Home automation/Smart home

Stratovarius

1 hour ago, Tianmo said:

I have 4 bed rooms, all rooms can play spotify and youtube music individually in addition to netflix , and every room enjoy different music.  Are you sure playing the same music  throughout the house is great?  More like greatly selfish to me and just the best way to have everyone come screaming at me....

actually voice assistant can set to an individual person's voice. So once u speak, they will auto-recognise which person and play different playlists. 

1 hour ago, Jman888 said:

the blind work behind closed windows/door, cannot tahan wind blow.

I'm a a actually referring to zip blinds. But alot people I see install normal blinds in balcony but need locking point on the bottom. 

3 hours ago, Lala81 said:

There are always workarounds. Or DIY stuff. But basically if u just want convenience, then just keep it simple. 

Are there any smart locks in SG that integrate with smart home yet? 

https://www.samsungdigitallife.com/shp-dr708/

Not sure how to integrate and use voice command to unlock. I don't have this but i think it is kinda neat. 

The cheaper digital lock already offers one time pin to unlock. This one can unlock remotely via an app.

Edited by Voodooman

Better use a much stronger password if you dont want hackers hacking into your smart home.

That's why I dont like to use the remote access function on my router. Mine is on default "off" . 

If IP cams are easily hacked due to poor password management, you better come up with a much much stronger password if you want to create a smart home.

2 hours ago, Tianmo said:

when the courier comes, my not so smart maid will open not only the front grille gate, she is stupid enough to open the timber door and collect the package. The smart digital lock will make me smarter? really? 

My 地主炉 and 祖先炉 suka suka take turns 发炉,  one year combine at least 4-5 times, each time will be smoke everywhere the whole house. My not so smart maid wont call me for to alarm me fire/smoke ( ok, first time she saw the 发炉, she came running to me " Sir burning, sir burning!") The smart fire/smart alarm will likely make me smarter? really? 

I have 4 bed rooms, all rooms can play spotify and youtube music individually in addition to netflix , and every room enjoy different music.  Are you sure playing the same music  throughout the house is great?  More like greatly selfish to me and just the best way to have everyone come screaming at me....

Yah, looks like I am fate and fated to be stupid, can never understand how some lazy stuffs can make be smarter....

Make me smarter? really? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

If you have a live in helper, everything is via voice command, the ultimate "smart" home. 

Siri, open the window. Siri, serve dinner. Siri, come and wipe my backside (for baby only).  😂😂😂 

7 hours ago, Stratovarius said:

I will be starting my renovation pretty soon. Watched an episode of tiny house nation and they have installed some smart features into the system like turning off lights, lowering blinds or turn on the aircon with voice command.

Anyone has done anything like that? I'm interested in the blinds. Not sure if I'm gonna do any of these. Will appreciate if anyone who has done similar things to share their experiences.

TIA.

I have the xiaomi Home Gateway for a long long time.  Best !!  it has many manufacturing partners ........ and it is highly modular.  From power point to control lighting to rice cooker to WiFi Fan to water plant sensor.  If you add another NEW gateway called the BLE Gateway.....AWESOME. You have ALL WiFi, Zigbee and BLE lor

The best part, as of writing, Xiaomi is NOT affected by Hwawei Fiasco lor ....... all this trade war is not curtailing development lor......

BTW, you don't have to reno to do this.  If reno, if you don't have a CAT5E Ethernet System, I suggest YOU PLAN IN.  Nothing compare with a REAL FIXED Network lor.

17 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

Better use a much stronger password if you dont want hackers hacking into your smart home.

That's why I dont like to use the remote access function on my router. Mine is on default "off" . 

If IP cams are easily hacked due to poor password management, you better come up with a much much stronger password if you want to create a smart home.

Ya lor.. Skally hacker able to hack into smart home system and then gg.. What if the house door is also connected to smart home system.. Then hacker can just unlock the door by hacking into the smart home system? 

Attached article for your info. Have to make sure the devices have secure wireless protocol.

I have also been researching on smart home and initially thought that devices like smart switches and google/alexa voice controlled IR controllers would be useful.

Then I read about people's experience of china made smart switches failing after some time.

It would be really inconvenient to enter a house where I have no mechanical means to on the lights. And having bedroom/living room etc smart light that turn on/off automatically at preset timing is assuming that I stay alone and require light at that timing. Imagine someone deciding to sleep in because on leave and the blind roll up or light turn on. Or no hot water when about to bath because the smart switch stop working.

Having smart IR controller to control devices like TV is appealing but it means always leaving it on standby mode i.e. drain electricity.

There are some smart devices that I found useful and bought like smart plugs which I use to reboot security cam that hanged when I am not at home.

