Google says it will shut down search engine in Australia if forced to pay for news

kobayashiGT

So anyone has an answer to this question: How much profit exactly is considered too much?

I am not taking side with Google, but for providing free service to consumer like us (think of Google search, Google Map, Gmail, Web based storage, FB, etc.), have any of you wonder how much cost is Google incurring (setup, operation and maintenance)? 

Data Centre (construction and servers), electricity (data Centre requires high capacity cooling system), security (system, network, infrastructure), safety (fire fighting and protection system), licensing and insurance (and that include redundancy), overhead, etc. I wonder how much is needed just to cover the above.

On advertising dollars, it is a free world, and if everyone stop paying Google for their ad to appear in the top of the search list, what else can Google do? Don't forget beside them, we still have many other search engine around, so who are the "culprit" for the current development? Are we overly reliance on Google which lead them to been too fat (in size and profit)? 

• Praise 10

12 hours ago, Voodooman said:

Nothing is free, someone is paying for it.  Your example is not so right. 

This is more like you made a movie using your money, this guy put it on YouTube and he charges advertisers for it.  Viewers pay subscription or pay with their time on advertisement, who are the suckers and who are the free riders?  

The above is illegal if your movie is copyrighted but what about news content and many other things? They are not free.

The thing is that it is free. So if we don't like it, we can don't use it. When it is free why even complaint? 

So you want to complaint and then end up become regulated and then end up not free and then you happy? What about others who previously used it free but never complaint, but now need to pay and then get pissed off? So what exactly are these people who complaint trying to achieve when it is free? 

10 hours ago, Carbon82 said:

So anyone has an answer to this question: How much profit exactly is considered too much?

I am not taking side with Google, but for providing free service to consumer like us (think of Google search, Google Map, Gmail, Web based storage, FB, etc.), have any of you wonder how much cost is Google incurring (setup, operation and maintenance)? 

Data Centre (construction and servers), electricity (data Centre requires high capacity cooling system), security (system, network, infrastructure), safety (fire fighting and protection system), licensing and insurance (and that include redundancy), overhead, etc. I wonder how much is needed just to cover the above.

On advertising dollars, it is a free world, and if everyone stop paying Google for their ad to appear in the top of the search list, what else can Google do? Don't forget beside them, we still have many other search engine around, so who are the "culprit" for the current development? Are we overly reliance on Google which lead them to been too fat (in size and profit)? 

Why should we even asked that question when it is basically free from consumers except for ads? If we are paying for it like through monthly subscriptions or what, then okay understandable as people may felt like why are they paying for certain amount where Google is making big profit and etc.. 

6 hours ago, Yewheng said:

The thing is that it is free. So if we don't like it, we can don't use it. When it is free why even complaint? 

So you want to complaint and then end up become regulated and then end up not free and then you happy? What about others who previously used it free but never complaint, but now need to pay and then get pissed off? So what exactly are these people who complaint trying to achieve when it is free? 

YH, you are not following the discussion. The consumers are not complaining. The content providers are as they see Google as the free riders.  

You like to have melamine tainted milk in our supermarket? Business needs some form of regulation, otherwise they will socialize cost and privatize profit. It is in their DNA. The question is how much is too much.

6 hours ago, Yewheng said:

Why should we even asked that question when it is basically free from consumers except for ads? If we are paying for it like through monthly subscriptions or what, then okay understandable as people may felt like why are they paying for certain amount where Google is making big profit and etc.. 

we are not paying for it because we are the "expensive" pawns 

without us ... how do Google, FB, IG, TikTok, WeChat say loud loud they have hundreds of millions of users or billion of users

without the users ... how do they milk "businesses" ? after they milk businesses no matter small or big ... 

business operators and companies milk us ... we are the payers ... NEVER FORGET IT!

these Internet companies will decide what we eat, what we buy, where we go, which hotel we stay,  what's trendy what's not .....

our decision is consciously and subconsciously "decided" by Internet companies .... because they control the information flow

AI will link your search, your post, your comment, your email, your likes, your friends, your entire digital footprint !

it's just business. don't get too hang up on it.

if you're not willing to operate in a certain country with certain rules, you can always choose to leave.

30 minutes ago, Kb27 said:

if you're not willing to operate in a certain country with certain rules, you can always choose to leave.

yes! it’s pure business

let’s see who blink first 

Google and Facebook vs Morrison

if Google and FB blink ... many countries will follow ... huat ah!

if Morrison blink first ... nothing much la ... just said OZ is a business friendly country ... lol

every country finding way to milk tech companies because with a digitized world ... the tech companies reap all the profits

just like spore also relooking the e-commerce law as we all buy things from overseas internet ... GST jiak sai liao ... lol

Just now, Wt_know said:

yes! it’s pure business

let’s see who blink first 

Google and Facebook vs Morrison

if Google and FB blink ... many countries will follow ... huat ah!

if Morrison blink first ... nothing much la ... just said OZ is a friendly business country ... lol

Morrison will blink

6 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Morrison will blink

he kena blink gao gao by xjp for oz coal, beef and wine for questioning covid origin ... lol

3 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

he kena blink gao gao by xjp for oz coal, beef and wine for questioning covid origin ... lol

Hearsay OZ coal was exported to PRC via an intermediary country

17 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Hearsay OZ coal was exported to PRC via an intermediary country

not surprising! 

on the surface ... must argue argue abit ma

underlying ... PRC wants COAL ... OZ wants RMB ... lol

8 hours ago, Kb27 said:

Yup that what Google was telling Australia that what.. 

1 hour ago, Voodooman said:

Looks like Google blinked. If they didn't, we should be worried. 

big tech is getting way too powerful. 

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/business/australia-google-facebook-media-pay-deals-14199146

Microsoft was ready to step in. Google won't hand over the market on a platter to Bing. 

Edited by Volvobrick