Singapore restarting cruises: Boost for economy, but not plain sailing

kobayashiGT

Honestly they should allow tourism to other countries to restart... better than coped up in a ship... less risk

30 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

Honestly they should allow tourism to other countries to restart... better than coped up in a ship... less risk

Errr.. the problem is people don welcome us..

Anyway i tried to book the 21 Dec departure (Royal Caribbean) on last Fri afternoon.. next moment sold out liao..

1 hour ago, Ody_2004 said:

Anyway i tried to book the 21 Dec departure (Royal Caribbean) on last Fri afternoon.. next moment sold out liao..

Either you are too slow or Singaporeans too desperate liao.. Can go, just go.

YOLO

2 hours ago, Ody_2004 said:

Got countries welcome us. Maldives.

eu has approved of many countries like Thailand Korea and japan. Our stupid government needs to negotiate with eu to get into the approved list.

Switzerland has approved us since 20 aug. but our stupid government still force us to 2 weeks hotel quarantine on return.

For returning citizens, best is screen on arrival and quarantine for one day waiting test result. If the entire flight is clear, release everyone. With a follow up test 5days later while serving shn. This way u can control the risk of infection without overly strict. 

this will help sia.... better than stupid dining plans...

Edited by Wind30

32 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

Switzerland has approved us since 20 aug. but our stupid government still force us to 2 weeks hotel quarantine on return.

For returning citizens, best is screen on arrival and quarantine for one day waiting test result. If the entire flight is clear, release everyone. With a follow up test 5days later while serving shn. This way u can control the risk of infection without overly strict. 

Have you seen the data? Second wave in Europe. Switzerland is setting new highs in daily cases - in fact it's peaking higher than it did during first wave. It's a very high risk destination. 

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/switzerland/

I'm sure you can parse the data, based on your ownself claim ownself "very good in math". 🙄

On that basis, why call the gahmen "stupid" repeatedly? Far be it from me to defend the gahmen, but I feel I have to defend them - a) when they might be doing something "right-ish" for once and b) from an even greater source of stupidity (opinions like yours). 

Your proposal to order SHN is flawed as SHN is inherently less secure than a hotel quarantine (so less suitable for a higher risk of exposure-importation). Your notion of using further testing will add further cost (testing, medical personnel) and risk (to sampling personnel) while being fraught with limitations like sampling efficacy and variable test performance (vagaries of shedding, inhibition of amplification, etc.). Quarantining for 2 weeks in a designated location (a civilised and comfortable one like a hotel) then releasing after that only if truly symptom free sounds highly sensible to me. 

Are you repeatedly calling the gahmen stupid simply because *you* love travelling (and taking pictures and posting them everywhere) and they're inconveniencing you personally? Sounds kinda selfish, doesn't it?

tiny red dot spore is fcked if we cannot control imported cases including returning sinkies!

imported cases will turn into community cases will turn into zombieland ... 

4 hours ago, Wind30 said:

Got countries welcome us. Maldives.

eu has approved of many countries like Thailand Korea and japan. Our stupid government needs to negotiate with eu to get into the approved list.

Of all countries you mention EU which doesn't have the virus under control.

can see the travel itch is becoming stronger than fear of contracting covid liao

got money nowhere to spend.... buy properties lor

😬🤣

10 hours ago, Turboflat4 said:

Have you seen the data? Second wave in Europe. Switzerland is setting new highs in daily cases - in fact it's peaking higher than it did during first wave. It's a very high risk destination. 

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/switzerland/

I'm sure you can parse the data, based on your ownself claim ownself "very good in math". 🙄

On that basis, why call the gahmen "stupid" repeatedly? Far be it from me to defend the gahmen, but I feel I have to defend them - a) when they might be doing something "right-ish" for once and b) from an even greater source of stupidity (opinions like yours). 

