2021 Mitsuoka Buddy

Carbon82

Nice retro design with a modern base platform.

As a coach builder, dun think the production numbers will be huge. If my memory serves me right, their vehicle pricing is a tad on the higher side (OMV wise, when new).

Will appeal to the nostalgia folks. Or at least stands out (rightly or not) in the sea of generic automotive design.

On 11/1/2020 at 2:49 AM, yellowshaun said:

Wah lau so bad call them Goondu Racing 🙂

Skalli you see this bugger in the next fast and furious movie hor... 😁

Don't get me wrong, I like the latest GR Yaris. 

To the enthusiasts, its the single most exciting product to come out from Toyota in the recent years with genuine performance credentials (WRC homologation special, very high output per litre from the turboed 3 cylinder, 6 speed manual, torsen diff 4WD, carbon roof, wide stance etc). 

But Gazoo Racing?? Completely nonsense for a performance sub-brand 😁

image.png.547177f9776b6792c38e42412e892995.png

https://flintstones.fandom.com/wiki/The_Great_Gazoo_(character)

4 hours ago, Lethalstrike said:

Don't get me wrong, I like the latest GR Yaris. 

To the enthusiasts, its the single most exciting product to come out from Toyota in the recent years with genuine performance credentials (WRC homologation special, very high output per litre from the turboed 3 cylinder, 6 speed manual, torsen diff 4WD, carbon roof, wide stance etc). 

But Gazoo Racing?? Completely nonsense for a performance sub-brand 😁

image.png.547177f9776b6792c38e42412e892995.png

https://flintstones.fandom.com/wiki/The_Great_Gazoo_(character)

Whats in a name? Given time, we will forgive and forget. No one now minds Nissan cars that are named after some of our friends (Gloria, Cedric), or Toyota cars named after parts of a flower (Corolla, Corona), or even totally haolian names like Applause, Carisma, Superb and Superfast, not to mention "Ferrari The Ferrari". 

We even had a best seller called Bluebird. Just don't call it Toppo BJ or Naked can liao.😂

3 hours ago, Toeknee_33 said:

Whats in a name? Given time, we will forgive and forget. No one now minds Nissan cars that are named after some of our friends (Gloria, Cedric), or Toyota cars named after parts of a flower (Corolla, Corona), or even totally haolian names like Applause, Carisma, Superb and Superfast, not to mention "Ferrari The Ferrari". 

We even had a best seller called Bluebird. Just don't call it Toppo BJ or Naked can liao.😂

You reminded me of a thread I started last year, with all sort of funny names, Sai, Sway, Hustler, Cappuccino, S-presso, CB, Bluebird, etc. :D  

What's not to be loved for this car. But it could be a age thingy. 

I suspect the young gen(after 90's) might not appreciate the design and theme of this car that was meant to be. 

On 10/30/2020 at 9:24 PM, Jamesc said:

People that criticise Mitsuoka miss the point.

Its not meant to be liked by everybody.

Its only meant to appeal to a few.

:grin:

If Mitsuoka made a car that everyone likes

its not a Mitsuoka.

Like your MIL? 

9 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

Like your MIL? 

Yes yes she is an acquired taste.

:ph34r:

She is like eating balut from the Philippines.

Disclaimer: I wouldn't click the spoiler before lunch unless you like balut.

Spoiler

image.thumb.png.b3a0ddbd06dfbe54280244b82db3030c.png

Edited by Jamesc

15 minutes ago, ferrytales said:

If launched in sg at sub 100k with decent power train, I don't mind! 

Sub 100K means above or below 100K??

54 minutes ago, Carbon82 said:

Officially launched in Japan.

l_ins_07.jpg

For those nostalgic enthusiasts .... do they know that back in the 80's/early 90's there was no such thing like an SUV/MPV............ there was only a Station wagon back then or most to most a hatchback only  

20 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

For those nostalgic enthusiasts .... do they know that back in the 80's/early 90's there was no such thing like an SUV/MPV............ there was only a Station wagon back then or most to most a hatchback only  

They had real tough UVs like Blazers and Suburbans. Ladder-frame though.

On 11/27/2020 at 10:18 AM, ferrytales said:

If launched in sg at sub 100k with decent power train, I don't mind! 

Cannot work and will not happen lah

Rav 4 is priced at 130k

How can the Buddy be priced lower than that given theres no market of scale and OMV is very high.

170k is more possible 😂

Retro-Inspired Mitsuoka Buddy Crossover Already Sold Out Until 2023

source: https://www.motor1.com/news/457564/mitsuoka-buddy-suv-sold-out/

image.thumb.png.7cbc87554010f2484df88d936a10a44a.png

It's a Toyota RAV4 with the face of an early 1980s Chevy truck.

The Mitsuoka Buddy debuted on October 29, 2020, and the company started taking pre-orders on November 26. In just four days, the quirky Japanese automaker has amassed enough orders that anyone placing a request now has to wait until 2023 to get the funky crossover.

Mitsuoka intends to make 50 units of the Buddy in 2021 and 150 of them in 2022. Prices start at 4,697,000 yen ($45,000 at current exchange rates). The range-topping hybrid model with all-wheel drive is 5,899,300 yen ($56,532).

5 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

Retro-Inspired Mitsuoka Buddy Crossover Already Sold Out Until 2023

source: https://www.motor1.com/news/457564/mitsuoka-buddy-suv-sold-out/

image.thumb.png.7cbc87554010f2484df88d936a10a44a.png

It's a Toyota RAV4 with the face of an early 1980s Chevy truck.

The Mitsuoka Buddy debuted on October 29, 2020, and the company started taking pre-orders on November 26. In just four days, the quirky Japanese automaker has amassed enough orders that anyone placing a request now has to wait until 2023 to get the funky crossover.

Mitsuoka intends to make 50 units of the Buddy in 2021 and 150 of them in 2022. Prices start at 4,697,000 yen ($45,000 at current exchange rates). The range-topping hybrid model with all-wheel drive is 5,899,300 yen ($56,532).

Nevermind I will find my own way to make my own Buddy!

Let me mod it myself!

🤕

I shall buy a Rav4 first, that is.

😁