Steven Lim wanna buy used Ferrari or used car with $78K in his bank

StreetFight3r

On 10/30/2020 at 3:11 PM, fungyee77 said:

I once found a $70k used 1980 Rolls Royce on sgcarmart and was somewhat tempted. 

Then it hit me that I would either be mistaken for the chauffeur when I was driving it around, or the mechanic if it breaks down along AYE one day... 😝

Can try if it's a Toyota Crown Athlete.

15 hours ago, 13177 said:

Earn $4500 and he buy an old car also cannot afford to pay? 🤔

4500 - cpf 900 take home is 3600.

if need to minus food for daily work 6 dollars x 20 sgd 120.

pay parking lot hdb per month 80 to 110 . Let’s say open air 80. 

120 food + 80 carpark 

still got room to pay loan .. 

so much have stretched the salary else living like no tomorrow..

The rest of insurance n road tax can use credit card loan installment so still got runway.. unless the car repair killed him.

Unlike David, I mainly use my plastic card to pay for my $2.50 white coffee at Subway only. 

By Paywave.

My daily cup of coffee on credit is sill quite manageable.

18 hours ago, 13177 said:

Earn $4500 and he buy an old car also cannot afford to pay? 🤔

its not only car.

he wipe his credit card on alot of other stuff. not only that his income got issue also.

all in all the article is not only about buying car with no payment trap.

more like credit card trap/ installment trap for the youth . 

1 hour ago, Beregond said:

its not only car.

he wipe his credit card on alot of other stuff. not only that his income got issue also.

all in all the article is not only about buying car with no payment trap.

more like credit card trap/ installment trap for the youth . 

well, even those who bought property have loans extension from the banks. So what is the message to those who speculated on property and buying on one name?

He lives for the internet. He could buy the cheapest coe sports car he could find and video the whole repair and ownership misadventures, throw in a couple of fake gags, and get additional money from the thousands of new viewers, enough to buy a newer sports car. That's how they roll.

Saw a Steven Lim type of owner pumping Esso 95RON into his Ferrari F430 earlier.

Wanted to take a photo but the owner was beside the car.

Can the F430 take 95RON without engine knocking?

image.png.d30727b78e793ba367076820f73e0108.png

6 hours ago, Vinceng said:

Saw a Steven Lim type of owner pumping Esso 95RON into his Ferrari F430 earlier.

Maybe that is his 19th ferrari le. Once knock knock, he will sell. :grin:

8 hours ago, Vinceng said:

Sports car can take RON95 meh? :o

13 hours ago, Vinceng said:

Yes it can. It is naturally aspirated and the manual says RON95 is fine. 

I filled V-power in my 430, but I know others who stuck to 95 and the cars ran fine. 

Forced induction cars need a higher grade of fuel in general.

On 11/30/2020 at 3:43 PM, mikk123 said:

our gor gor doing pretty good and he has 40k over in the bank saving. Just out in today's paper, 20% or 30% Millennials need to borrow money for their daily expenses. 

He is not millenial, just becos he is silly and idiotic. He should be in his 40s by now.  

In your 40s, today, a very average guy should have at least one paid up HDB, a standard premium conti car, 3 Rolexes and $250k cash or liquid investments.  If not, sigh.....

muayhahaha  hard truths

• Sad 1

7 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said:

Yes it can. It is naturally aspirated and the manual says RON95 is fine. 

I filled V-power in my 430, but I know others who stuck to 95 and the cars ran fine. 

Forced induction cars need a higher grade of fuel in general.

Sounds like MINI owner manual

RON95 is fine.

For optimum performance, use RON98

Edited by inlinesix

5 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Sounds like MINI owner manual

RON95 is fine.

For optimum performance, use RON98

No. F430 manual does not say anything about higher RON. Just that 95 is recommended. 

On 30 October, 2020 at 1:01 PM, Watwheels said:

He need to add one more zero to his"78K". Aiya. Who's is his math teacher?

All Math teachers did not teach us student " financial freedom " & financial literacy was never ever taught in skool days ok, [wave]

So we cannot fault Mr Steven Lim's dream of owning a super car Ferrari, don't get me wrong, it is ok to dream, Steve has to factor in maintenance cost, road tax, insurance premium and hidden cost of a super car, however if his dream is not copy the influencer lady of a porsche, then his judgement is clouded.

On 12/3/2020 at 3:38 PM, Throttle2 said:

He is not millenial, just becos he is silly and idiotic. He should be in his 40s by now.  

In your 40s, today, a very average guy should have at least one paid up HDB, a standard premium conti car, 3 Rolexes and $250k cash or liquid investments.  If not, sigh.....

muayhahaha  hard truths

I think I better go wipe more tables and sell cigars...searching for guru @Throttle2

I am very poor, I own 1 Jap car and sold all my rolexes :TT_TT:

Wait!

I think I have a 2 rm flat fully paid with cash. (Less than 100k)

Edited by Brass