What tyres to fit for my rims?

q1n3fer

Hi all. Need some opinion here. Rims are 18 x 8.5 for front and 18 x 9.5 for rear. Which would you choose?

Option 1
225/40/18
255/35/18

Option 2
235/40/18
255/35/18

Option 3
245/35/18
255/35/18

16 minutes ago, q1n3fer said:

Hi all. Need some opinion here. Rims are 18 x 8.5 for front and 18 x 9.5 for rear. Which would you choose?
235/40/18
255/35/18

i would take this

8 minutes ago, Beregond said:

i would take this

But if take this.. there would be variance to the overall diameter and height of sidewall between the front and rear tyres.
image.png.24d4d58c2e4afa5943f5d2e4453c9f4c.png

24 minutes ago, q1n3fer said:

But if take this.. there would be variance to the overall diameter and height of sidewall between the front and rear tyres.

ya if take option 2 , front tyre diameter would be 0.4' bigger then rear tyre.  25.4' vs 25'

but if u divide 0.4' by both side. mean top add 0.2' btm add 0.2 its not really sigificant.

need to  see the tyres recommended for option 1, 225 width when fit into the 8.5 wide rim , will it fit nicely or not, some model 225 is really exact 225, like toyo or (some model comfort tyre dun have wide rim protector strip on tyre), fit into 8.5 the tyre seem too small warped inside, and rim is expose. ( if u understand what i meaning)

1 hour ago, q1n3fer said:

Option 1
225/40/18
255/35/18

Option 2
235/40/18
255/35/18

Option 3
245/35/18
255/35/18

image.thumb.png.4b8a8fc286259ef653fead89bfdbd3fd.png

Best is you know your rim offset also. then you can have a clearer picture which tyre suits best.

37 minutes ago, Beregond said:

ya if take option 2 , front tyre diameter would be 0.4' bigger then rear tyre.  25.4' vs 25'

but if u divide 0.4' by both side. mean top add 0.2' btm add 0.2 its not really sigificant.

need to  see the tyres recommended for option 1, 225 width when fit into the 8.5 wide rim , will it fit nicely or not, some model 225 is really exact 225, like toyo or (some model comfort tyre dun have wide rim protector strip on tyre), fit into 8.5 the tyre seem too small warped inside, and rim is expose. ( if u understand what i meaning)

yes.. option 2 difference is not that great.
only concern of getting option 1 is torque steer.. coz recommended setting of 8.5 rims is 235.

will be getting f1a5 tyres

26 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

image.thumb.png.4b8a8fc286259ef653fead89bfdbd3fd.png

Best is you know your rim offset also. then you can have a clearer picture which tyre suits best.

offset of my rims are 38. least difference between front and rear is definitely option 1. just worried would running 225 on 8.5 rims be over stretching the tyres abit?

3 minutes ago, q1n3fer said:

yes.. option 2 difference is not that great.
only concern of getting option 1 is torque steer.. coz recommended setting of 8.5 rims is 235.

will be getting f1a5 tyres

Spoiler

u see this video . i talking about stretching the tyres, the last thing we want is that to happen

i also no ideal if f1a5 225 fit nicely into 8.5 or not , or will it stretch abit. but no worry, its just a little bit even if happen

if u go for 225 first time and u feel not perfect . next time go 235 loh. 

zng car very hard 1st time perfect 1.😁

1 hour ago, q1n3fer said:

Option 1
225/40/18
255/35/18

Option 2
235/40/18
255/35/18

Option 3
245/35/18
255/35/18

You should be first looking at your manual to check what is the proper sizes for your car instead of asking a forum where no one has any idea what you are driving.

41 minutes ago, t0y0ta said:

You should be first looking at your manual to check what is the proper sizes for your car instead of asking a forum where no one has any idea what you are driving.

i am going for aftermarket rims. and my question is what profile tyres best fit my rims spec.
does knowing what car i drive make any difference to the fittment on 18 x 8.5 rims?
anyway i am driving a lexus is250, if that helps in anyway..

59 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

What’s ori tyre size and rim spec?

my stock is 225/45/17 and 245/45/17.. rims should be 17 x 8.. offset 45

I think important question is what car are you driving and what are the recommended sizes listed in your door card/manual?

And if you changed rims, what are the original offsets and new offsets?

If the 3 options you listed are all in the door placard, then I would go for option 3 because 8.5 is best suited for 245 width and 9.5 shouldn't go below 255.

I see you are driving an IS250, if you have not already changed the rims, then best is not to go for 9.5. Unless you like the rim look so much and its not available in smaller size. You might find the handling balance go haywire and depending on the difference in original and old offset, you might wear out your bushings fast due to extra stress once the angles change. 

Edited by Ake109

57 minutes ago, Ake109 said:

I think important question is what car are you driving and what are the recommended sizes listed in your door card/manual?

And if you changed rims, what are the original offsets and new offsets?

If the 3 options you listed are all in the door placard, then I would go for option 3 because 8.5 is best suited for 245 width and 9.5 shouldn't go below 255.

I see you are driving an IS250, if you have not already changed the rims, then best is not to go for 9.5. Unless you like the rim look so much and its not available in smaller size. You might find the handling balance go haywire and depending on the difference in original and old offset, you might wear out your bushings fast due to extra stress once the angles change. 

I guess it depends on his priorities. If looks are more important than anything else, then fit the most chio rims and the widest tyres.

For me, I am concerned about handling behaviour, ride quality and steering geometry. So I would stick to factory recommended upgrades. 

Perhaps can try to follow IS F specs lor.

2 hours ago, q1n3fer said:

i am going for aftermarket rims. and my question is what profile tyres best fit my rims spec.
does knowing what car i drive make any difference to the fittment on 18 x 8.5 rims?
anyway i am driving a lexus is250, if that helps in anyway..

225 fits 8.5, that is the minimum. you have no problem with  that.  for staggered,  the larger the difference between the front and back the better lookibg it is😀.  But in reality, whether 225 or 235, cant tell the diff. If i were you, 225 front,  255 rear. 

Edited by Ct3833

5 hours ago, Ct3833 said:

225 fits 8.5, that is the minimum. you have no problem with  that.  for staggered,  the larger the difference between the front and back the better lookibg it is😀.  But in reality, whether 225 or 235, cant tell the diff. If i were you, 225 front,  255 rear. 

Ok thanks!