more than Everton paid for Richarlison. Liverpool deemed that too expensive.

Will there be other potential departures? 

There will certainly be more outgoings after Hoever. Liverpool are looking to offload Harry Wilson and Marko Grujic, who are each valued at around £20 million. 

Grujic has attracted interest from Borussia Monchengladbach. Nat Phillips is being pursued by Championship clubs and Liverpool are keen to sell Loris Karius and Yasser Larouci. 

They are also considering both permanent and loan offers for Rhian Brewster, with Crystal Palace and Sheffield United leading the chase.

Financial prudence.... main of the wage is paid to our world class players .. so FSG isn’t going to pump in more money . Now the club has to run on its own, but will still support JK in his signings.. it’s like Wenger but Klopp isn’t so ngiao lolol

Good good...

But why now suddenly got $$ leh? Earlier said until so cash strapped, must be prudent...

Accountant counted wrongly, or ah gong opened own pocket? 😆

11 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

Good good...

But why now suddenly got $$ leh? Earlier said until so cash strapped, must be prudent...

Accountant counted wrongly, or ah gong opened own pocket? 😆

Must say don hv money... So selling club wont chop carrot head. Once u show u hv money, all price is jacked up. Jus ask man u. Hehehe

3 hours ago, Lala81 said:

Sarr too expensive. Or need cash upfront. 

Absolutely right.

All our deals no need much cash up front.

Thiago only 5 million this year and 5 for the next 3 years plus 5 add ons.

Jota less than 10 per cent of the guaranteed figure of 4.1 million in the next 12 months. 

That's only 4 million this year and we get £9 million guaranteed and £4.5 million in add-ons for Ki Jana is a fantastic deal for a future prospect not even in our main team.

:grin:

I think Pool are sad about losing Ki Jana because he is so good.

We wanted to sell Wilson and Grujic for 20 million each and even Shakiri for 25 million but no one wants to bite.

So we had to sell Ki Jana for 13.5 million which is a lot of money today although he will prove great value in future.

58 minutes ago, Shorty said:

Must say don hv money... So selling club wont chop carrot head. Once u show u hv money, all price is jacked up. Jus ask man u. Hehehe

wah suddenly the purse strings opened...

then the dig at lampard n other 'countries and oligar <how to spell>' just recently on how much they spent... 🙊

😅

3 hours ago, Kopites said:

Where have all our price earnings gone? Champion league/ premier league.

Seen like now we need to sell and buy.

🤔

We not playing championship manager or fifa 21 bro... sell and buy is good. Players asset value impacted by global financial situation.

we learn payment structure from arsenal. They sign the french guy for 70+m buy pay 22m annually.

now we dun lowball so much, tell pple: i want to 48 mths interest free installment

26 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

wah suddenly the purse strings opened...

then the dig at lampard n other 'countries and oligar <how to spell>' just recently on how much they spent... 🙊

😅

Actually we spent very little money for this year.

11 million spent on left back paid by Lovren.

5 million for Thiago and 4 million for Jota for this year mostly paid by selling Ki Jana. 

So I think net spent for THIS year is only 5 million.

:grin:

Liverpool took the balloon finance scheme.

Cos we have no money.

The other thing is Werner salary is 220,000 per week. How about Kai Havertz , Hakim Ziyech, Malang Sarr, Ben Chilwell and Thiago Silva?

I think its a almost a million pounds a week in salary for the lot.

Jota, Thiago and the Greek left back will be a lot less.

Transfer fee is one thing weekly salary is on going cost for YEARS.

[bigcry]

1 million a week for just for 6 players is 52 million pounds a year 

and this is just for 6 players. How about the rest of Chelsea's squad?

5 hours ago, Akula said:

Latest news Liverpool and Wolves have agreed a fee of £41m rising to £45m for Diogo Jota. In a separate deal, Ki-Jana Hoever is valued at £9m plus £4.5m in add ons to move from Liverpool to Wolves. It is also reported we have added a sell on clause for Hoever.

Some other likely “conclusions” -

1) Does this means we have ended our interest in Sarr?

2) We are likely going to see some departures

3) Will we need a 4th CB or use Fab to plug in as an emergency option

Now we are really moving. 

Wow... exciting times indeed..

Just as we thought that the interest in Thiago is a major diversion while we launch a sneak attack, it turns out that this is a pincer attack. Did we speak to both Werner and Jota from the start just like we did with Jamal Lewis and Tsimikas? Maybe the real smoke screen comes from Gini! 

My guess:

1. Looks like Sarr is a feint movement unless Mane goes. Maybe its hard to accomodate two players playing in same position from the same national team going away at the same time for the same international competition.

2. We need at least 3 to 4 departures to balance the books. Don't trust the boss when he say you can spend above budget. He actually expect you to justify the expenditure. 

3. We should buy someone unless Klopp is ready to field Nat Philips or VDB or Koumetio. Gomez and Matip are usually targetted by opponent and both are injury prone. 

4 hours ago, Kopites said:

Look at his stat first season in BM he was down with injury. Spend lengthy spell in treatment room.

Good to have him more so to provide competition than a straight first team starter.

Not many dribbler succed in the premier league. Only our very own ex luis S.

After looking at two videos... i noticed this fella like to execute this sudden sharp turn.. and defenders fall for it time and again.. i wonder how his knees take it..

Think it is very hard to press this fella.. just like against Gini