Parliament debate 2020/2021

Yewheng

7 minutes ago, Playtime said:

Macham arguing with wife over her mother cooking... 

"Dear your mother today steam fish a bit over cooked..." 🤔🤔

"What!!! Eat fish will die ah...I eat your mother fish got say meh!!??? Fisherman very 辛苦 you know or not??!! Why you hate fishermen ah??!! " 😡😡😡

So father in law will say, so you don't like to eat fish har? Next time cannot eat fish ball also ok? Confirm  chop and stamp. 

49 minutes ago, Victor68 said:

He can only manoeuvre around the coconut trees. Once he steps out of the confort zone, you see the real worm. This is very common with bully.

Mr Leong said they agree with CECA in general but asked for more data so they can do more analysis for CECA.

Like that also cannot, still to slither like a snake.

This is a parliament, not a court. Kept talking about legal interpretations.

Edited by Fcw75

Wow a new low. Pap keep lecturing us about having decorum but yesterday in parliament, one of them badmouthed an oppo and it was captured in tape recording. Jin shameful.

We are talking about CECA, an agreement that takes PMET jobs away from Singaporeans, why the miw keep harping on racism and xenophobic! Who is racist or xenophobia!🤔

Edited by Civic101

On 7/10/2021 at 11:09 PM, Playtime said:

GRC can quota

HDB can quota

President must quota

PM must quota.

CECA NO CAN QUOTA

CECA above all else!!!!

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/review-ep-scheme-create-more-diverse-workforce-better-assess-qualifications-applicants-tan

Beyond imposing salary requirements, the Government is looking at how to inject more diversity into the workforce and better assess the qualifications of Employment Pass (EP) holders as part of its review of the EP framework.

At a media interview on Saturday (July 10), Manpower Minister Tan See Leng said that the Government relies on salary as a requirement now because it is easy and relatively transparent.

He was speaking to reporters at Joo Chiat Community Club four days after a protracted debate in Parliament on the Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement between Singapore and India, the role of trade deals, and the approach taken by Singapore.

Dr Tan said: “The next few measures that we are looking to tighten will be also looking into the consideration of the talent skill sets that are required.”

He said that the Government would examine the diversity of the workforce in sectors that need a lot of foreign workers, as part of a move to refine the EP scheme, first revealed in a debate on the Ministry of Manpower’s (MOM) budget in March.

EPs allow foreign professionals, managers and executives to work in Singapore.

They must earn at least S$4,500 a month and hold qualifications such as professional credentials, specialised skills or good university degrees.

Dr Tan, who took over as manpower minister in May, said that MOM hopes not to see a concentration of workers from a certain source or nationality.

“From the perspective of this Covid-19 pandemic, one of the painful lessons we have learnt is that if you overly rely on one particular country, whether it is labour or for your talent, and if something happens and you get disruption, then you are going to be in a much more difficult position,” he said.

Dr Tan was asked if the Government was considering imposing quotas on EP holders based on nationality.

In response, he said that he does not believe in quotas and that this would be “very difficult” to impose.

He described himself as a firm believer in the free market, adding: “If you look at how our open-door policy has benefited us through the decades, it is to try to not be too prescriptive about how businesses should be run.

“There has to be a huge element of the free market.”

The Government would intervene when businesses are in danger of being monopolistic or too narrow in their focus.

“But, other than that, I think we should let businesses run,” he said.

Aside from ensuring workforce diversity, the Government is also mulling over better ways to assess the qualifications of EP holders, in terms of where they are derived and their criteria.

Dr Tan said that the review would cover more areas and details would be announced later.

Last year, the minimum qualifying salary for EP holders was raised twice, first from S$3,600 to S$3,900 on May 1, and then from S$3,900 to S$4,500 on Sept 1.

For firms in the financial services sector, there was a further increase to S$5,000 from Dec 1 last year.

If you follow the National Day Speech, one can only hope the raising of eyebrow quoted by LHL is extended from MAS to MOM and WSG.

On 7/10/2021 at 11:58 AM, inlinesix said:

Gig jobs require more in-depth studies.  No one look into why they are doing Gig.

Sometime it is not because they lost their previous job.

taken out of context from shakespear..

hokkien would say ..

..." to gig or not to gig, thats the question .... of survivor ..."

Most are starting to feel the intense need to have 2 jobs...

So, a easier way would be to ask, should one , not try to self medicate for a job now to shore up the difficult times?

Because, once u enter the Gig economy, the stats of unemployment is greatly reduce.

I believe we need to have a formula or mechanisim to "thru Up" the actual numbers of unemployed Singaporean. And also to seperate Singaporean and PR as a seperate entity for employment stats.

And added to this , how does HR consider the profile of a candidate who has taken to grab driving , does HR preceive that he or she is deem not relavant anymore ?

Edited by Sdf4786k

4 hours ago, Victor68 said:

Recent debate on FTA and CECA. To layman like me, sound like 1 against system with the question asked. You say my chicken rice don't taste nice Mr Leong, so are you saying chicken rice is not nice? Speaker, so it is nice or not nice? 

In general, yes. 

Speaker: yes to nice or yes to not nice? 

Wat a waste of time in parliament...no wonder so many absentees...😁

Bias broadcasting...PS and JL got so little airtime but this PxP and PXP exchange got so much until I fed up and played angry bird instead 😁

Let's set KPI for these jokers. This type of debate and speaker, deduct salary. Come with ready data and don't say cannot reveal. What so secretive about facts?

Edited by Victor68

So old already still attack people about their secondary school. Damn childish. And keep lying about all schools are good schools. They are the biggest hypocrites in Singapore. 

Edited by Weez911

6 minutes ago, Weez911 said:

So old already still attack people about their secondary school. Damn childish. And keep lying about all schools are good schools. They are the biggest hypocrites in Singapore. 

I'd prefer to continue see this elitistic type of behaviour...until it's time...in general, most don't like it. 😁

6 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

I'd prefer to continue see this elitistic type of behaviour...until it's time...in general, most don't like it. 😁

Still waiting for him to take FULL RESPONSIBILITY for the TT fiasco.

8B77FBC0-87AE-4BD3-AF04-8F539342A2D2.jpeg

Edited by Fcw75

Very soon they will have to ban parliament bebate from being broadcast even with heavy editing. Simply because they cannot even tell the rights and wrong! 

2 hours ago, Weez911 said:

Yah lor….i also feel bad and angry coz i didn't go to school....why must hit pple about school..

When you have a team that think they are untouchable, they think silly and act silly. made silly mistakes thinking nobody can corrext them like the emperor's new clothes. It is very serious situation when they shift to a denial stage and continue to struggle.

5 hours ago, Weez911 said:

Wow a new low. Pap keep lecturing us about having decorum but yesterday in parliament, one of them badmouthed an oppo and it was captured in tape recording. Jin shameful.

The original Yahoo report has mysteriously disappeared

• Shocked 2