S’porean Shares Tips On How To Budget, Claims He Can Save $15,000 A Year

kobayashiGT

S’porean Shares Tips On How To Budget, Claims He Can Save $15,000 A Year

source: https://mustsharenews.com/budget-tips/

xSporean-Shares-Tips-On-How-To-Budget-Cl

S’porean Shares Tips On How To Budget, Now Has Extra To Spend With Savings

For many young people, goals such as buying a BTO flat or going on faraway holidays mean saving up on hard-earned cash. Arguably, much of our savings can be attributed to our spending habits.

A Singaporean shared tips on Facebook for how to save $15,000 a year.

xSporean-Shares-Tips-On-How-To-Budget-fb

Beware though, there are some luxuries that are hard to sacrifice — for example, if you’re a frequent bubble tea drinker, you might find this post difficult to read.

Bye bye Starbucks and Koi

In a Facebook post, a Singaporean shared that his weekday meals used to cost about $10, but was able to halve his meal costs by keeping them to $5.

He did this especially by not ordering drinks or sides, and skipped upsize meals.

This is reasonable enough. After all, a plate of cai fan rarely exceeds $3.50 if you order more veggies and keep the meat dishes to a minimum.

xcai-png.jpg.pagespeed.ic.Ab4A4pFUI6.web

If you feel like treating yourself, a McDonald’s burger – ala carte, without drinks or sides – still fits the bill.

However, the real killers are high-end beverages like Koi or Starbucks, which can cost north of $7.50 for a venti-sized beverage.

Instead, the man says kopi or teh peng should be your new best friend to beat the heat as they cost around $1.50.

xHow-to-budget-4.png.pagespeed.ic.vxWBso

Making such tweaks to his weekday spending allowed this Singaporean to save about $120 per month.

It also helps that you’ll cut down on that sugar if you choose to do the same.

Savings per year:

$120 X 12 = $1,440

Skip dining out and the theatre for budget tips

In the age of Netflix, watching movies has become more affordable than ever.

The netizen said 2 weekend movie tickets for both him and his girlfriend costs $27 in total.

xHow-to-budget-5.png.pagespeed.ic.-rTjc4

Instead, the duo chose to subscribe to Netflix at $16 per month.

Another money hack — cooking at home instead of dining out, he shares.

By doing so, you can watch movies and dine from the comfort of your home. Sounds like a cosy weekend to us.

In total, this Singaporean was able to save about $612 per month just by skipping the cinemas and restaurants.

Savings per year:

$612 X 12 = $7,344

Miscellaneous savings included in budget tips

With the convenience of private hire car services, one may be tempted to take a Grab car instead of taking the bus.

This netizen said he was able to save about $100 per month by opting for public transport.

xHow-to-budget-7.png.pagespeed.ic.WjM8FM

Similarly, food deliveries cost more than tabao-ing your own meals, with each delivery costing about $3.

xHow-to-budget.png.pagespeed.ic.YIPOIFSq

By going back to pre-GrabCar/Food times, and cutting away unused subscriptions, the OP was able to save $82 per month.

Savings per year:

$82 X 12 = $984

Splurging occasionally is fine

If one tries a similar budgeting plan, about $9,768 can be saved.

The Singaporean said his yearly savings amounted to about $15,000 when budgeting is kept in mind.

How-to-budget-2.png

With these savings, he says he didn’t have to feel guilty about splurging on the occasional Grab ride, Starbucks drink or dine out for special occasions.

Budgeting for a better future or rainy day

While these budgeting tips may not apply for everyone as we all lead different lifestyles, they do serve as inspiration for making subtle – or not so subtle – tweaks to our spending habits.

Some of these expenses also add up over time, and we can definitely pay more attention to what we use our money on if there are savings to be made.

We don’t have to completely push out life’s little luxuries, but sometimes, it wouldn’t kill to skip out on that venti Frappuccino.

i no eat out at fancy restaurant

i no go cinema for donkey years liao

i no order grabfood because taste not so good upon delivery

i no watch netflix ... got streaming website [sly] 

i no drink starbuck ... 3-in-1 ownself make ownself

but 1 lolex cui all my savings liao ... [laugh] 

• Haha! 12

18 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

Lolex you sell you earn leh. That's the new currency. Better than Gold.

39 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

i cannot dun watch movie in cinema, YOLO  [laugh]

Author is probably youth or young adult.

Cannot compare with us uncles - we are even more spendthrift!

1 hour ago, Wt_know said:

Treat the purchase as investment, not spending. Then it all seems much better. lol.

Main ways to save even more:

1. Don't socialize. Then you will not have chance to spend in restaurants and drinks and food that you don't need.

2. Don't go into social media. Then you no need see how others are enjoying their lives while you need to plan carefully on what you are having.

3. Most important! Don't come into MYCARFORUM. So that you will not get poisoned by good cars and watches and food and others ..........

1 hour ago, Wt_know said:

I eat out every week with family in decent restaurant not $$$$$ just $$$ usually

i havent watched a movie in a cinema since.........cant remember already

i dont order any food delivery becos i am used to getting things done myself

i dont have netflix like you becos i dont really watch much TV

i dont drink starbucks as i prefer others but my daughters do 

Rolex i better dont say

1 hour ago, Mustank said:

I got one power trick can seriously save money

Hide contents

DIY 😁

2E000559-FB8F-4AA1-A747-A243A9D19537.jpeg

Make sure don't " show of hand " in public places [laugh]

He dares to dish out such common sensical advice???

I have already been  living in this saving mode for a long, long time.

Not just choosing cai png and kopi-o over restaurant and Starbucks, I even tabao my Caipng and kopi-o back home so that I could split my meal. 

What??? Going from Starbucks/bubble tea to something $1.50 is considered a downgrade??!  That's a luxury!  I make my own nescafe.

Starting from something so  extravagant is so easy.

I am interested to learn how to save $15k from my bare minimum mode. 

Edited by Albeniz

2 hours ago, Wt_know said:

never hoot capitaland? lol

16 minutes ago, Albeniz said:

He dares to dish out such common sensical advice???

I have already been  living in this saving mode for a long, long time.

Not just choosing cai png and kopi-o over restaurant and Starbucks, I even tabao my Caipng and kopi-o back home so that I could split my meal. 

What??? Going from Starbucks/bubble tea to something $1.50 is considered a downgrade??!  That's a luxury!  I make my own nescafe.

Starting from something so  extravagant is so easy.

I am interested to learn how to save $15k from my bare minimum mode. 

He's a young working adult lah.

Ok lor. Most people went through that phase. Without these people, the local economy already tank liao. A lot of local domestic consumption is highly dependent on parents spending on kids, teenagers, working adults 20-30s.
Beyond that, generally the older you get, the less you spend on services/goods.

I don't find going movies very wasteful. I would like to watch movies in the theater if I literally had more time. 

Many of the movies I ended up liking. I won't watch nowadays in the comfort of my own bed on Netflix. No patience and the lack of an atmosphere to sit through those non action movies. 

Waiting for someone to share how much he/she can save from siaming ERP, tailgating to evade parking charges, pumping RON92 for his/her "luxury" car (with badges from Taobao), skipping routine servicing, etc. :D :D