Your proposal to order SHN is flawed as SHN is inherently less secure than a hotel quarantine (so less suitable for a higher risk of exposure-importation). Your notion of using further testing will add further cost (testing, medical personnel) and risk (to sampling personnel) while being fraught with limitations like sampling efficacy and variable test performance (vagaries of shedding, inhibition of amplification, etc.). Quarantining for 2 weeks in a designated location (a civilised and comfortable one like a hotel) then releasing after that only if truly symptom free sounds highly sensible to me. 

Are you repeatedly calling the gahmen stupid simply because *you* love travelling (and taking pictures and posting them everywhere) and they're inconveniencing you personally? Sounds kinda selfish, doesn't it?

I used Maldives as an example too but you conveniently left that out. Countries covid risk fluctuates month to month and sometimes their data is not necessarily reliable. I am not arguing we all cheong to Switzeland specifically. You should be able to understand that. It is more about a way to open up travel in general. 

You have mainly two arguments, cost and risk.

1) Cost. I think this is obviously wrong. The cost of the testing will be borne by the person to leaves the country. Simple as that. I think it will help to reduce cost for our government as it will spur demand in like hotels, airfares, etc. Remember we are saving SIA using Temasek's money... If SIA tanks, I think temasek loses billions, no?

2) Risk... There are ways to quantify the risk but it all begins with starting travel. I suggested getting the entire flight  tested and quarantining everyone while waiting for results. We only release the flight if everyone is clear. This way we can collect data on various risk profiles of different countries over time. If there is even one case positive, we will quarantine the flight for 6 more days and then retesting everyone at the fifth day. We will release those people tested negative twice to SHN. You then have to calculate the chance of two false negatives in SHN and see if it is higher risk than the general untested population running all over Singapore....

It is like the lockdown argument a few months back. I think on hindsight, the lockdown was too long and has cost us billions of dollars. We survived months without lockdown and the last month of lockdown literally did nothing significant in reducing the cases. We could have restarted the economy earlier while keeping the dorms under lockdown. People tend to think there is no acceptable level of risk at that time which is wrong. 

Although governments don't want to admit they are wrong but you can see throughout the world, MOST governments are unwilling to go back to lockdowns even when the second wave spikes.

BTW, I think the Covid testing facility at the airport shows the government is thinking of something like this. 

Edited by Wind30

keeping singaporeans in singapore probably good for economy, less money leak out.   Govt idea of opening travel means incoming travel, not outgoing travel.. heheh 

A passenger who gets infected the day before boarding "is almost certainly going to test negative on embarking", said Prof Cook.

During incubation, the person would test negative - but could turn positive in a day or two, in other words, during the cruise.

Just now, Weez911 said:

A passenger who gets infected the day before boarding "is almost certainly going to test negative on embarking", said Prof Cook.

During incubation, the person would test negative - but could turn positive in a day or two, in other words, during the cruise.

cruise really is tricky - persistent exposure in a confined indoor space seems the surest way to catch the virus. 

Potential floating petri dish.

Think for first few cruises there may be extra precautions taken, which may be overbearing to some people. 

Foreseeable. Staggered meals, shows, casino and deck time. Boarding and disembarking time. 

Have they publish the cost of the compulsory covid test yet?

Salute to the pioneers going. 

$200 per pax testing

a family of 4 = $800 for testing? [sweatdrop] 

if tio covid, medical cost is ownself pay ownself or travel insurance cover? 😬

2 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

$200 per pax testing

a family of 4 = $800 for testing? [sweatdrop] 

if tio covid, medical cost is ownself pay ownself or travel insurance cover? 😬

RCI will cover. 

and they bring down their big boat, the Quantum of the Sea, for this which should be quite nice. 

Wont get stuck on board too as SG and RCI has arrangement to allow disembark.  

Plus they pump in new air 12 -  15 times an hour. 

and big medical team. 

and half the people, so for once dont have to jostle in a cruise.

But i still wont go cause i kia si 😁