Where are u getting ur CNY goodies from this year?

StreetFight3r

2 hours ago, Tohto said:

Yes. I bought banana leaves at SS to cook BBQ sting ray.

Oh. I don’t eat stingrays, my personal reason is because I dive and I’ve seen them live, they are beautiful majestic creatures of the sea, have even seen them doing their mating ritual. Truly graceful and beautiful. Cuttlefish and octopus as well. 

3 hours ago, Mazdaowner said:

Sorry yes, the proper would be shallots. 
banana leaves as well for making Otah Otah.

What fish do u use for otah. Curious. 

18 minutes ago, Mazdaowner said:

Made Nonya Ngoh Hiang today for CNY. 
Vacuum pack and deep freeze when cool. 

E0D2E26B-EC33-496F-BE39-C4B7D1B654A1.jpeg

You so early made cny dishes liao to vacuum pack? 🤔

On 1/23/2021 at 5:47 PM, Adrianli said:

Bought 2 packs to try.

20210123_174641.thumb.jpg.e48ad6a119fdaab2cce107dc35d08eb5.jpg

How nice or not? NTUC selling 6.80 ... so ex . 

SS cheaper ... sold by Carbon82 😆

27 minutes ago, 13177 said:

You so early made cny dishes liao to vacuum pack? 🤔

Yes, have to, last time was a 48-72hr cooking marathon, very tiring. Now vacuum pack and freeze, on eve just take out and oven reheat. Even my acher acher also done, let it pickle longer, taste better. 

21 minutes ago, Mazdaowner said:

Yes, have to, last time was a 48-72hr cooking marathon, very tiring. Now vacuum pack and freeze, on eve just take out and oven reheat. Even my acher acher also done, let it pickle longer, taste better. 

This not much gathering expected, still need to prepare so much food ah?

2 hours ago, Tohto said:

This not much gathering expected, still need to prepare so much food ah?

This year no gathering, didn’t make a lot a before. Packed 10 rolls to one pack, Eve jiak, rest normal day can take out and reheat plus bring one roll with veggie to work for lunch. If you cook and pack this way, it makes economic sense of bulk cooking, not having to cook every day, plus able to bring lunch to work instead of eating out. I cooked beef Rendang three weeks ago, 4kgs into 6 packs. As and when I want rendang, just defrost. No difference in taste since it’s vacuum packed, no freezer burns. 

12 hours ago, Angcheek said:

How nice or not? NTUC selling 6.80 ... so ex . 

SS cheaper ... sold by Carbon82 😆

Nice. Jin ho jiak. Cheap and good.

5 minutes ago, Dleodleo said:

I like Kim Hua Guan, their chilli ba kwa is very nice.  Also like Kim Peng Hiang.  I dun like Lim Chee Guan,  it is salty to me.

Never try both before. Maybe because I don't eat a lot of ba kwa, even during CNY for the past few years.

Always felt too salty and sweet. Mainly now I am trying to eat less sugar and salt.

36 minutes ago, Tohto said:

Never try both before. Maybe because I don't eat a lot of ba kwa, even during CNY for the past few years.

Always felt too salty and sweet. Mainly now I am trying to eat less sugar and salt.

Haven't touched Bak Kwa for years already. The last time I had bak kwa, I really ate 4kgs during CNY playing mahjong! 

9 minutes ago, Mazdaowner said:

Haven't touched Bak Kwa for years already. The last time I had bak kwa, I really ate 4kgs during CNY playing mahjong! 

Cannot eat bak kwa now cause too heaty. After eating confirmed sore throat and cough. [sweatdrop]