Some Singaporeans willing to pay more than $12,000 for a dog

kobayashiGT

14 minutes ago, Kxbc said:

I am surprised at the number of cat lovers and cat owners in this forum. We are typically the minority.

Err. There is an entire 15% of Singaporean demographic who only likes cats and are at best neutral to dogs. 

So no, i would argue it's the other way round locally. Just that no one walks their cats.

22 minutes ago, Kxbc said:

For me, any friendly dog also can, regardless of breed. I will surely pat it and ruffle their cheeks a little. But a lot depends on the owners too. Some of them are unfriendly even though their dogs are.

The best places to meet dogs are in the vet's office. 😀 Some dogs don't mind going to the vet at all. Tails always wagging.

I'm usually jogging without my mask. So even though my dog is socialising with the other dog, i try not to talk  [:p]

40 minutes ago, Kxbc said:

For me, any friendly dog also can, regardless of breed. I will surely pat it and ruffle their cheeks a little. But a lot depends on the owners too. Some of them are unfriendly even though their dogs are.

The best places to meet dogs are in the vet's office. 😀 Some dogs don't mind going to the vet at all. Tails always wagging.

Got plenty of chio bu there issit?😁

1B3F0651-531A-4F60-B5A2-A3036A4A7982.jpeg

15 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Err. There is an entire 15% of Singaporean demographic who only likes cats and are at best neutral to dogs. 

So no, i would argue it's the other way round locally. Just that no one walks their cats.

didn't know about pet ownership % in singapore so went to google it up. Dog ownership is still numero uno, followed by fish, then cats. But of course, those are based on surveys.

https://www.statista.com/statistics/1001965/singapore-pet-ownership-rate-by-pet-type/

34 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Actually I would say that 90% of people see the dog face.  Especially those who are naturally fearful of dogs. Chioh or good breed dogs, fear factor reduce +++.
Even most dog owners. 

There's only the true few % of people (usually dog owners) who don't mind any dog (as long as it's not harbouring any fleas/ticks which may spread to my own dog). 

talking about fear and psychology on dogs.

the more fearful you are of a dog, the more he will bark and antagonize you.  There was a neighborhood dog that would always bark and snarl at people walking by. One day, i walked by and sure enough, it barked and snarled at me.  I stared with rage hard into his eyes, without making any noise nor gesture and it quietened down and whimpered away within a matter of seconds.     

animal senses and instincts are sharp.   Man is also an animal

😄

38 minutes ago, Kxbc said:

I am surprised at the number of cat lovers and cat owners in this forum. We are typically the minority.

You know where I stand. 

22 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Ha! I do! Mine are bigger than toy dogs! 

11 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

Got plenty of chio bu there issit?😁

1B3F0651-531A-4F60-B5A2-A3036A4A7982.jpeg

I am only interested in their dogs, not the owners. I will just typically smile at them if their dogs approach me and if they acknowledge, I will then proceed to "molest" the dog's face. 😁 

45 minutes ago, Kxbc said:

not really ba?

i believe most ppl that love dogs will love cats too.

animals lovers after all. 

5 minutes ago, Mazdaowner said:

Ha! I do! Mine are bigger than toy dogs! 

I didn't know some of the smaller dogs weigh so little. Some can be only 2+kg, lighter than my lightest #3 which weighs 3+kg and is of a good body shape. My heaviest #6 is 5+kg already but she is 1kg overweight. 😥

2 minutes ago, Beregond said:

not really ba?

i think it really depends on the 2-legged. Some 2-leggeds are very biased. 

13 minutes ago, Kxbc said:

didn't know about pet ownership % in singapore so went to google it up. Dog ownership is still numero uno, followed by fish, then cats. But of course, those are based on surveys.

https://www.statista.com/statistics/1001965/singapore-pet-ownership-rate-by-pet-type/

Lol cats are illegal in HDB... ... Nobody is going to ownself baotoh ownself...

4 hours ago, Lala81 said:

hmmm most owners don't dump their dogs lah. It's part of the family. 

Having an emotional connection to another living creature (non human) is comforting. That's why people have pets. Or even like to keep plants.
Keeps us connected to the planet.

I would say someone young with a pet, 90% would know the word of sacrifice.
There aren't many places u can go if u bring your pet out. Sacrificing time to care for it. Even bring it out, almost always u have to dabao your meal after that.

Though I've dreamed of having a pet dog/cat, I never adopted one or allowed my son to have one. I don't feel that I'm committed enough nor have the extra resources to look after it well and give it a good life.

6 minutes ago, Kxbc said:

I didn't know some of the smaller dogs weigh so little. Some can be only 2+kg, lighter than my lightest #3 which weighs 3+kg and is of a good body shape. My heaviest #6 is 5+kg already but she is 1kg overweight. 😥

My late Coon reach 819kgs before he passed away, 6yrs old. Present ones, 3yrs old, 5-6kgs. 

1 hour ago, Kxbc said:

Like mine. Go vet very tnye with the (lady) vet and assistants.

5 minutes ago, Beregond said:

not really ba?

The only time i pet a cat is at a cat cafe in Seoul when i visited in 2017 and those that are openly friendly.
I've seen way too many cat inflicted scratches to assume otherwise.

Dogs are usually quite open book one lah. Unless 2 dogs are fighting. Almost all dog bites are because one dog is chasing another dog or one dog got too excited. Only once I saw a person got bitten when he exited a taxi in the sungei kadut area
But some dogs are not properly trained by their owners. 

14 minutes ago, Jellandross said:

Though I've dreamed of having a pet dog/cat, I never adopted one or allowed my son to have one. I don't feel that I'm committed enough nor have the extra resources to look after it well and give it a good life.

True. I think time to spend with the pet is the most important factor.
I sometimes feel guilty also.

My kids are in school, my wife and i got work/errands to run etc. Especially when there are whole day packed full of things like school, activities, then go for weekly visit back to parents etc.

8 minutes ago, Mazdaowner said:

My late Coon reach 819kgs before he passed away, 6yrs old. Present ones, 3yrs old, 5-6kgs. 

Maine Coons are known to be bigger as a breed so it's normal.