parents do u still insist on kids having a wedding banquet when they get married?

VteckiCk

1 hour ago, Mockngbrd said:

No good meh? Maybe she can protect you? 

cdafc4d2ffee6f265af61f7ba3bc48a9.jpg

f6fdc3b92d7a1649215f16590e020f16.jpg

If you are pretty, you can get away with murder but if you are oba san.... 

B405B8BB-5021-4C3B-8CE9-D493CF725851.jpeg

3 hours ago, Mason016 said:

Mine is still in the closet! [laugh]

haha keep for when it's time to escort your princess down the aisle [;)]

I backside itchy go make a white pin-striped suit because I thought only time in my life could wear that.  Now is in the deep dark recesses of the wardrobe 

In general, I would leave it to my kids when the time comes. I believe the original intent of having customary marriage and wedding banquet was to share the joy with good friends and relatives, but over the years, it has become a show of wealth for some, and "games" for others.

I am the first grandson at my grandfather's side to get married (although I am not the eldest and neither was my dad), he did not insist for me to hold a grand wedding banquet although he had quite some distance relatives to be invited in his mind. My in-laws side (and her grandmother) lagi best, no specific request from them at all, not even 聘礼 or 四点金, as their only wish is for us to be 幸福美满 instead of being tied down by customary matters and debt. [thumbsup]

I held my wedding banquet at Noble House (old UIC building) instead of hotel (which started to become an in-thing from the mid 90s), had ~20+ tables (many filled by relatives which we know each other) and the rest were kept as simple as possible (my in-laws even past us back the 聘金 in full, not wanting us to over stretch our finance, not knowing that beside the resale flat, everything else from reno, wedding photo, outfit, dinner, angbao, honeymoon, etc. were full cash for me and my wife). The food was so good that we still talk about it today. :D

As we also have relatives in Malaysia and China, the rest were simple dinners to just let them know that we were married (sort of introducing our other half to these relatives). My wife and I were glad that we don't have much to worry about and can plan what we have wanted, so the same freedom shall be past on to our kids. But minimally, I think a simple dinner, buffet or wedding reception is a must (may be incorporated with the ROM arrangement), to serve as an introduction (and carrying on the basic tradition).

• Praise 10

Personally, I feel, if ceremony no need, banquet no need, then certificate also no need lah. Why get married? Can just live together [laugh]

But for the ladies, have to be careful, as under this kind of free arrangement, they have absolutely no legal rights as in an official marriage.

16 hours ago, Lala81 said:

My surgeon friends some for a while used to hang on neck chain. After a while all don't care haha. 

Same here. That time due to job requirements to be hands-on , cannot wear ring. So I never wear [laugh] OC also don't mind and don't wear too.

1 hour ago, Sosaria said:

Personally, I feel, if ceremony no need, banquet no need, then certificate also no need lah. Why get married? Can just live together [laugh]

But for the ladies, have to be careful, as under this kind of free arrangement, they have absolutely no legal rights as in an official marriage.

Cannot buy hdeebee mah. Unless both buy 1 each at 35.

1 hour ago, Sosaria said:

Cannot apply for hdb.

Also for child primary registration.