food recall

Ysc3

SFA recalls Bellamy's Organic pasta for infants due to ‘excessive levels’ of arsenic

The Singapore Food Agency (SFA) on Tuesday (Nov 3) directed the importer of popular baby food brand Bellamy's Organic to recall its Organic Brown Rice Pasta Stars. This was after “excessive levels” of arsenic were found in the product.

The product is targeted at infants from the age of seven months.

SFA said that it has detected arsenic in samples of the product, at levels exceeding the maximum limit for arsenic in baby food as stated in the Singapore Food Regulations.

Read more at https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/sfa-recalls-bellamys-organic-pasta-infants-due-excessive-levels-arsenic?cid=emarsys-today_TODAY's morning briefing for Nov 4, 2020 (ACTIVE)_newsletter_04112020_today

5 hours ago, Kangadrool said:

Rice also contains arsenic.

especially brown or unpolished rice. 
That's why i sometimes wonder those nutrition experts talking about eating brown rice regularly know what they are talking about. Lol.

I add those taiwanese multigrain rice to my jasmine rice at home. Maybe a 1:4 ratio or so. 
It has some brown rice inside but small porportion. 

18 hours ago, Lala81 said:

That's why i sometimes wonder those nutrition experts talking about eating brown rice regularly know what they are talking about. Lol.

I add those taiwanese multigrain rice to my jasmine rice at home. Maybe a 1:4 ratio or so. 

IMHO.   
White or brown, best is to find a balance.
Best is not to eat too much rice. 

2 hours ago, Kklee said:

IMHO.   
White or brown, best is to find a balance.
Best is not to eat too much rice. 

Err... I see this Dr Berg, i already never bother to watch liao. 

Just now, Lala81 said:

Err... I see this Dr Berg, i already never bother to watch liao. 

Err... I don't watch him, I watch the content about white vs brown. 

26 minutes ago, Kklee said:

Err... I don't watch him, I watch the content about white vs brown. 

yeah lor. He's a keto guy.
His opinion is what the angmohs on youtube advocating vegan/keto/paleo whatever would say, avoid rice, got better alternatives. He's just parroting the common information on keto communities. 
He's not wrong.

But in Asia, just eat lor. You want to eat how much up to you.

21 hours ago, Lala81 said:

I take fist size mixed rice (think 3 colors) too. The purple grains tend to be harder so some people may not like.

13 minutes ago, Windwaver said:

I take fist size mixed rice (think 3 colors) too. The purple grains tend to be harder so some people may not like.

Yes definitely. I'm not a fan of unpolished rice too.

Also these grains need to soak longer. If you have those fuzzy logic rice cookers, they will cook slower also.
Even jasmine rice after cleaning, should be soaked for 20mins before starting rice cooker. 

Of course if no time, then ignore.

4 hours ago, Lala81 said:

Also these grains need to soak longer. If you have those fuzzy logic rice cookers, they will cook slower also.
Even jasmine rice after cleaning, should be soaked for 20mins before starting rice cooker. 

Haha, you're right about the cookers but I just ignore.

However, I have a habit of eating slowly (people finish 3 bowls of rice, I can only manage 1) so just nice for me.

5 hours ago, Lala81 said:

I went to check, eating this 

1eb48e032375c7df2bdae2c5c1624ef0.jpg

Mixed 4 types.

rice has always been associated with arsenic, from what i read.

it's advisable to wash your rice at least 3 times, just to get rid of any possible hazardous material.

On 11/5/2020 at 11:41 AM, Lala81 said:

yeah lor. He's a keto guy.
His opinion is what the angmohs on youtube advocating vegan/keto/paleo whatever would say, avoid rice, got better alternatives. He's just parroting the common information on keto communities. 
He's not wrong.

But in Asia, just eat lor. You want to eat how much up to you.

What the angmoh know about eating healthy?

Which country has the longest life span?