LIVERPOOL FOOTBALL CLUB - 2020/21 Defending The Title

Picnic06-Biante15

Yeah yeah yeah all positive except that unlucky robertson moment, see how the ars world class striker trembled in front of pool's goal and handed the ball to no.1 not once but twice.

3 hours ago, Jamesc said:

Bitter, bitter Man Utd Roy Keane said Liverpool were sloppy.

Klopp takes issue with him.

:grin:

JK on fiyah!!!... instantly shoot him in studio... if they were in the same room, may have a STAREDOWN!!!... lol...  i think Keane was referring to sloppy 1 or 2 chances... but well look into the mirror.. i think manure were sloppy throughout their game then.. and disclaimer i dont watch their games.. 

5 hours ago, Jamesc said:

Man City, Man Utd, Chelsea and Arsenal have dropped points.

why you no say spurs? mai see them no up hor...

if bale and Son both fit, both can run v fast one leh...

Good 3 pts... 90more to go!

Only catch the highlights.. seemed like Mane was all over Arsenal RB and RCB.. probably sub him to rest him and allow Jota to come on. Mane probably realised that Salah is not going to pass the ball so move into space to wait for any rebound. The second goal is a result of failing to deny our two full backs space. Nice composure from Jota. Special mention to AB1 for saving our backside twice. 

Arsenal will be a headache for many teams. We are unlucky to face Leeds, Chelsea and Arsenal in a row but we are lucky to face them so early. 

Edited by Raymondism

Pool did afford Arsenal some chances but that's cos of the way Pool sets up and Arsenal looking to beat the offside trap set by Pool.  That's not sloppy defending but the way Pool plays. the only thing sloppy was probably Robertson's miscue with a relative simple clearance which led to the 1st goal. Other than that, Pool plays with dominance from the 1st minute and Arsenal could not cope, especially with our high press working to almost perfection.  

My MoM was Mane again. He scored 1 and was involved in the 2nd goal as when he was attacking the cross from Trent, he was like a magnet with 2 or 3 Arsenal defenders glued to him. It gave robertson a yard of precious space in the penalty, he had the time to bring it down and poke it past the GK.  

Nice to see Jota scored on his debut with only 10 min to play.  always a good sign for strikers to score on their debut.  Klopp revealed that he has been tracking him for 2 to 3 years already meaning that this was not a panic buy.  Klopp probably had to lure Wolves to the table with KI Hoever as the bait. 

3 out 3 tricky ties navigated with 2 of the big 6 teams played.  next game is no pushover with AV which also boast a 100% record with 2 wins out of 2 and the team has yet to concede a goal this season.  Then comes the Merseyside derby at Goodison against another higher flying Everton which is also 3 wins out of 3 at the moment.  These challenging ties doesnt come easier isn't it?  

only woke up for 2nd half, and was half-hearted - couldn't decide whether to hope for goal-less half, or hope to see some goals (in which case it was worrisome cos it looked like gunners had better chances than pool)...

we had lots possession, despite gunners started to come and press us under Arteta. But they had 2 through balls that resulted in 1-on-1, which could have made things very different...

But gunners did play a bit more open than chelsea did, and so accorded a bit more space for our midfielders to exploit in the middle. 

Jota seems decent enough, for a first league game. Hope he'll understand the team's shape and plans quickly, and also develop better understanding with the teammates, so that whenever he's called upon, can slot in seamlessly. In the short cameo, he had one good chance, but shot slightly off, another decent chance but squandered by Salah in the mix-up, and then scored one goal. That's a very healthy return in 10 min.

Let's see what they can show in the league cup 2 days later.

Allison was really superb dealing with 1-on-1 with lacazette, who must be very gek sim that he didn't take his chances.

good 3 points, which will be another major morale booster, after the win against chelsea. Now to get max points for the next few - not-as-tough - matches. Then we see how long it can last...

44 minutes ago, Mrmilktooth said:

JK on fiyah!!!... instantly shoot him in studio... if they were in the same room, may have a STAREDOWN!!!... lol...  i think Keane was referring to sloppy 1 or 2 chances... but well look into the mirror.. i think manure were sloppy throughout their game then.. and disclaimer i dont watch their games.. 

Take these pundek's (sorry it sound so alike pundits) words with pinch of salt. Many are still fans of their old club, so very hard for a fan to speak with straight facts and without jealousy against an arch rival team. JK is normally not so out spoken on such things also cannot stand not giving him straight in the face.. one word "SONG"..

Actually the very early yellow card for Mane could be worse.

Some Refs might have give a straight RED (harsh, maybe?). 

Need to channel the aggression properly (easier said than done).

It would be detrimental if we go a man down so early.....

1 hour ago, Xers007 said:

Take these pundek's (sorry it sound so alike pundits) words with pinch of salt. Many are still fans of their old club, so very hard for a fan to speak with straight facts and without jealousy against an arch rival team. JK is normally not so out spoken on such things also cannot stand not giving him straight in the face.. one word "SONG"..

Haha have you watch the youtube video that Keane and Carra talking about best XI out of current Liverpool team and 1999 Treble Man U team?

