Help for accident in landed estate

xia0y

Neutral Newbie

Hi, a newbie here. Seeking for insurance claim advice on a minor car accident I got into recently. This is the first time I'm owning a car and also the first time I got into a car accident. However, I am sure I am a pretty safe driver and have been driving for more than 6 years.

I was driving home (into a private estate) and in this estate, there is only one lane in and out. It is a daily occurrence for cars to park on the left side of the road. Hence, I had to drive on the right lane in. This is when a lady who exited her house came out and our cars collided. 

I have filed a third party claim but the insurance company (AXA) rejected it as they claimed that I was going against traffic directions. I was shocked because the dashcam video I sent clearly shows that there are cars on the left lane. The lady who reported my case for me told me that the officer in charge is firm on her stance that it is my fault as I am on the wrong side of the road, and that the lady who exited her house only needs to check for traffic in her direction.

Firstly, I ensured there are no cars heading out before turning into the road. After turning in, a lorry was driving out of a minor road in front of me. I slowed down but there were no signs of the lorry driver stopping. As such, I had to use my horn to warn the driver of my presence and also slowed down further, almost to a stop. After the lorry driver came to a complete stop, I continued on the road and this is when a car exited her house hitting into my car front RH section. I would like to reiterate that I have slowed down as I had just made a turn, and had to slow down further due to the lorry exiting Chong Kuo Road. I am certain I am driving at an acceptable speed for the road.