China's mass surveillance of the world for secrets and scandal

steveluv

30 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said:

Exactly right. Better an Eagle from far away without obvious territorial ambitions in the region than a Dragon in the vicinity that could very well gobble you up tomorrow. 😁

The US is the default choice, really. Provided you don't have a crazy person in charge. Dementia OK, but not demented. Biden OK, but not Trump. 😂

All jokes aside, Trump destabilised a lot of long-standing partnerships with his sheer insanity. You can't have an ally that up-ends previous agreements between nations, but that's exactly what that dotard did. Can't build long term relationships with someone capricious. Now hopefully it'll be BAU (Business As Usual). 

The State of Southeast Asia: 2021 Survey Report is published by the ASEAN Studies Centre at ISEAS-Yusof Ishak Institute and available electronically at www.iseas.edu.sg

https://www.iseas.edu.sg/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/The-State-of-SEA-2021-v2.pdf

If it wasn't for the Americans

we will be posting in Japanese.

Maybe China will be speaking Japanese too?

3 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

Read the film or watch the book Man in the High Castle, if you want to indulge in a spot of alternate reality.

1 hour ago, Odyssey2011 said:

The State of Southeast Asia: 2021 Survey Report is published by the ASEAN Studies Centre at ISEAS-Yusof Ishak Institute and available electronically at www.iseas.edu.sg

https://www.iseas.edu.sg/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/The-State-of-SEA-2021-v2.pdf

i wouldnt read too much into the survey.

representation is imbalanced and respondents are not the same every year.

questions suffer from the usual methodology bias

sample is also inconsistent. based on the age group and the sector for each country also disproportionate.

within 1 year the percentage swing is too large. indicates the respondents may think only from year to year. possibly the Trump/Biden effect.

however, precisely because of the above, drilling down into the respective countries you can see which countries are the extreme on the spectrum. at least that data is worth something

1 hour ago, Nolicense said:

i wouldnt read too much into the survey.

representation is imbalanced and respondents are not the same every year.

questions suffer from the usual methodology bias

sample is also inconsistent. based on the age group and the sector for each country also disproportionate.

within 1 year the percentage swing is too large. indicates the respondents may think only from year to year. possibly the Trump/Biden effect.

however, precisely because of the above, drilling down into the respective countries you can see which countries are the extreme on the spectrum. at least that data is worth something

of course, you are entitled to your opinion...Respect your opinion too..

13 hours ago, Jamesc said:

Japan rules taiwan for more than 45 years. USA controls Vietnam for ? None of these countries adopted their conquerer language as their national language. Although it has a lasting effect on some who thought they were one of them. History has proven, you can conquer but you will never win their heart and soul except for some countries which I shall not name here. 

17 hours ago, Turboflat4 said:

Exactly right. Better an Eagle from far away without obvious territorial ambitions in the region than a Dragon in the vicinity that could very well gobble you up tomorrow. 😁

The US is the default choice, really. Provided you don't have a crazy person in charge. Dementia OK, but not demented. Biden OK, but not Trump. 😂

All jokes aside, Trump destabilised a lot of long-standing partnerships with his sheer insanity. You can't have an ally that up-ends previous agreements between nations, but that's exactly what that dotard did. Can't build long term relationships with someone capricious. Now hopefully it'll be BAU (Business As Usual). 

I know some folks here are okay with Americans even if they rape and murder the Ryukyuans in Okinawa, poison their water because they have the perception that China does worse. Gotta pick the lesser evil right?

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-42192571

http://www.asahi.com/ajw/articles/13860131

https://www.usatoday.com/story/news/world/2017/12/01/former-u-s-marine-jailed-raping-and-murdering-woman-okinawa/912488001/

https://thediplomat.com/2020/10/us-military-bases-are-poisoning-okinawa/

They say "Better an Eagle from far away without obvious territorial ambitions in the region."

china-wants-war-usa-source-base-nation-look-how-close-19103598.png.140061c6c7665b592267e10d2fe2ae1d.png

I like the part where it says "in the region" because it is very specific. Of course, some may argue that US didn't colonise Philippines, they "LIBERATED" them.

Outside this region, it says differently.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Territories_of_the_United_States

"A Dragon in the vicinity could very well gobble you up tomorrow."

Could is the keyword. Always good to be wary of threats and keep possibilities open even with history showing otherwise.

Always pick the lesser evil. Right?

8 minutes ago, Vinyl said:

dun know about the japan case. 

but i know the korean base kenna polluted jialat jialat by chemical after the US forces left. all the ppl there kpkb.

https://www.armytimes.com/news/your-army/2021/03/04/cancer-causing-compounds-found-at-former-us-army-heliport-in-south-korea/#:~:text=SEOUL%2C South Korea — A former,living nearby to the toxic

Cancer-causing compounds found at former US Army heliport in South Korea.

