Toa Payoh fishmonger turns heads for dressing up & wearing make-up daily to sell fish at wet market

kobayashiGT

fishmonger1.jpg

source: https://mothership.sg/2021/01/toa-payoh-fishmonger-dress-up/

A fishmonger in Toa Payoh has been turning heads.

Lianhe Wanbao reported on January 31 about 37-year-old Huang Shu Ling, a fishmonger who has put in special effort to dress up and put on make-up to sell fish.

Huang sells fish at Toa Payoh Vista Market and Food Centre. According to the Chinese daily, Huang is also very proficient in her knife skills.

A reader took a video of Huang at the fish stall dressed in a red jumpsuit and bright hair accessories and sent it to Wanbao, adding that it was such an interesting sight.

Screenshot-2021-01-31-at-17.47.05.png

When the Chinese paper visited Huang, she said:

"Yes! I love to doll up to sell fish. It makes me happy and customers will also find it interesting."

Screenshot-2021-01-31-at-17.44.49.png

The paper observed that even though cutting and scaling fish is a very messy affair, Huang didn't seem to mind the mess at all. She said that simply washing her clothes when she gets home will ensure that the smell of raw fish won't linger.

Huang used to sell clothes in Tanjung Pinang, Indonesia. Four years ago, she decided to wind down her business and move to Singapore to sell fish.

The clothes that she wears are stock left over from her previous business.

She wakes up at 12 midnight every day and spends half an hour to dress up and put on her make-up before she heads to the Jurong Fishery Port to get her stock. Then, it is off to her Toa Payoh stall to work until the afternoon.

"Customers don't come to me just because of my appearance. Instead, they come to me because of my fair prices and fresh fish," she said.

I am going to toa payoh market to buy my fishes for CNY. 🤣🦈🦈🦈

• Haha! 11

13 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

You stay toa payoh ah bro? hahaha.

saw before, to be correct, its first stall at one of the middle rows. 

i buy yth from a stall behind this fish stall.

also eat puttu mayam at the coffee shop.

the famous lai heng mushroom noodles is also around there. 

big Giant branch across the road.

can or not ? :XD:

Edited by Blueray

What's there to see? Now somemore have to wear mask.

If you go online can see more skin from other women what. This is for the elderly unker who have no access to internet.

Go all the way to Tpy, mai lah. 

20 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

What's there to see? Now somemore have to wear mask.

If you go online can see more skin from other women what. This is for the elderly unker who have no access to internet.

Go all the way to Tpy, mai lah. 

You're discounting the effect of "potential access", even something that may be so wildly implausible it will almost never be realised. 

The same "potential access" is why short skirts are subconsciously sexier than even slightly shorter hotpants. 

In a non-sexual sense, that's pretty much also the difference between playing the lottery than rationally calculating the odds of actually winning big. 

卖鱼还是卖肉?

Now we know @kobayashiGT preference for lady... :D

ZtCaAE4.jpg

Sometime I am just wondering if these TPY fishmonger, Hong Lim beer lady, West Coast kway zhup are part of the plan for UNESCO heritage listing of our Hawker Centre? [rolleyes]

• Haha! 10

2 minutes ago, Carbon82 said:

卖鱼还是卖肉?

Now we know @kobayashiGT preference for lady... :D

ZtCaAE4.jpg

Sometime I am just wondering if these TPY fishmonger, Hong Lim beer lady, West Coast kway zhup are part of the plan for UNESCO heritage listing of our Hawker Centre? [rolleyes]

I go there for the fishes hor. haha.

1 hour ago, Blueray said:

saw before, to be correct, its first stall at one of the middle rows. 

i buy yth from a stall behind this fish stall.

also eat puttu mayam at the coffee shop.

the famous lai heng mushroom noodles is also around there. 

big Giant branch across the road.

can or not ? :XD:

Can. You are very frequent in toa payoh. hahaha. pass. pass.. . . hahaha

Not your typical fishmonger.

Just wondering.  Is Ms Huang an Indonesian, Singaporean or from China? 

Edited by Albeniz

This is actually pretty common in thailand, where you can often see chio milf dressed sexy and with makeup on, operating market stalls [laugh]

Trend is catching on here...

Must be innovative and always have competitive edge!