SPH Sees $83.7 Million Loss For 1st Time In 2020, Due To Covid-19 & Fall In Advertising

kobayashiGT

14 hours ago, Turboflat4 said:

I've also questioned the motives of purposely elevating senior ex-military to these sinecures and also overtly political positions.

Press media are one of the sacred cows of our national government. The government will never relinquish control to purely commercial interests.

Edited by CremornePt

Incompetent fools always have a lot of excuses to justify their failures. 

Also questioning the system and people that placed these fools there. 

50 minutes ago, CremornePt said:

Press media are one of the sacred cows of our national government. The government will never relinquish control to purely commercial interests.

They need a propaganda arm. 

15 hours ago, t0y0ta said:

Another perspective to it.

The CMI person promoted to lead may either be (1) secretly unwilling to nurture newbies he knows is much better than him (2) don't have the ability to spot talent because they think talent means someone with same traits as them.

So each leadership generation gets worse and worse.

Basically (2) also equates to group think. 

16 minutes ago, Albeniz said:

Will SPH end up like Hyflux or Chartered Semicon?

It will survive but the shareholders might not! Probably the media/newspaper part will be bought out by you know who. Just leave behind the property part as listed. 

Maybe at 50 cents a share would be tempting!  But seems like someone's supporting at $1!

Edited by Volvobrick

Ru meng da should just resign lar. National disgrace leh.

Sph should appoint younger. Hungrier. Those who had served in sph or mediacorpse for yrs. Promote them. Let the youngsters run the show lar. Media is ever changing. Our army boy simi 5g. Mai gong lampar lar. Millitary man afterall. How to be in creative industry. Heck. How to even be a bizman. Mai sia suay liao.

Seriously. Sph. Mediacorpse has to totally revamp.. or else better close shop lar. National disgrace liao

21 hours ago, Turboflat4 said:

They need a propaganda arm. 

Newspaper is one way comms = Lim Peh gah Li gong, kah ki gong, kah ki song, heat the good stuff, one to many, machiam watch movie

This type of comms is good when the stuff they are selling is darn good. People are always willing to learn when you've got something to teach. 

Facebook forum = multi way comms, free for all, mass orgy, many to many, multi gamers platform

People like because can participate

3 minutes ago, Mustank said:

Newspaper is one way comms = Lim Peh gah Li gong, kah ki gong, kah ki song, heat the good stuff, one to many, machiam watch movie

This type of comms is good when the stuff they are selling is darn good. People are always willing to learn when you've got something to teach. 

Facebook forum = multi way comms, free for all, mass orgy, many to many, multi gamers platform

People like because can participate

Problem is two way is your sheeple can talk "baaaa"ck at you. 

And if you can't control the medium (like American owned social media platforms), you can't control the ultimate spin. 

These scholars are not quick on their feet enough to really run social media anyway. And if you look at the mischief some err... jinxed individuals get up to when attempting to really do social media, you'll know why it's a bad idea. 

No, the newspaper is still the better outlet to control spin to their liking. One way info flow and accessible to the one of the demographics that has kept them in power for so long - "traditional" elderly Singaporeans.

22 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said:

And if you can't control the medium (like American owned social media platforms), you can't control the ultimate spin. 

These scholars are not quick on their feet enough to really run social media anyway. And if you look at the mischief some err... jinxed individuals get up to when attempting to really do social media, you'll know why it's a bad idea. 

No, the newspaper is still the better outlet to control spin to their liking. One way info flow and accessible to the one of the demographics that has kept them in power for so long - "traditional" elderly Singaporeans.

You didn’t catch the song hidden inside :XD:

• Sad 1

35 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said:

It is a known fact that newspaper circulation has been dropping for years.  Even SPH need to go digital.

There is different in digital strategy within SPH group.

For English media, it benchmarked itself against SCMP.  It does not find itself worse off than SCMP.

For Chinese media, it moved earlier than English Media towards Digital Broadcasting via FB/Youtube since 2011 GE.  Overtime, it has trained up journalist to be competent in live broadcasting not worse than Channel 8.

In term of pushing OB marker, Chinese media has more leeway than English media.

Can't compare Malay & Tamil media as i am don't know them.

On ‎10‎/‎14‎/‎2020 at 10:14 AM, Atrecord said:

confirmed. And they will hire more senior people while getting rid of let's say a few despatch riders...

Oh, the top person sounds familiar. Isn't it the same person who made NOL lost lots of money, then had to be sold off - and it subsequently immediately got back into the black? Speaks volume of how capable the person is...

Ex-military personnel?  Goes a long way to demonstrate military guys' capabilities to run commercial entities....

25 minutes ago, Mustank said:

Haha I am always in a metal mood. 

But Depeche Mode is cool. I just listened to Enjoy The Silence as bedtime music early this am. 😂

On 10/16/2020 at 11:41 AM, Turboflat4 said:

Haha I am always in a metal mood. 

But Depeche Mode is cool. I just listened to Enjoy The Silence as bedtime music early this am. 😂

I like Guns N' Roses.

November rain, sweet child o' mine, knockin' on heaven's door, etc