VteckiCk 3rd Gear December 13, 2020 Author Share December 13, 2020 6 hours ago, Jamesc said: If the hotel management overbook what has it got to do with policy makers or Singaporeans? Thank god for a voice of reason https://mothership.sg/2020/12/grand-park-orchard-statement/ ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged December 13, 2020 Share December 13, 2020 1 hour ago, Philipkee said: Eh from what I know you have to book to go to the beach. Wonder if it's the same now. Ya think so. I went last Xmas. But it kept raining and in the end I went Vivo. lol. But it’s nice waking up in serenity and watching peacocks while having breakfast. But they are so much noisier than cocks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged December 13, 2020 Share December 13, 2020 41 minutes ago, Jamesc said: 8 people to one table coming? Why so fast? Then have to invite MIL for dinner. No need la. Just invite 6... plus you seven. Need one more invite @BabyBlade lor... Come to think of it, the mods quite quiet nowadays, unless I see wrongly.. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged December 13, 2020 Share December 13, 2020 (edited) Such hotel reservation pls enlighten me..has to be booked via the STB appointed agent websites? If yes, means the overbooking has to do with communication mismatch between the hotel and klook? Edited December 13, 2020 by Kyrios Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged December 13, 2020 Share December 13, 2020 (edited) One reason for the delay and long Q could be that the service desk was understaffed. Was into staycation years ago. RS sea view suite was good but had bad experience at that cylinder shaped hotel, cannot remember the name. It is that bad. Edited December 13, 2020 by Count-Bracula Grammar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CremornePt 5th Gear December 13, 2020 Share December 13, 2020 (edited) We're moving into new territory. (not literally 😀) We've all been locked inside this tiny red dot for almost 9 months (& counting) with many overseas residents also returned home. There's probably never in our history been this many locals ever assembled in Singapore at any given time & for such a long time. People need something to do. So record number of people buying cars, going to restaurants + checking into staycations. Even Pulau Ubin is filling up!! (https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/visitors-flock-to-ubin) Retail seems to have moved to neighbourhood malls and online, so fewer crowds on Orchard & CBD. Edited December 13, 2020 by CremornePt 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged December 13, 2020 Share December 13, 2020 1 hour ago, CremornePt said: We're moving into new territory. (not literally 😀) We've all been locked inside this tiny red dot for almost 9 months (& counting) with many overseas residents also returned home. There's probably never in our history been this many locals ever assembled in Singapore at any given time & for such a long time. People need something to do. So record number of people buying cars, going to restaurants + checking into staycations. Even Pulau Ubin is filling up!! (https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/visitors-flock-to-ubin) Retail seems to have moved to neighbourhood malls and online, so fewer crowds on Orchard & CBD. I used to joke about bringing relatives and friends from out of town to enjoy the local sights which I didn't typically go to see, such as the zoo or the botanic gardens. With the pandemic, its time to be a tourist in my own country, but then its hard to swallow a price of a plate of chicken rice costing three times what it would be a 15 minute drive away in Choa Chu Kang or Yishun. Time to put those SingapoReDiscovers vouchers to good use I suppose. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lurpsexx 6th Gear December 13, 2020 Share December 13, 2020 5 hours ago, Jamesc said: 8 people to one table coming? Why so fast? Then have to invite MIL for dinner. Christmas Eve dinner, new year Eve dinner, CNY Eve dinner, CNY visiting etc.. open open open, or the restaurants will close close close!! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged December 14, 2020 Share December 14, 2020 Can someone fill me in about the appeal of a staycation within the Orchard area, with spouse and kids in tow for some? I think I can understand the appeal of a staycation perhaps at Sentosa or Changi Village area away from the hustle and bustle of the city, but at downtown Orchard? So queue up and clusterf**k, clusterf**k for the complimentary breakfast for 2, attend the free Smoothie making class, afternoon go clusterf**k at downtown Orchard, evening go back hotel sleep? Like that shiok? 😁 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 14, 2020 Share December 14, 2020 (edited) 45 minutes ago, Lethalstrike said: Can someone fill me in about the appeal of a staycation within the Orchard area, with spouse and kids in tow for some? I think I can understand the appeal of a staycation perhaps at Sentosa or Changi Village area away from the hustle and bustle of the city, but at downtown Orchard? So queue up and clusterf**k, clusterf**k for the complimentary breakfast for 2, attend the free Smoothie making class, afternoon go clusterf**k at downtown Orchard, evening go back hotel sleep? Like that shiok? 😁 Revenge Shopping. LOL Buy, go up drop the shopping bags. Then, down again to shop again. LOL Imagine their annual travel budget nowhere to spend, then what else to spend? Revenge shopping. Edited December 14, 2020 by Kangadrool 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 14, 2020 Share December 14, 2020 47 minutes ago, Lethalstrike said: Can someone fill me in about the appeal of a staycation within the Orchard area, with spouse and kids in tow for some? I think I can understand the appeal of a staycation perhaps at Sentosa or Changi Village area away from the hustle and bustle of the city, but at downtown Orchard? So queue up and clusterf**k, clusterf**k for the complimentary breakfast for 2, attend the free Smoothie making class, afternoon go clusterf**k at downtown Orchard, evening go back hotel sleep? Like that shiok? 😁 $160 for one night damn cheap no wonder so many people 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 14, 2020 Share December 14, 2020 4 minutes ago, Kangadrool said: Revenge Shopping. LOL Buy, go up drop the shopping bags. Then, down again to shop again. LOL Imagine their annual travel budget nowhere to spend, then what else to spend? Revenge shopping. Used to pay loans 🙁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic December 14, 2020 Share December 14, 2020 i dun understand staycation. singapore so small, got nice home and bed to sleep dun want. want spend money go sleep hotel?? going with small 3 i dun want say . 😁 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged December 14, 2020 Share December 14, 2020 3 minutes ago, Beregond said: i dun understand staycation. singapore so small, got nice home and bed to sleep dun want. want spend money go sleep hotel?? going with small 3 i dun want say . 😁 For family men, sometimes they have to show that they do something. Otherwise wife and kids may say you don't put in effort for them blah blah blah. 4 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic December 14, 2020 Share December 14, 2020 Imagine the steam boat style swimming pools at these hotels...simi SD? 😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic December 14, 2020 Share December 14, 2020 (edited) 14 minutes ago, t0y0ta said: For family men, sometimes they have to show that they do something. Otherwise wife and kids may say you don't put in effort for them blah blah blah. dec school holiday ma ... no go out no count ... cruise to no where staycation over the sea to Ubin .... lol Edited December 14, 2020 by Wt_know 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic December 14, 2020 Share December 14, 2020 Looking at the overcrowding. I wonder if gov will take action. Like the previous case selling shoe that 1 kenna 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 14, 2020 Share December 14, 2020 35 minutes ago, Beregond said: Looking at the overcrowding. I wonder if gov will take action. Like the previous case selling shoe that 1 kenna shoe one is si ginna this hotel one is adults national day one is own people different opponent strength ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...