COVID-19: SG to enter Phase 3 from 28th Dec

BabyBlade

Message added by BabyBlade

Phase 2: 

5 hours ago, Raubern said:

Ministars come out and warn liao!

LW urged Singaporeans to WFH, cut back on social activities and interactions, and stay home as much as possible during this period

Virus variants from India 'concerning' as infections could spread 'quickly and widely': Gan Kim Yong

https://www.straitstimes.com/ministerial-statements-on-sg-covid-19-situation

Initial travel restriction started in Apr 22nd after similar announcement from HK:

"Given the worsening situation in India, and emergence of new virus variants, we will tighten border measures for travellers from India by reducing entry approvals for non-Singapore Citizens/ Permanent Residents, and subjecting all travellers arriving from India to an additional 7-day Stay Home Notice (SHN) at their place of residence, following their 14-day SHN at dedicated SHN facilities from 22 April 2021, 2359 hours."

https://www.moh.gov.sg/news-highlights/details/updates-on-border-measures-for-travellers-from-india-hong-kong-united-kingdom-and-south-africa

Almost 1 month later, our minister acknowledges the B1617 strain is 'concerning'? Taking their own sweet time isn't it?

• Angry 1

43 minutes ago, Tkseah said:

Only 30yrs old already can make the PM and million $ ministers to pen fb posts specially for you... Should be bright bright future ahead HUAT ahhh

Edited by Jellandross

26 minutes ago, Jellandross said:

Only 30yrs old already can make the PM and million $ ministers to pen fb posts specially for you... Should be bright bright future ahead HUAT ahhh

While we MCFers can kpkb govt, CECA, AMDKs and poke fun at stupid paper generals, I too find it disturbing and for once agree with LHL that physical attacks veiled by racism should have no place here in SG, Covid or not. 

There should be zero tolerance for such incidents and rightly so. It could happen to any Chinese, Malay, Indian, Ang Moh and that shouldn't be happening, else our racial harmony stands for nothing. 

• Praise 16

12 minutes ago, Lethalstrike said:

While we MCFers can kpkb govt, CECA, AMDKs and poke fun at stupid paper generals, I too find it disturbing and for once agree with LHL that physical attacks veiled by racism should have no place here in SG, Covid or not. 

There should be zero tolerance for such incidents and rightly so. It could happen to any Chinese, Malay, Indian, Ang Moh and that shouldn't be happening, else our racial harmony stands for nothing. 

everywhere sure have stupid people. but in the us they have not only stupid but very dangerous people. they send you to hospital in coma or with broken bones.

lets hope in sg the stupid people are confined to riding pmds and bicycles at the most 

I wonder if the 30yo took bideo n upload to storm will have aclesser crime orvwill he be charge as a stalker or doxxing?.

But whatever it is, tolerance and patience for all races should be how we live with each other.

Edited by Sdf4786k

Racism and xenophobic behaviour will become normalised if S'pore Gahmen is not careful.

this shan like to push the gahmen responsibility to people.

didnt LKY used to say he can correct peoples behaviour using punishment? litter, pee in lift, spit, killer litter.. fine fine fine jail.

the citizens are infantile and the gahmen is paternalistic. nothings changed.

Edited by Nolicense

i wonder if next time an isolated incident occurs with a local attacked by a foreigner, will all the ministers come out and condemn?

5 minutes ago, Scion said:

i wonder if next time an isolated incident occurs with a local attacked by a foreigner, will all the ministers come out and condemn?

No. Of course not. Such physical attacks had happened many times and they have never condemned non-Singaporeans publicly for voluntarily causing hurt.

1 hour ago, Lethalstrike said:

Cultural diversity is good for us. That help us to be a melting pot of culture. 

Racially divide is not. 

Anti-social behaviour can be from any culture or race. 

Our society must be able to differentiate what is anti social behaviour, what is illegal behaviour. 

If need to point out to any individual that brush against the social norms and law. 

Point out the behaviour. 

Not the colour, not language, not faith or place of birth. 

Many of those characters in videos... let emotion took over them and splurt out emotionally charged, xenophobic comments instead of addressing the importance of wearing mask, safe distancing and safety in lesser number. 

1 hour ago, Nolicense said:

everywhere sure have stupid people. but in the us they have not only stupid but very dangerous people. they send you to hospital in coma or with broken bones.

lets hope in sg the stupid people are confined to riding pmds and bicycles at the most 

I forgot to add that tolerance doesn't come from just the locals, foreigners here should do their due diligence and obey our social fabric as well. Bicycle and PMDs that's another topic for another day though...😄

8 minutes ago, Lethalstrike said:

I forgot to add that tolerance doesn't come from just the locals, foreigners here should do their due diligence and obey our social fabric as well. Bicycle and PMDs that's another topic for another day though...😄

Yup. 

@Nolicense,

We should discuss that in Reckless Cyclist or SG Reckless Drivers threads. 😅😅

Here we talk

Safety in (less) Numbers🔢🤣

7 hours ago, Heartlander said:

Happened to come across this. Really messy. Do not have much hope can go up North any time soon.

MCO 3.0 , all their MCO getting looser and looser. This latest iteration allows most business and economic sectors to operate. Only travel across district and state borders are forbidden and number of pax in vehicles is restricted.

Wonder how effective it can be. According to past experience the previous MCO could flatten curve in 3-4 weeks.

3 hours ago, Didu said:

Initial travel restriction started in Apr 22nd after similar announcement from HK:

"Given the worsening situation in India, and emergence of new virus variants, we will tighten border measures for travellers from India by reducing entry approvals for non-Singapore Citizens/ Permanent Residents, and subjecting all travellers arriving from India to an additional 7-day Stay Home Notice (SHN) at their place of residence, following their 14-day SHN at dedicated SHN facilities from 22 April 2021, 2359 hours."

https://www.moh.gov.sg/news-highlights/details/updates-on-border-measures-for-travellers-from-india-hong-kong-united-kingdom-and-south-africa

Almost 1 month later, our minister acknowledges the B1617 strain is 'concerning'? Taking their own sweet time isn't it?

Again trotting out the same lame excuse that SG cannot shut its borders because we are plugged into the world and all that. Nobody asking for permanent shutting of borders, just a temporary one of a few weeks to months, targeted only at certain countries and enforced earlier. Basically they gambled with our early success in controlling covid and now are paying the price - no, we are paying the price for their gamble.

1 hour ago, Scion said:

ccspoint.thumb.jpg.dabc61ece1f9afe2a72ec47900a2613f.jpg.1797a727f4928d51fdd6e6cf17d9deaa.jpg

• Haha! 8