You would think that Keane is a waste of time. Every position he say he has loyalty for Man U. Only VVD gets into a combined XI.

1 hour ago, Hamburger said:

So much talk about Ars reinvented as a team, in the end is parking bus strategy. 

Actually this is a compliment to Klopp and his boys.

Arsenal had 3 clear chances to get 1 point (or even 3 points) and Lacazette could have walked away with the match ball. Both teams trying to negate and counter each other. 

Credit to Arteta, he set up Arsenal in such a way that we will need to play a high line with Aubameyang staring into the half spaces (cliche) between Gomez and TAA. The other forward will  occupy VVD leaving Lacazette to exploit the gap in the centre when Fabinho moves up in midfield. It worked! Luckily, we had an additional sweeper who can use hands. Arsenal might become the kingmaker this season.  The good news is: Arteta will be even better against Man City where he was schooled in his tactics.

11 minutes ago, Raymondism said:

Haha have you watch the youtube video that Keane and Carra talking about best XI out of current Liverpool team and 1999 Treble Man U team?

You would think that Keane is a waste of time. Every position he say he has loyalty for Man U. Only VVD gets into a combined XI.

ok lah, we must respect Roy Keane. He is the only one whom breaks opponent's leg deliberately, and still dared to come clean, openly. If i were DPP, will make sure he goes in to squat few years, then just nice come out too old can't play liao. Let him continue to talk cock see got people employ him or not. 

his best XI... never read before. 

54 minutes ago, Akula said:

Actually the very early yellow card for Mane could be worse.

Some Refs might have give a straight RED (harsh, maybe?). 

Need to channel the aggression properly (easier said than done).

It would be detrimental if we go a man down so early.....

ya its probably unintentional but his elbow was too high. Maybe it was too early in the game and referees usually do not want to give a red card so early. And Mane was faster to the ball so his intention is very clear: to shield the ball from Tierney. 

10 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

ok lah, we must respect Roy Keane. He is the only one whom breaks opponent's leg deliberately, and still dared to come clean, openly. If i were DPP, will make sure he goes in to squat few years, then just nice come out too old can't play liao. Let him continue to talk cock see got people employ him or not. 

Can't deny that he is a good player but the Suarez type... only loved by own fans... hated by all

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HPn_KZysAYg

Enjoy... have some tissue paper or a towel ready in case you vomit blood

He picked Gary Neville over TAA saying Neville is a better defender. 

Edited by Raymondism

26 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

Karma works its magic in a funny way. 

Maybe after keane indirectly ended Alf-Inge Håland career that gave alf more time to bring up erling right.

2 hours ago, Atrecord said:

why you no say spurs? mai see them no up hor...

if bale and Son both fit, both can run v fast one leh...

Good players bad manager.

Sacked at Chelsea. Sacked at Man U and only a matter of time sacked from Spurs.

What Liverpool have taught all football clubs - its not the players, its not the money, its the MANAGER.

Look at Man U they had great great players, they have a lot of money but they had a queue of lousy managers that sold the good players, played them out of position and wasted millions and millions.

Look at Everton same - great players and a lot of money wasted. 

Look at Everton now - a really good manager and going in the right direction.

Same with Leeds - a really good manager and playing great football.

Clubs now know - get the right manager and he will get the right players and play them in their right position and play to their strength.

A lot of managers don't know this. So they like to play players out of position and ask them to do things they are not good at.

I shouldn't give away too many Liverpool secrets.

Next I will spill the beans and say the most stupid thing a manager can do is fug his player in public and expect him to burst his lungs fighting for his manager.

And then I will leak the secret of love and hugs to motivate the players to die for his manager.

I better stop now.

Too many Liverpool secrets given away here.

37 minutes ago, Raymondism said:

Can't deny that he is a good player but the Suarez type... only loved by own fans... hated by all

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HPn_KZysAYg

Enjoy... have some tissue paper or a towel ready in case you vomit blood

He picked Gary Neville over TAA saying Neville is a better defender. 

Roy Keane was also the one who had faith in Henderson and told him u belong in the first team of Sunderland. 

And the rest is history. 

OK lah. Roy Keane. He's there on TV to be a git. At least he has more character than Scholes and giggs. 

5 hours ago, Xers007 said:

Yeah yeah yeah all positive except that unlucky robertson moment, see how the ars world class striker trembled in front of pool's goal and handed the ball to no.1 not once but twice.

The best thing Robbo did is let the goal in.

Goals change games.

Because of the goal Liverpool injected more urgency and scored.

Because of the goal Robbo wanted to make up for it and burst his lungs to get into the centre forward position and played like a striker.

Even Robbo's goal was like a striker's goal he lifted it up over the keeper so keeper no chance.

Another goal that changed games was the City Leicester game. Leicester parked the bus and first 25 minutes City will all over them - could have been 3 - 0

Because City scored Leicester needed to attack and after the first attack Leicester realised that City's defense was weak and they found out every time they attack they can score.

And so Leicester kept attacking instead of parking the bus and scored 5.

This games has showed every other PL manager the way to play City is to attack them.

Because no more Kompany, no more leadership and organisation and City will let in goals. A lot of goals.

Edited by Jamesc