Google says it will shut down search engine in Australia if forced to pay for news

kobayashiGT

1 hour ago, Vid said:

When will Straits Times force google to pay?

straits times so much stuff behind paywall... 

i wont even read ST articles if it's not my friends on whatsapp who have ST subscription cut and paste for us sometimes. 

7 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

straits times so much stuff behind paywall... 

i wont even read ST articles if it's not my friends on whatsapp who have ST subscription cut and paste for us sometimes. 

Ya... got CNA no need ST anyway

8 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

Microsoft was ready to step in. Google won't hand over the market on a platter to Bing. 

https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2021/feb/14/facebook-v-apple-the-looming-showdown-over-data-tracking-and-privacy

Apple vs FB... MS may benefit. 

I should be rooting for Apple but i think Apple is also getting way too powerful for anyone's good. 

Facebook starts to block liao....

Facebook blocks Australian users from viewing or sharing news

Australians woke up on Thursday to find the Facebook pages of all local and global news sites were unavailable. Facebook's move is in response to a proposed law in Australia which would make tech giants pay for news content.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-australia-56099523

12 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

It seems FB and not Morrison is facing a backlash from the Australian public.

This is popcorn worthy news.

The problem isn't that FB banned news outlets who are trying to charge them $$$.

The issue is that FB banned a lot of other pages like charities and govt organizations. What has that got to do with the news ban?

6 minutes ago, Kb27 said:

i don't understand why people want to get their news from fb. 

i just go to bbc, cna, cnn, or whatever

was going to say this😂

Lai lai lai...next better player   [laugh]

Canada vows to be next country to go after Facebook to pay for news

Canada vowed on Thursday (Feb 18) to make Facebook pay for news content, seeking allies in the media battle with tech giants and pledging not to back down if the social media platform shuts off the country's news as it did in Australia.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/world/canada-vows-next-country-facebook-to-pay-for-news-content-14232716

20 minutes ago, Didu said:

Lai lai lai...next better player   [laugh]

Canada vows to be next country to go after Facebook to pay for news

Canada vowed on Thursday (Feb 18) to make Facebook pay for news content, seeking allies in the media battle with tech giants and pledging not to back down if the social media platform shuts off the country's news as it did in Australia.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/world/canada-vows-next-country-facebook-to-pay-for-news-content-14232716

Best news... Hope big tech shut down in all these countries.

Well, without DT, now the ghosts have to fight among the ghosts. Isn't this very familiar even in our office environment?

Edited by Victor68

Two 3 yr old kids

FB: I don't fren you

Australia: Dun fren dun fren lor

FB: Ok lah I fren u again. We fren fren

Side track a bit.

I set my default search engine as google, but every few other days, the default search engine would be hijacked and becomes yahoo or bing.

Is my computer suffering from brain damage?

6 minutes ago, Albeniz said:

Side track a bit.

I set my default search engine as google, but every few other days, the default search engine would be hijacked and becomes yahoo or bing.

try to remove all the search engines that were injected to your browser ....

open chrome > menu > help > about > search engine > manage search engine > click the 3-dots and remove all the unwanted search engines

2021-07-02_085811.jpg

59 minutes ago, Albeniz said:

Side track a bit.

Kenna hijacked by Malware.

Go to Setting > Search Engine > Manage Search Engine.

Delete the weird looking 1