Singapore Airlines flights to nowhere from Changi Airport

BabyBlade

2 hours ago, Blueray said:

for this to work, SQ has to think out of the box on the experience, eg

- Book The Cook for all meals

- bonus KF miles

- duty free tie ups

- local shopping / dining tie ups

same old same old promo programs will not work.

Duty Free ..... hmm ....Kastams not happy 

Engine on airplane has to be start once a month to ensure that it is running properly.

In addition, pilots need to be certified either in simulator or real flying.

With this flight, it address both requirement with REVENUE.

fly to no where .... people says very pantang

joyride.... walao feel like kena chop robert ... bo hua

with this promotion, flights will be fully booked until 2021 .... 

flight will cruise at a perfect altitude for maximum ... "experience" .... 

QfQR9of.gif

Flight to no where? 

Might as well put the plane on ground then get event organisers to set up rock concert speakers and blast engine sound. 

Mimic the flight sound while keeping planes on the ground and helping events company to survive too. 

The system set up likely can simulate for a few planes docked at the finger piers. 

Edited by Atonchia

3 hours ago, Wt_know said:

fly to no where .... people says very pantang

joyride.... walao feel like kena chop robert ... bo hua

with this promotion, flights will be fully booked until 2021 .... 

flight will cruise at a perfect altitude for maximum ... "experience" .... 

QfQR9of.gif

Wow...! 

Sounds very prestigious. 

How to join ah? 

8 hours ago, Blueray said:

for this to work, SQ has to think out of the box on the experience, eg

- Book The Cook for all meals

- bonus KF miles

- duty free tie ups

- local shopping / dining tie ups

same old same old promo programs will not work.

Actually i think even if they dun do any of the above and just offer it as a 1 Sat and 1 Sun flight kinda thing, the queue would be full past pandemic leh.....

12 hours ago, Wt_know said:

only good for Biz and First/Suite class experience

go fly eco for fck ? 

Yeah quite pointless to do economy class for a joyride of this sort

But I'm sure many folks will jump at the chance to experience SQ biz class for the first time if the cost is around $500-600

6 hours ago, BanCoe said:

Duty Free ..... hmm ....Kastams not happy 

or bonus KF miles for Krishop purchases lor.

21 minutes ago, Soya said:

Actually i think even if they dun do any of the above and just offer it as a 1 Sat and 1 Sun flight kinda thing, the queue would be full past pandemic leh.....

for me it will have to be a strong pull factor to participate in this.

just me.

they are trying to copy cruise to nowhere.

but on a cruise ship, there are plenty to do, casino, restaurants, swimming pool, lots of entertainment places.

what can you do on board a plane ?

11 hours ago, Philipkee said:

Actually I was thinking why don't we fly to other countries as well? Let's say we fly to KLIA.  The plane lands at KLIA.  The passengers can only shop in a certain cordoned off area in KLIA.  They dont leave immigration.  They just shop in a specific transit area for let's say a few hours before flying back.  Any spread of virus can easily be controlled cos passengers can only shop in a small area and if you have only a few planes a day, the crowd would be manageable as well.  This will benefit both countries.

Just need to work out something with Malaysia or any country that wants to try out this to rebuild confidence in international travel. 

My two cents.

KLIA is not the best example for shopping as their shops suck.

what may work is allowing the passengers to order food delivery of local cuisines while on the ground at the turnaround point [laugh]  Help the local food vendors there. I can imagine hordes of SG peeps flying to Taiwan to order BBT.

anyway I think SQ mgmt are clutching at straws as the near/mid term remains bleak.

1 hour ago, Kb27 said:

they are trying to copy cruise to nowhere.

but on a cruise ship, there are plenty to do, casino, restaurants, swimming pool, lots of entertainment places.

what can you do on board a plane ?

Ya lor, plus plane window so small.. Want to see outside View also difficult. Flying can be quite tiring and also the air pressure.. The ear pop.. And etc.. Not an enjoyable feeling.. Even if fly business class, there are better ways to spend the few k then to fly business class for just that 3 hours.. 

13 hours ago, Philipkee said:

I heard a joke.  

If you love animals so much, why do you eat their food? :D

I eat animals and not their food because I love them.

I love cows and ducks and chickens and pigs and goats and fishes.

:grin:

18 hours ago, Philipkee said:

You can't scrape unless you think that air travel is gonna die off totally. If it's your private jet, fine.  Scrap it.  But a national airline? If its scrapped, it means at national level its decided there is no need for a national airline anymore.

Send for maintenance?  I think not really workable.  For cars, you drive to the workshop so you do keep current your driving skills.  Workshop? I dont think the planes are flown to the hangar (since they are already at changi).

Yes, I agree with @BabyBlade.  Let's not be double standard to say they are burning fuel while we blast our aircon and drive.  Heck its even double standard to take MRT when you can WFH cos you are consuming unnecessary resources.  So let's not go there.

Personally I think it's a good idea if there is demand.  What about having a restaurant or something but the plane doesnt fly? I think it's also important to fly the plane to keep the pilot's skills current.  A simulator can only do so much.

Actually I was thinking why don't we fly to other countries as well? Let's say we fly to KLIA.  The plane lands at KLIA.  The passengers can only shop in a certain cordoned off area in KLIA.  They dont leave immigration.  They just shop in a specific transit area for let's say a few hours before flying back.  Any spread of virus can easily be controlled cos passengers can only shop in a small area and if you have only a few planes a day, the crowd would be manageable as well.  This will benefit both countries.

Just need to work out something with Malaysia or any country that wants to try out this to rebuild confidence in international travel. 

My two cents.

I actually think Singapore should make Sentosa into a bubble. Don’t let locals go there unless for work. People working there undergoes testing extensively. Foreign peopl fly to Changi, get ferried straight to Sentosa. 
I actually won’t mind flying into a resort in Hokkaido for a 1-2 weeks restricted movement vacation... coming back quarantine at home country for 1 week. 

Edited by Wind30

8 hours ago, Blueray said:

or bonus KF miles for Krishop purchases lor.

for me it will have to be a strong pull factor to participate in this.

just me.

I think bonus KF point already have if you use the AMEX card ( PPS, KF ), deleted the e-mail, but I remembered reading something like that. 

24 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

I actually think Singapore should make Sentosa into a bubble. Don’t let locals go there unless for work. People working there undergoes testing extensively. Foreign peopl fly to Changi, get ferried straight to Sentosa. 
I actually won’t mind flying into a resort in Hokkaido for a 1-2 weeks restricted movement vacation... coming back quarantine at home country for 1 week. 

Extremely hard to just lock off sentosa but it might be workable if let's say it becomes a bubble for tourists let's say one week every month.  The remaining three weeks are open to locals and no tourists.  You just need to control the flights into singapore that are bearing tourists from certain countries deemed safe for tourism. 

So there will be a mixture and it's also an experiment to see if such bubbles can work and replicated elsewhere.

6 hours ago, RH1667 said:

I think bonus KF point already have if you use the AMEX card ( PPS, KF ), deleted the e-mail, but I remembered reading something like that. 

think not many people have that card.

anyways, just read that SQ has retrenched staff without CEO or senior mgt taking any further pay cuts first, which does not sit well with me.

so not gonna support this fly to nowhere thingy. :a-no: