Abnormal sound from my car which generates sound when reverse time particularly breaking.

sanlynn

Hi ALL,
I'm seeking advice for abnormal sound my car generates.
In fact, car generating sound when reverse especially breaking time. ONLY REVERSE TIME!
No issue when moving forward or normal driving until 100KM/HR.

If 1 - 10 for honk level sound, the sound is pretty noisy @ 4 and worsening.

I believe, if something scratching break-disk or somewhere, sound should be heard when moving forward. But my case is different.
REVERSE - SOUND
FORWARD DRIVING - NO SOUND AT ALL - VERY SMOOTH 

Before I go & consult with mechanic, please share you experience on TEANA similar abnormal sound.

Thank you in advance.

Regards.   

MY CAR SPECIFICATION AND DATA.

Make/model
NISSAN / TEANA 2.0 XL CVT

Year of Manufacture:2015

Edited by sanlynn

reverse w/o braking have sound? if no then either brake disc or pad uneven wear. mine was braking going forward & after disc brake warmed up. the sound quite loud and other drivers looked at me at traffic stop.

@Watwheels
bro thanks for prompt response

Check with Borneo WShop supervisor, not need to change Pad 6 months ago.
Car Mileage total also - moderate to less drive within 5 years
No scratch(es) had been found on DISK SURFACE.
I was wondering and wandering . . . 

REAR WHEELS only having sound, not sure left or right wheel

Thank for your advice. 

Edited by sanlynn
info added

had the same issue previously (different car model, but symptoms the same, reverse have scratchy sound)

changed brake pads and issue was resolved.

On 2/4/2021 at 12:33 PM, sanlynn said:

@Watwheels
bro thanks for prompt response

Check with Borneo WShop supervisor, not need to change Pad 6 months ago.
Car Mileage total also - moderate to less drive within 5 years
No scratch(es) had been found on DISK SURFACE.
I was wondering and wandering . . . 

REAR WHEELS only having sound, not sure left or right wheel

Thank for your advice. 

I know why your car got sound, cos you went to the wrong workshop. You sent a Nissan to Borneo? 

BTW, your English gives me a headache. 

Likely the noise is caused by the rear brake pads.

Could be the brake pads harden over period of time if not changed before. If changed, recommend to use the original brake pads.

Try experimenting by sanding the brake pads surface and test. If the noise is gone(or lesser), that should be the problem.

On 2/7/2021 at 4:00 PM, Edge_sg said:

Likely the noise is caused by the rear brake pads.

Could be the brake pads harden over period of time if not changed before. If changed, recommend to use the original brake pads.

Try experimenting by sanding the brake pads surface and test. If the noise is gone(or lesser), that should be the problem.

Thanks, yes it was found that the reason was harden pads

Get someone to stand behind when you reversing to hear where the sound is coming from. Left or right and from where.

I can ask my MIL to help you and stand behind when you reversing.

Just drive faster a bit so she can hear clearly where the sound coming from.

My MIL can help you confirm it's harden pads.

Maybe reverse faster and brake later?

If cannot stop in time then chop confirm guaranteed it's the pads.

No point wasting money if the pads are still good right?

Best to be absolutely sure 100%.

Btw, does it sound like "Do-Re-Mi...Mi-Re-Do...Do-Re-Mi...Mi-Re-Do"?  If yes, I can probably help you.:grin:

On 2/6/2021 at 11:43 PM, Toeknee_33 said:

I know why your car got sound, cos you went to the wrong workshop. You sent a Nissan to Borneo? 

Wahahaa.....speak headache engrish to a wrong workshop?

On 2/6/2021 at 11:43 PM, Toeknee_33 said:

Pardon TS.

A look at the keyboard letter 'n' right next 'b'. Probably typo.

22 minutes ago, Kopites said:

Pardon TS.

A look at the keyboard letter 'n' right next 'b'. Probably typo.

Honest mistake. But I learnt something new today

I so oso gotta be careful. Keyboard letter A is next to S. I might type wrongly and show up at Sssssangyong to fix my car

13 minutes ago, mikk123 said:

go and look for a mechanic for advice. Here are all old uncles good at talking cock😁

Therein lies the problem. He went to Borneo mechanic to ask how to solve Nissan problem

Not unker anyhow tok kok one hor

28 minutes ago, Soya said:

Therein lies the problem. He went to Borneo mechanic to ask how to solve Nissan problem

Not unker anyhow tok kok one hor

Another possibility.... TS is from East Malaysia. Borneo mechanic literally is mechanic from Borneo!

1 hour ago, mikk123 said:

Maybe he should have gone to Kah Motor? or maybe Performance motor?  🤣

Cannot.

Go to KM, they might say the noise is from the Vtec (yo!)

Go to PML, they might say it sounds like a turn signal - but cannot be spoilt coz BMW owners dun use one.........