S’pore to stop diesel car, taxi registrations, have 8 ‘EV-ready towns’ including Bedok, Punggol, Queenstown by 2025

Dinofied

4 hours ago, inlinesix said:

For Taxi, it will be charged in depot just like buy petrol in depot now.

For PHV, just charge the car during your downtime.

You say like easy hor.. you never drive taxi and phv.. so you just don't understand..

The downtime = to go home time.. taxi also got their own home leh. Why they want to waste time waiting to charge full before going home? What about 2 shift driver?1 shift already clocked say 350km. So battery maybe left 1/4 or less.. need charge the if slow charge need 3 hrs to charge full? Like that how to have 2 shift driver?

No one ever thought of power bank? Waiting for some company to produce some sort of power bank good for recharging EV. 😁

Like our handphone. 

Bu the way those handheld battery jumper (suitcase size) does it work the same way? Any electrical engineer here. Hahaha

4 hours ago, Mustank said:

Fight fight fight :grin:

Don't forget the car scratching, video each other arguing, sabo unplug, etc

Stomp gonna get a whole lotta new content soon.....lol

35 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

You say like easy hor.. you never drive taxi and phv.. so you just don't understand..

The downtime = to go home time.. taxi also got their own home leh. Why they want to waste time waiting to charge full before going home? What about 2 shift driver?1 shift already clocked say 350km. So battery maybe left 1/4 or less.. need charge the if slow charge need 3 hrs to charge full? Like that how to have 2 shift driver?

Good luck to you if you don't change your mindset.

You will be impacted more than me.

25 minutes ago, Kopites said:

No one ever thought of power bank? Waiting for some company to produce some sort of power bank good for recharging EV. 😁

Like our handphone. 

Bu the way those handheld battery jumper (suitcase size) does it work the same way? Any electrical engineer here. Hahaha

Elon Musk thought about it

https://www.tesla.com/powerwall?redirect=no

With all these 5 or sub 5 sec century sprint cars zooming around. No where on or near the road is safe. Driving test needs to be re-look and car have to be de-tune for some drivers.

just like how our Nokias used to last 5 days a pump and current phones can only last one day instead, is this how we are "advancing" with cars? everyone will be scrambling to charge their cars, everyday. 

jialat, to conserve the battery life should we only charge when it hits 20% and rush out to unplug it once it is fully charged? 

and i think oyk has found the silver bullet to removing the causeway jam. No one will dare to drive across anymore and no more driving to KL in a day.

3 hours ago, Didu said:

Before our 4G leaders think about such green initiatives, someone called Ho something with exceptional foresight already say little red dot needs to go nuclear. Apparently, many politicians hear already balls shrink. 

I hear her name also balls shrunk. 

Queen of Gamblers, buy high sell low. 

Nuclear her head la, the nuclear waste and byproduct want to bury where? Under 38 Oxley? 

• Haha! 8

15 minutes ago, Lethalstrike said:

I hear her name also balls shrunk. 

Queen of Gamblers, buy high sell low. 

Nuclear her head la, the nuclear waste and byproduct want to bury where? Under 38 Oxley? 

Don't like that say lah... Sometimes they buy low also. 

And sell lower! 

3 hours ago, Soya said:

Yes hope the system is smart enough to do that

But knowing how self-entitled n unreasonable some mofos can be, they'll probably unplug to prevent the system from charging them $$....but leave the EV parked there anyway coz couldn't be bothered to look for a new parking lot

As far as i know, Punggol carpark will be the first without gantries, smart carpark.

Using CCTV all around to monitor space. So they can actually also detect those car who is not charging and parking at the lot, if they want.

3 hours ago, Kopites said:

Like our handphone. 

Powerbank dump its charge from a bigger battery to a smaller battery. To do this for EV, you'll need at least double the capacity to dump it into the battery. And then you need to charge that 
"powerbank" again. The electrical source is still from an AC/generator etc.

Battery jumper just pump current for a few seconds to start your engine.

EV batteries must hold and provide charge for over 300km. Big difference.

7 hours ago, inlinesix said:

Good luck to you if you don't change your mindset.

You will be impacted more than me.

Not mindset, it's when people are faced with frustration of cannot find charging lot. You still don't get it? Like some mentioned there will have a lot of drivers will park and charge the car while night even when the car battery is say 70% full..

5 hours ago, Kb27 said:

Powerbank dump its charge from a bigger battery to a smaller battery. To do this for EV, you'll need at least double the capacity to dump it into the battery. And then you need to charge that 
"powerbank" again. The electrical source is still from an AC/generator etc.

Battery jumper just pump current for a few seconds to start your engine.

EV batteries must hold and provide charge for over 300km. Big difference.

Theoretically Tesla power wall can do that. But you can’t carry it around 

1 hour ago, Yewheng said:

Not mindset, it's when people are faced with frustration of cannot find charging lot. You still don't get it? Like some mentioned there will have a lot of drivers will park and charge the car while night even when the car battery is say 70% full..

Whether I get what you say or not is no longer important, EV is the direction now.

You have to find ways to adapt to this change to make a living.

1 hour ago, inlinesix said:

Whether I get what you say or not is no longer important, EV is the direction now.

You have to find ways to adapt to this change to make a living.

Not exactly true... If people can't or refuse to adapt, then that's where all the "out of the box" thinking comes along and you see shenanigans coming from people, e.g:

- Unplugging charger to stop their cars from being charged excessive costs

- Hogging/fighting over charging points

- Unplugging charging cables from other vehicle's as deliberate act or out of frustration (for whatever reasons) 

I know you said in the other EV thread for us all to "adapt or die trying" - but you and I jolly well know that's not what usually happens. 

There will be discontent brewing and people venting their frustrations like the road rage videos we get from Facebook groups on a daily basis. 

Here we are, discussing the likely outcome of Singapore's EV future, but you are refusing to acknowledge the facts as it is presented to us at this very moment.

The EV plan has a high chance of failure at this current moment.