Parliament debate 2020/2021

Yewheng

10 hours ago, Windwaver said:

I also blur man, dunno what she talking about.

It's quite obvious she has prepared and memorised her speech beforehand, since she already knew the agenda.

At parliaments in other countries, she will be roasted for such a response. Over here, her colleagues clapped for her after her speech...

There are too many sycophants and cronies in the parliament.

She also didn't elaborate how having so many FT help to create jobs for Singaporeans, and what are the balances - social cost, cost of living/inflation and stress on infrastructure.

I'm sure the 158 will do its part today.

Edited by Weez911

1 hour ago, BanCoe said:

After watching this many times and I keep thinking about why politicians do things in a certain way that it seems like keep moving towards socialist approach as time goes by, I come to realise something. Emotional can't mix with logic, emotional tend to swing towards socialist policy and at times define logic that telling them hey this approach will make thing worst (and then ignore) . It is like emotional is the one that end up create blindspot where politicans tend to ignore due to they do not want to face the truth. 

I mean as in general, not just this crying JT. Even if no crying and deep down get emotional and affected by it, be it male or female. So emotional cloud judgement, this is very dangerous. So I think to have a good policy, think politicans must always keep in mind that never make decisions when one is emotional or get too affected by certain issue, one need to be level headed and seepeate emotional feel aside. Say is easy though. 

Edited by Yewheng

5 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

JT don’t have  ~balls~..... ooops sorry nerves of steel 

Remember lw also cried about the covid-19 issue? Think 2 or 3 months back or what he cried in front of the interview when he get too emotional right? 

Oh found it.. Its 5 months ago.. So it is always a very good reminder. When get too emotional please do not make important decision, can go sleep, go exercise and etc and when the feeling become less emotional. Then yeah probably can then start to make important decisions. Think this applies not just politicians but everyone else too. 

Edited by Yewheng

7 hours ago, Yewheng said:

Okay this video, JT did a good job in explaining the situation and why they do things in certain way. This one actually quite good and speak the truth. 

yes, explain is one thing. How it happened. Why it happened and how to prevent such things from happening / root cause analysis was not provided.

If I was IDentified and know I can no longer play the 3 quotes game and get away with PMET transfer.

I will start to quickly jump-start the offshore operations from the country of my choice like how I intimidate the " I pull out if I cant do what I want ".

I then increase the headcount from there till things simmer down and then start all over again when the covid situation improve in a year or so and then move the people over as in the trade agreement.

And there's nothing to stop me from doing that while I reduce the headcount in Singapore.

I read in between the line like how cotton chan would think and this would likely be.

If the bank was identify to be in breach of the discrimination practice, the people of Singapore may start to do a bank run to proof a point.

Stock prices will collapse and more jobs will be loss. Probably a huge chuck will be singaporean as tit for tat. So no winners in this scenario.

Brand identity will be damage as well as international standing will be affected. During the next trade agreement will be tougher. Again no win situation and the MIW will have to work harder to get investment.

And IF its either Indian or china in the equation of single source, then the leverage will be gone as well. During trade nego, you have no fall back plan.

The single source would loose their international standing as a source of pride and be branded a job bandit. So, again no winner as we will be blame for pautao-ing the source.

So what to do? Watchlist lor.

image.png.32e5d983857a01dbe1743e53c5f2216e.png

Well if we follow the best practice like Agile, we probably can change the situation.

1. Talk and think about the people of Singapore instead of sticking to the red tape that got us into this mess

2. Have a good working solution like other countries instead of years of education and pride ourselves for being number 13 and 15 in the international university standing and relying on paper qualification , and yet give preferential / ignoring the certs of FT.

3. Trade on collaborative binds then win loose situation. India has walk away from nego before.

4. Shift and adjust - be like trump (perhaps) Do what is necessary now and change track if it fails. Steve job has done that before as well.

All the cry babies....

How abt those who kanna retrenched?

The pressure facing the future?

Where all the damn policies doesn’t being felt on the ground till now.....

6 hours ago, Yewheng said:

https://mothership.sg/2020/09/jamus-lim-josephine-teo-pass-holders/

Screenshot_20200902_014730_com.android.chrome.thumb.jpg.531a0c1fe3936ce8e6836098391e8f9c.jpg

Oh so this is what jamus lim talk about the a 20% increase of 50 is 10 people and a 10% increase of 200 people is 20 people. And mentioned that the slow down of EP and S pass grown annually is less dramatic than JT mentioned about from 30,400 from 2009 to 2014 to 9,000 from 2015 to 2019. This is due to the very large pool of numbers so in absolute term the % of grown although decrease is not that much. It is like saying although the number of s pass and EP increase annually had drop significantly based on the numbers from 30,400 to 9,000, however the % of s pass and EP increase annually might not drop that much. 

When come with such questions, I think if offhand do not have total number of employment better say will get back to check on total employment number relative to % and see whether the % difference is it a lot of very little, and then either give a written answer or verbal answer in next parliament debate. As when deal with numbers it is very difficult to put across if one do not have all the numbers on hand. If based on broad based like what government do will affect what employer and or employee will do and the effect. This one is so much easier to put across the message. 

Bro, MOM in today world is not that backward like ulu Sembawang with spring water. The Data Analytic engine and the Unstructured data warehouse can churn a report in seconds if not in minutes.

The question is why opposition MPs keep questioning the quality of the stats being presented by the MOM minister? Haha...

IMO they just have to work on that.

They should reopen the door for cheap labour. The unskilled labour that locals wont wanna choose cos the pay cant keep up with the standard of living.

2 minutes ago, Sdf4786k said:

Bro, MOM in today world is not that backward like ulu Sembawang with spring water. The Data Analytic engine and the Unstructured data warehouse can churn a report in seconds if not in minutes.

