Sinovac arrives in SG, selected clinics allowed to administer vaccine at a fee

Ender

6 minutes ago, CremornePt said:

My concern is, if they take the decision to shut down for a full year so easily & vaccines don't seem to affect their risk tolerance, it's perfectly plausible they'll shut down borders for 3-5 years, or however many years it'll take before global infection levels are truly suppressed.

so long as the whole world keep letting the flames run amok, it is not safe. why would sg want to keep on bto? own people already under water still want to bto

5 hours ago, Sosaria said:

Good for them to be decisive and since they are pretty much self-sufficient due to their size and population, why not?

It may seem like a steep price, but for that, their people can live almost normal life, crowd tourist spots, enjoy night-life, even go around mask-less.

Whereas here we are locally, still keeping the masks on, even for outdoors, zero night-life, and two per table [laugh]

I guess if we increase back to 8 pax and allow more activities, the spike in community cases will come back again. Seems like there is no end in sg?! Looks like we cannot open up and relax on measures and yet can control the covid situation on low cases?

21 minutes ago, Nolicense said:

so long as the whole world keep letting the flames run amok, it is not safe. why would sg want to keep on bto? own people already under water still want to bto

Just noting that SG currently keeps an open border for China arrivals (ex Guangdong), but it's a lopsided relationship for us if we can't go there for the next 5 years.

6 minutes ago, CremornePt said:

Just noting that SG currently keeps an open border for China arrivals (ex Guangdong), but it's a lopsided relationship for us if we can't go there for the next 5 years.

loop sided nevermind. trouble is pap keep bringing in positive cases. and then blame locals. 

not say locals is beh kan. but indeed they are beh kan. but since pap claim they got world class system RBA, see how they handle lor.

see all the people who affected the most still continue vote them. mostly hawker, taxi, phv, f&b, heartland shops/malls. grab delivery sure happy. very busy.

19 hours ago, Kb27 said:

This is about Sinopharm, but since they are using the same "traditional" vaccine..

Hard to find antibodies after 2 jabs..

Hungary’s Sinopharm Controversy Gaining Heat Over Low Antibody Tests

After five months of use in Hungary, there is still controversy surrounding the Chinese Sinopharm vaccine. While the government continues to promote its efficacy, many people are taking matters into their own hands, finding that two inoculations do not always lead to the development of antibodies. Semmelweis University rector Béla Merkely continues to defend the vaccine, but the criticism is rapidly increasing.

Since its establishment, the private Facebook group called “Vaccinated with Sinopharm with Negative Laboratory Test Results,” has grown to host five thousand members. The organization continues to call for government officials or health experts to do something about the lack of antibodies they have after two vaccinations with Sinopharm.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.nytimes.com/2021/06/22/business/economy/china-vaccines-covid-outbreak.amp.html

questions about effectiveness of chinese vaccines ..

all these are spiteful foreign powers that try to undermine and sabotage China. China wan sui wan sui wan wan sui.

9 minutes ago, Singa said:

all the foreign powers, so bad, always try to undermine China. always remember 100 years of humiliation by foreign powers. see China is peaceful nation, never bully, cheat, con or humiliate other countries one 🤣

how can Chinese vaccine be ineffective when there are so many believers in it, so many people in SG that did not went through the brain-washing party education also has faith in it what, so must be very good leh.

next time don't anyhow post image le ah. If you naughty naughty then the whole world will know. hehe. 😈

I fulfilled your request, your image is deleted from the database. 🙂

2 hours ago, Singa said:

all the foreign powers, so bad, always try to undermine China. always remember 100 years of humiliation by foreign powers. see China is peaceful nation, never bully, cheat, con or humiliate other countries one 🤣

how can Chinese vaccine be ineffective when there are so many believers in it, so many people in SG that did not went through the brain-washing party education also has faith in it what, so must be very good leh.

Someone wrote to Prof. Jin with regards to his interview with NY Times. 

Chinese vaccines aren't ineffective. It is less effective than mRNA like BioNTech and Moderna but that doesn't mean it is ineffective. Inferior compared to mRNA doesn't mean it is completely useless. These are straight facts from actual experts on this subject matter.

We are in a privileged position with choices between BioNTech, Moderna and we don't even have to directly pay a cent. Poor countries have no choice. They can scream that they hate CCP but still face the reality between choosing Sinovac or nothing.

Finally, nobody will be speaking to NY Times Wee Sui Lee if she carries on writing in ways that mislead the public including you.

