'End of Singapore' for expats

Mockngbrd

55 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

I am referring to @macrossszero post.. For this FT take away our job. Actually if LHL already explained it during the long speech in the 1st parliament session and also talk about the free rider. So the answer is yes and no. Yes, they could take away our job due to employers can hire them at cheaper & faster (if that's what you all want to call it). No, it could end up bring in more jobs to locals and more.. Think you guys need to go rewatch the Lhl speech.. He really did explained it all.. 

There need to have a balance approach.. If not later no foreign companies want to set up in Singapore.. Then we gg.. 

Yes it is a balance, we cannot throw out 4 million Indian FTs in 1 stroke like Kuwait and close shop for international business.

BUT the balancing act is no longer balanced for the last 2 decades. CECA is just the last straw that breaks the camel back.

The real impact is long term. Local long-term SGians may lose the skills/exposure/opportunities for mid/high end PMET jobs, overall $$ accumulation and wealth falls among the locals and eventually Singapore will also lose its attractiveness.

I am very worried that the current ruling party only looks at the short term (boost GDP to meet their easy KPI) and anyway, they will be out in a few terms, to retire on their high pay.

19 minutes ago, t0y0ta said:

Yes it is a balance, we cannot throw out 4 million Indian FTs in 1 stroke like Kuwait and close shop for international business.

BUT the balancing act is no longer balanced for the last 2 decades. CECA is just the last straw that breaks the camel back.

The real impact is long term. Local long-term SGians may lose the skills/exposure/opportunities for mid/high end PMET jobs, overall $$ accumulation and wealth falls among the locals and eventually Singapore will also lose its attractiveness.

I am very worried that the current ruling party only looks at the short term (boost GDP to meet their easy KPI) and anyway, they will be out in a few terms, to retire on their high pay.

Which begs the original question. Is there or is there no discrimation that happen for thev47+240 company that was red flag.

My limited understanding is yes. 

So the next question should be, can we afford to throw away our way of life on meritrocacy, and regardless of race, language or religion?. Or should we accept tgat a paradim shift has occured and we need to moderate our way of life in order to survive.

Doing a zero sum game on right or wrong will not help singapore. Having a singapore conversation while tough should gives us a expectation of the future direction and will we be inclusive in this changing landscape.

And then share on tbe game plan on how collectively we can grow as a nation. 

In previous episode, we kept on raising alarm bells but was deem xenophobic and even have rules of engagement yo avoid harming the social fabric. It all well and good. But where is the avenue for those keen eye observer to ask questions that raise it at a larger conversation.

If we take the toyota way of production, should there be a way to have that same conversation and ask the difficult question without intemidation nor the retrorhocal.. whats the point of the question.

Edited by Sdf4786k

35 minutes ago, Sdf4786k said:

Which begs the original question. Is there or is there no discrimation that happen for thev47+240 company that was red flag.

My limited understanding is yes. 

So the next question should be, can we afford to throw away our way of life on meritrocacy, and regardless of race, language or religion?. Or should we accept tgat a paradim shift has occured and we need to moderate our way of life in order to survive.

Doing a zero sum game on right or wrong will not help singapore. Having a singapore conversation while tough should gives us a expectation of the future direction and will we be inclusive in this changing landscape.

And then share on tbe game plan on how collectively we can grow as a nation. 

In previous episode, we kept on raising alarm bells but was deem xenophobic and even have rules of engagement yo avoid harming the social fabric. It all well and good. But where is the avenue for those keen eye observer to ask questions that raise it at a larger conversation.

If we take the toyota way of production, should there be a way to have that same conversation and ask the difficult question without intemidation nor the retrorhocal.. whats the point of the question.

Well said.

But unlikely that the honest conversation will be entertained.

Still see the stone-walling and act blur on releasing statistics

This is like a cancer patient where the doc does not want to release the scan results to the family, scared that they will change doctor.

2 hours ago, t0y0ta said:

Well said.

But unlikely that the honest conversation will be entertained.

Still see the stone-walling and act blur on releasing statistics

This is like a cancer patient where the doc does not want to release the scan results to the family, scared that they will change doctor.

Tharman did raise the alarm that its not sustainable.. and he's Indian. 

Who can override tharman??.. the answer is pretty clear...

4 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

Yewheng might think otherwise if foreigners are allowed to drive PHV/taxi. And nice polite foreigners.

Why ministars always say must have FT? Becos FTs not allowed to compete for ministars' job. Give me Jacinda from NZ anytime! Better, cheaper. 

Oh. His is a protected job.

No wonder he doesn't give a damn about those who have to compete with FT/FW. Keep saying that we should not increase costs for businesses.

I also want to complain. Grab fares so high recently. Should get more foreigners to help drive so I can take cheaper rides.

Edited by ToyotaShuttle

1 hour ago, Playtime said:

Tharman did raise the alarm that its not sustainable.. and he's Indian. 

Who can override tharman??.. the answer is pretty clear...

I got a feeling Tharman is someone who say say to make people think PAP got someone on their side nia. No like anything changes even when he open mouth. 

4 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

is the FT a bangla or healthcare worker? FW and HCW got priority before sinkie leh ...

of course when it reaches non essential and normal people ... sinkie first not fair meh? kns !

2021-07-09_215529.jpg

Seem like someone somewhere having an agenda.

Article at such sensitive juncture where we are trying to achieve 3/4 ratio seem like a shit stirrer imo. Manifying the xenophobic behaviours surfaced lately as it we don't have enough issues to deal with locally. Haiz.

Another article.

https://mothership.sg/2021/07/asian-students-attacked-australia/

Another incident on race happened in Brisbane reported in local news.🤔