JT in parliment, off hand maybe do not have the figure. It is not immediate get the figure out of nowhere. Need someone to give the figure, even if can chun out figure fast, she need to call, email or WhatsApp or what and need to wait for the person to reply. This process can be all done in parliament sitting itself? 

4 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

JT in parliment, off hand maybe do not have the figure. It is not immediate get the figure out of nowhere. Need someone to give the figure, even if can chun out figure fast, she need to call, email or WhatsApp or what and need to wait for the person to reply. This process can be all done in parliament sitting itself? 

Cannot churn Out then CRY lor...

Win liao Lor...

9 minutes ago, Sdf4786k said:

yes, explain is one thing. How it happened. Why it happened and how to prevent such things from happening / root cause analysis was not provided.

If I was IDentified and know I can no longer play the 3 quotes game and get away with PMET transfer.

I will start to quickly jump-start the offshore operations from the country of my choice like how I intimidate the " I pull out if I cant do what I want ".

I then increase the headcount from there till things simmer down and then start all over again when the covid situation improve in a year or so and then move the people over as in the trade agreement.

And there's nothing to stop me from doing that while I reduce the headcount in Singapore.

I read in between the line like how cotton chan would think and this would likely be.

If the bank was identify to be in breach of the discrimination practice, the people of Singapore may start to do a bank run to proof a point.

Stock prices will collapse and more jobs will be loss. Probably a huge chuck will be singaporean as tit for tat. So no winners in this scenario.

Brand identity will be damage as well as international standing will be affected. During the next trade agreement will be tougher. Again no win situation and the MIW will have to work harder to get investment.

And IF its either Indian or china in the equation of single source, then the leverage will be gone as well. During trade nego, you have no fall back plan.

The single source would loose their international standing as a source of pride and be branded a job bandit. So, again no winner as we will be blame for pautao-ing the source.

So what to do? Watchlist lor.

image.png.32e5d983857a01dbe1743e53c5f2216e.png

Well if we follow the best practice like Agile, we probably can change the situation.

1. Talk and think about the people of Singapore instead of sticking to the red tape that got us into this mess

2. Have a good working solution like other countries instead of years of education and pride ourselves for being number 13 and 15 in the international university standing and relying on paper qualification , and yet give preferential / ignoring the certs of FT.

3. Trade on collaborative binds then win loose situation. India has walk away from nego before.

4. Shift and adjust - be like trump (perhaps) Do what is necessary now and change track if it fails. Steve job has done that before as well.

Talking about university ranking.. My friend was saying one of the criteria to have higher up university ranking is the ration of international students in that university. Meaning the higher the number of international students the higher the ranking if all else equal. (don't know is it true or not?). So that itself create issues like must have certain number of international students coming in if not our university ranking will drop. So perhaps that's the reason why our universities keep on want many international students. Is it good or bad? I think it work both ways, if there are locals that eyeing on say this degree courses and actually have slot. But then too bad need to have certain number of international students to up ranking, so end up this slot goes to international students. So the whole university ranking itself is somewhat a little bit flawed in a way. 

23 minutes ago, Freeder said:

All the cry babies....

How abt those who kanna retrenched?

The pressure facing the future?

Where all the damn policies doesn’t being felt on the ground till now.....

Yalor... maciam baby cry father cry mother...problem not solve yet cry for wayang 

late ah gong cried...becos he felt he’d let a lot people down...

2 minutes ago, Freeder said:

Cannot churn Out then CRY lor...

Win liao Lor...

I mean we should think things in a logical way in a setting. The Crying got nothing to do with jamus lim question leh. She did not cry when jamus lim asked about the absolute number in terms of % is not that dramatic as compared to the numbers itself. 

1 minute ago, Yewheng said:

Talking about university ranking.. My friend was saying one of the criteria to have higher up university ranking is the ration of international students in that university. Meaning the higher the number of international students the higher the ranking if all else equal. (don't know is it true or not?). So that itself create issues like must have certain number of international students coming in if not our university ranking will drop. So perhaps that's the reason why our universities keep on want many international students. Is it good or bad? I think it work both ways, if there are locals that eyeing on say this degree courses and actually have slot. But then too bad need to have certain number of international students to up ranking, so end up this slot goes to international students. So the whole university ranking itself is somewhat a little bit flawed in a way. 

I wonder if the salary for FT is pull down if they are not from the top 50 uni. Since the govt sector have different pay scale from local and overseas.

10 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

Actually if the topic is known beforehand, shouldn't there be the answers already prepared before hand? Maybe you dont have to say everything in parliament but at least standby answers to potential questions.

But sometimes it's not perfect but to cry in parliament....

11 hours ago, Freeder said:

They had it easy for years..

Now kanna brain storm, 9696...

I fear for her well being.. already reduced to bags of bones after all the fiasco...

It's actually very troubling inspite of the memes and jokes they provide. 

If someone were to talk this way in the office,  it probably won't go down well with the bosses.

The fact that those ministers cannot speak on the spot... let alone debate... is worrying. Put them in the British parliament Q&A and chances are they'd die on live TV.... yet they hold our future. 

1 minute ago, Playtime said:

It's actually very troubling inspite of the memes and jokes they provide. 

If someone were to talk this way in the office,  it probably won't go down well with the bosses.

The fact that those ministers cannot speak on the spot... let alone debate... is worrying. Put them in the British parliament Q&A and chances are they'd die on live TV.... yet they hold our future. 

Yes the thought process is very important. Then there is also the ability to explain complicated things simple. When combine with these 2, it is very powerful. However not many people is able to fulfill the clear thought process + ability to explain complicated things simple. Look at our mps and ministers.. How many can do these 2 things offhand? Not many...

• Sad 1