20210623_193412.thumb.jpg.cd55e94a03308072029ce158c13b9c08.jpg

20210623_193414.thumb.jpg.2f12cc71ffafa042c8a5c1a23dd4c5d1.jpg

20210623_193416.thumb.jpg.f3fe8e565d95ac62f8b1231c0ea8f82d.jpg

20210623_193421.thumb.jpg.c1519bbb9f06d076c7905b306be47b60.jpg

17 minutes ago, Singa said:

So you are unhappy with the word ineffective, but agree that Sinovac is less effective?

All approved vaccine should to a large extent prevent severe symptoms and death, so this is not something Sinovac can use for boasting.

The important thing is is it as effective at preventing infection?

I mean it's the internet. Anyone is allowed to have an opinion these days.

You do you.

I say that Sinovac is inferior compared to mRNA vaccines but it's not ineffective.

For you to shit on Sinovac when most of the developing world have got no alternatives? What's your motive? Own the commies so you can sleep well at night? So that people not vaccinating and have less chances of survival?

1 hour ago, Singa said:

You seem to like to put words into people's mouth. I agree that it is still useful for developing countries who have less choices.

To you, if vaccine is 50% effective, then cannot use the word ineffective.

To me, if the vaccine cannot flatten the curve for the countries that uses it, then I call it ineffective (think Chile/Seychelles).

If you are not happy with people criticizing Sinovac, then it's too bad. Get them to produce better vaccine. 

For you to criticise it as less effective would be a fair statement. For you to call it ineffective as if those governments purchasing Chinese vaccines can't make proper judgment on such matters?

So my question to our MyCarForum vaccine expert Singa, what are the alternatives to developing countries beside using "ineffective" Chinese vaccines?

Edited by Vinyl

13 hours ago, Jellandross said:

Alan so helpful to his Chinese national friend who works in beauty industry 

Monday got chairs and orderly manner, this morning (Thursday)....... like gathering for a party! where the social distancing!!! 😂😭😭😳😳

03fe2951-c839-4676-adc5-c8d0e093ef2e.JPG

Edited by D3badge

sinovac, sinopharm and other inactivated virus vaccine is like the old analog, fixed, difficult to change when encountering new variants.

mRNA is like new age digital, easy to reprogram and change. 😄

The problem is that there will always have people who is die hard China supporter no matter how hard government and or others tried to convince them to take mRNA vaccine, they die die will not want to take but China vaccine. Then there will also have people who will be very spectical on mRNA vaccine and have very strong mindset that no means no, and no matter how much government and others tried to convince them that it is safe and etc.. it's of no use.. no means no.

Like that there will have a certain number of people will die die not take mRNA vaccine. Like that how? So I feel that we should diversify like now we have 200k sinovac vaccine.. so that means there is high chance that those die die do not want to take mRNA vaccine but okay to take sinovac, they would take and that would increase the population as a whole to get vaccinated. If say the response of sinovac is good, perhaps government and or clinic could order more. This diversification of vaccine could led to more people take vaccine be it mRNA or other type. Yes it is not as effective as mRNA vaccine, but then it is still better then nothing as compared to those die hard stubborn type.. at least these people would have some form of protection also..

13 minutes ago, Kb27 said:

sinovac, sinopharm and other inactivated virus vaccine is like the old analog, fixed, difficult to change when encountering new variants.

This is absolutely not true. The flu vaccine, which uses inactivated virus, is updated annually.

20 minutes ago, Kb27 said:

Whether it is mRNA or not, it's clear booster shots are required.

Screenshot_20210624_100510.thumb.jpg.01bd638bd476806e8227ce8f3c868c9f.jpg

Israel 56.9% of population vaccinated

Screenshot_20210624_100142.thumb.jpg.2eceab42116a950e03fd2533a51c2b92.jpg

Screenshot_20210624_100240_com.android.chrome_edit_741637229380064.thumb.jpg.b2d8d299530958a96c2aaebdc9027a79.jpg

Source: https://www.haaretz.com/amp/israel-news/israel-sees-highest-covid-daily-infections-in-two-months-as-delta-variant-spreads-1.9928700

Edited by Vinyl

22 hours ago, Vinyl said:

Whether it is mRNA or not, it's clear booster shots are required.

Screenshot_20210624_100510.thumb.jpg.01bd638bd476806e8227ce8f3c868c9f.jpg

russia also see a high surge in infection. needless to say its the delta variant

so far no vaccine seem to be doing well against this😐

11 hours ago, Beregond said:

russia also see a high surge in infection. needless to say its the delta variant

so far no vaccine seem to be doing well against this😐

Think a few more weeks (we already have some preliminary data), we should have better statistics from countries that use both type of vaccines, Sinovax and Pfizer/ Moderna, on those who were fully vaccinated yet infected with Delta variants AND are / were hospitalized. 

That will be the litmus test. 

If both type of vaccines do not prevent people from serious symptoms, then we are truly fxxked. 

Edited by Voodooman