So assess your home and personal needs then decide so as not to waste hardearned money.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/singapore-home-cams-hacked-and-stolen-footage-sold-on-pornographic-sites?utm_source=STSmartphone&utm_medium=share&utm_term=2020-10-12+23%3A00%3A46

Edited by Sotong1977

14 hours ago, Voodooman said:

You must have ignored the multiple warning.  

Haha. Yah. and the warning get weaker and weaker somemore. hahahha. The moment I manage to open the door, I forget to change to battery right away le. hahaha.

14 hours ago, Voodooman said:

If you have a live in helper, everything is via voice command, the ultimate "smart" home. 

Siri, open the window. Siri, serve dinner. Siri, come and wipe my backside (for baby only).  😂😂😂 

this one got problem also lor.  Non 24/7,  totally switch off from 2200 hrs to 0700 hrs, rain in the middle of the night must ownself wake up close windows...

Got feeding and rest time, power off also... 

for wiping backside, this one no maids ever do for my kids, this one very very personal one, parents must ownself do one....[:p][laugh][laugh]

IT will change the way we live, thats for sure.

With 5G coming up in full force soon, there is almost no running away that most homes in the future will be a "smart" one.  Anything that makes life easier and more convenience is always welcome, however, it also means making us lazier at the same time... Will this easier and more convenience lifestyle make us more productive, or get to have more rest? 

Like what @Lala81 mentioned earlier, if I stay in a 5000sq feet land with a 3 storey build up, being able to open the front gate and front door for my visitors is a godsend. Having machines cleaning the big house 24/7 would beat a human cleaning it anytime.  A smart Security system is of course  beyond words.

But a 1600 sq feet apartment? I mean it takes something like 20-30 steps from one end to the other end, and we are trying to find time to add in some walks or runs in our life? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

15 hours ago, Apple-Tree said:

I have the xiaomi Home Gateway for a long long time.  Best !!  it has many manufacturing partners ........ and it is highly modular.  From power point to control lighting to rice cooker to WiFi Fan to water plant sensor.  If you add another NEW gateway called the BLE Gateway.....AWESOME. You have ALL WiFi, Zigbee and BLE lor

The best part, as of writing, Xiaomi is NOT affected by Hwawei Fiasco lor ....... all this trade war is not curtailing development lor......

BTW, you don't have to reno to do this.  If reno, if you don't have a CAT5E Ethernet System, I suggest YOU PLAN IN.  Nothing compare with a REAL FIXED Network lor.

I was thinking if I need to install any smart sensors or switches during my reno. I've heard people have done a home control hub where you can control the lights (on/off, brightness), AC, TV, sound system, ceiling fans via a tablet. Sounds cool like Tony Stark's house but definitely not a need. 

Im using a mesh wifi which I think is good enough. Not planning to run ethernet cables around the house. 

14 hours ago, Sotong1977 said:

Attached article for your info. Have to make sure the devices have secure wireless protocol.

I have also been researching on smart home and initially thought that devices like smart switches and google/alexa voice controlled IR controllers would be useful.

Then I read about people's experience of china made smart switches failing after some time.

It would be really inconvenient to enter a house where I have no mechanical means to on the lights. And having bedroom/living room etc smart light that turn on/off automatically at preset timing is assuming that I stay alone and require light at that timing. Imagine someone deciding to sleep in because on leave and the blind roll up or light turn on. Or no hot water when about to bath because the smart switch stop working.

Having smart IR controller to control devices like TV is appealing but it means always leaving it on standby mode i.e. drain electricity.

There are some smart devices that I found useful and bought like smart plugs which I use to reboot security cam that hanged when I am not at home.

So assess your home and personal needs then decide so as not to waste hardearned money.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/singapore-home-cams-hacked-and-stolen-footage-sold-on-pornographic-sites?utm_source=STSmartphone&utm_medium=share&utm_term=2020-10-12+23%3A00%3A46

Thanks for the advice. My wife is one who will turn off all the unnecessary switches before turning in so that's something we have to consider. 

1 hour ago, Tianmo said:

With 5G coming up in full force soon, there is almost no running away that most homes in the future will be a "smart" one.  Anything that makes life easier and more convenience is always welcome, however, it also means making us lazier at the same time... Will this easier and more convenience lifestyle make us more productive, or get to have more rest? 

Like what @Lala81 mentioned earlier, if I stay in a 5000sq feet land with a 3 storey build up, being able to open the front gate and front door for my visitors is a godsend. Having machines cleaning the big house 24/7 would beat a human cleaning it anytime.  A smart Security system is of course  beyond words.

But a 1600 sq feet apartment? I mean it takes something like 20-30 steps from one end to the other end, and we are trying to find time to add in some walks or runs in our life? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

like that staying in 500 sq ft studio apartment just need to stretch the arm can reach every corner liao [laugh]

4 hours ago, Tianmo said:

The I sure no need. I can only afford one bedroom HDB. hahaha. I will just learn to be smarter can le. hahaha.