• Sad 1

11 minutes ago, Vinyl said:

I know some folks here are okay with Americans even if they rape and murder the Ryukyuans in Okinawa, poison their water because they have the perception that China does worse. Gotta pick the lesser evil right?

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-42192571

http://www.asahi.com/ajw/articles/13860131

https://www.usatoday.com/story/news/world/2017/12/01/former-u-s-marine-jailed-raping-and-murdering-woman-okinawa/912488001/

https://thediplomat.com/2020/10/us-military-bases-are-poisoning-okinawa/

They say "Better an Eagle from far away without obvious territorial ambitions in the region."

china-wants-war-usa-source-base-nation-look-how-close-19103598.png.140061c6c7665b592267e10d2fe2ae1d.png

I like the part where it says "in the region" because it is very specific. Of course, some may argue that US didn't colonise Philippines, they "LIBERATED" them.

Outside this region, it says differently.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Territories_of_the_United_States

"A Dragon in the vicinity could very well gobble you up tomorrow."

Could is the keyword. Always good to be wary of threats and keep possibilities open even with history showing otherwise.

Always pick the lesser evil. Right?

The US is not a saintly nation. Very far from it. They've destabilised peacefully elected regimes before. They are thoroughly hypocritical. 

I was very careful to emphasise *this region*. My answer would've been entirely different if I came from some parts of the Middle East or Latin America, for instance. But in Singapore's particular geopolitical niche, having a US (and let's be honest, Israeli) ally is very sensible. 

China, especially under Xi, has been very open about its territorial ambitions. It's not just about military conquest but also insidious tactics like debt-trap "diplomacy".

I am not keen on my country becoming a vassal to any other. Either the US or China or any other. 

But some "motherland lovers" seem hellbent on exactly that. I find that highly disagreeable. I'm not pointing a finger at you but I've seen them here and elsewhere in Singaporean cyberspace.

Just now, Beregond said:

dun know about the japan case. 

but i know the korean base kenna polluted jialat jialat by chemical after the US forces left. all the ppl there kpkb.

https://www.armytimes.com/news/your-army/2021/03/04/cancer-causing-compounds-found-at-former-us-army-heliport-in-south-korea/#:~:text=SEOUL%2C South Korea — A former,living nearby to the toxic

Cancer-causing compounds found at former US Army heliport in South Korea.

US good, China bad. Choose US and don't question.

1 minute ago, Vinyl said:

And this is why it's difficult to take you seriously. Peppered among reasonably argued posts is sardonic and facetious trolling like the above. At least Orwell was original and clever when he wrote "Four legs good, two legs bad".

8 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said:

And this is why it's difficult to take you seriously. Peppered among reasonably argued posts is sardonic and facetious trolling like the above. At least Orwell was original and clever when he wrote "Four legs good, two legs bad".

Strange, I didn't mention names on that post did I? Lol.

Don't take it personally.

对号入座

Who else?

Edited by Vinyl

Strange, I didn't mention names on that post did I? Lol.

What?

Oh never mind, don't bother.

loopy.jpg

i alway ask for fair and unbias  judgement  on geopolitical issue.

if we judge an act committed by china or US guilty  or wrong. we must judge the same for both party. cannot have double standards

like the most recent case. west keep saying china cheap loans to 3rd world country is a debt trap. but now they trying to do the same?

2 minutes ago, Beregond said:

if we judge an act committed by china or US guilty  or wrong. we must judge the same for both party. cannot have double standards

like the most recent case. west keep saying china cheap loans to 3rd world country is a debt trap. but now they trying to do the same?

Its been their tactic to weaken china and maintain hegemony by keep portraying bad image of china. You will never find good news about china coming out from western media

we always hear china propaganda, never hear western propaganda before

Maybe china not as bad as we thought and usa not as saint as we believe? 

3 minutes ago, Beregond said:

No, no. Some folks here don't care about what happens outside this region. They don't make judgements about regime change, war crimes, refugees crisis outside this region.

They think that US will never turn our region into a warzone because they feel so safe under the warm embracement of the US military.

As for debt trap diplomacy, here's an article stating some facts and not possibilities:

https://www.theatlantic.com/international/archive/2021/02/china-debt-trap-diplomacy/617953/

8 minutes ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

Its been their tactic to weaken china and maintain hegemony by keep portraying bad image of china. You will never find good news about china coming out from western media

we always hear china propaganda, never hear western propaganda before

Maybe china not as bad as we thought and usa not as saint as we believe? 

we are already living inside western propaganda thats why many wont feel its not propaganda anymore. cos u already effect and change by it.

i watch news from both side and i try to be as unbias as possible.

like recently china speak up for palestine. does china really care about the welfare of palestine?? i highly  doubt so. in fact they got more interest dealing with israel i think.

its just to strengthen their stand on human right and XJ issue.

Edited by Beregond