S’pore to stop diesel car, taxi registrations, have 8 ‘EV-ready towns’ including Bedok, Punggol, Queenstown by 2025

Dinofied

13 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

3 pointed star means arrived? What a joke. No Bentley or Aston no arrival nowadays lah! 

Yes, it means arrived, to take patient to hospital. Bentley and Aston don't make ambulances yet :D

On 3/6/2021 at 9:25 PM, Vinceng said:

*Why Electric Vehicles (EVs) are more pollutive than petrol & diesel vehicles*

Environmentally... EVs are very pollutive on the front end and the rear end which many do not see.

Just look at how china mines for the rare raw minerals, how many people's health were affected.

And to India which is now the major player to take in all the used batteries, it is a health disaster waiting to happen.

China now exports the old batteries instead of doing it themselves (they were the previous major player in battery recycling) due to the pollution it does to its environment.

So I cannot understand why the government is jumping on the band wagen without seeing the whole BIG picture. 🖼

The government is being forced to react as all automakers are committed in the switch to EVs, some even going for a full EV lineup within the next 10 years. 

Anyway, if your country has signed the Paris Agreement (which we did as almost everyone else on this planet), you will have to buy in the whole EV "reduce CO2" she-bang. Unless we are Sudan, Yemen, Iraq or the US (withdrawn during Trump's administration, now back in under Biden's), we had to change whether we like it or not. 

While doubts remained about the huge environmental impact from mining, the same can also be said for crude oil extraction that has happened for decades. It can be said it's worse as we messed around with marine life as we drill into the sea beds, in addition to land extraction. 

What's got everyone onto this EV bandwagon is that politicians and governing bodies are keen to reduce CO2 from the exhaust pipes because that will make everyone look good and it's politically correct, while the harmful effects from the upstream side are being sidelined because there's real money to be made from extraction. We don't even need to look that far, just look at PT Vale from Indonesia, they are already rubbing their hands gleefully in anticipation of the increasing demand from nickel mining. 

Bottom line is that there's billions to be made from the "green movement", it's either you are part of it or you are at risk of being thoroughly sidelined with political repercussions. 

Edited by Lethalstrike

On 7 March, 2021 at 7:45 PM, Comage said:

Don't even need fresh grad 2-3 years later... still studying can already - just slap on the PHV label and can do!

Seen before many youngsters with gfs - driving 1 of the 3 famous brands of German conti cars, but actually the windshield got PHV label one... One look and can see is still undergraduate - some still sport the botak hairstyle just booked-out for the weekend some more!

TRUE true, i had seen too, thy look smart and hung ho, I was wondering how on earth this young guns so " Sat kee " no wonder la [laugh]

20 hours ago, Tjkbeluga said:

Siao liao, more long term slump for northern neighbour.

I cry for SPC’s $92.7mand Shell’s $64m.  30 years lease, luckily can convert to build condo. 😂

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/spc-bids-record-927m-for-bt-batok-petrol-station-site

https://theindependent.sg/hdb-fetches-record-price-of-64-million-for-petrol-station-land-plot/