2022 Kia EV6

Carbon82

8 hours ago, MafiaGeek said:

more like 200k+ since OMV for ioniq 5 already around 70-80k

How do you know the Ioniq 5's OMV? It's not even here yet...

@inlinesix this EV6 turns out to be aiming at the Taycan leh...

Kia EV6 Debuts With A Porsche Taycan Beating 0-62 MPH Time Of 3.5 Seconds

kia_ev6_gt_06c504bc097706fd.jpg

kia_ev6_gt_7_0935083b09c6076d.jpg

kia_ev6_gt_4_0729072e10d90b6e.jpg

kia_ev6_gt_5_0bde08d9060f0496.jpg

kia_ev6_gt_59.jpg

kia_ev6_gt_65.jpg

kia_ev6_gt_9.jpg

What accelerates from 0-62 mph (0-100 km/h) in 3.5 seconds and has an 800V charging capability? If you guessed the Porsche Taycan, you’d be wrong as those impressive specs belong to the all-new Kia EV6.

Based on the company’s first dedicated electric vehicle platform, the EV6 is a revolutionary vehicle and the “embodiment of the new Kia.”

That’s clearly visible from the outside as the EV6 adopts the company’s new “Opposites United” design philosophy. It’s supposed to evoke “positive forces and natural energy” while also incorporating “contrasting combinations of sharp stylistic elements and sculptural shapes.”

Corporate speak aside, the EV6 has a stylish exterior with a slender grille that is flanked by distinctive headlights featuring sequential elements. Further below, there’s an aerodynamic bumper with a rectangular intake and small vertical slats at the outside edges.

While the front end is interesting, the profile really stands out as the model has a short hood and streamlined bodywork. Blacked out A-pillars help to visually expand the greenhouse, while an upward sweeping line emphasizes the car’s length.

Those aren’t the only notable styling features as the EV6 has a ‘floating’ roof and an upper rear spoiler that wraps around the sides of the vehicle. The latter channels air to the lower spoiler, which acts as an extension of the car’s flowing taillights.

In terms of size, the EV6 measures 4,680mm long, 1,880mm wide and 1,550mm tall, with a wheelbase that spans 2,900mm. This makes it 119mm shorter,  20mm narrower and 145mm lower than the Sorento. Despite this, the EV6’s wheelbase is 86mm longer than the seven-seat crossover.

The unique styling continues in the cabin as drivers will find a minimalist dashboard that is topped by a 12-inch digital instrument cluster and a 12-inch infotainment system with curved displays. The company didn’t say much about them, but the infotainment system has Kia Connect technology that allows for over-the-air updates and real-time services.  As a result, owners can find nearby charging stations, monitor their charging status and see their current range.

Other highlights include a two-spoke steering wheel, futuristic switchgear and an augmented reality head-up display. The model can also be equipped with a 14-speaker Meridian audio system that has “Active Sound Design” technology, which is an artificial noise generator that adjusts to the vehicle speed.

Elsewhere, the EV6 has a floating center console and yellow accents.  The model also has “relaxation seats,” which are lightweight and covered in fabrics created using recycled plastics.

The generous wheelbase allows for a spacious interior and an accommodating cargo compartment that holds up to 520 liters of luggage. That can be expanded to approximately 1,300 liters by folding the rear seats down. If you need more room, the frunk offers up to 52 liters of space on European variants while North American models are limited to 20 liters.

On the safety front, there are an assortment of driver assistance systems such as Lane Following Assist, Safe Exit Assist, Remote Smart Parking Assist and Highway Driving Assist 2. The latter effectively combines adaptive cruise control with a lane centering function, while also enabling drivers to change lanes with a simple tap of the indicator.

The EV6 will be offered in a variety of configurations as there are standard and long range batteries as well as rear- and all-wheel drive.

Kicking things off is a 58 kWh standard range battery, which powers a rear-mounted motor that produces 168 hp (125 kW / 170 PS) and 258 lb-ft (350 Nm) of torque. The all-wheel drive variant gains a second electric motor which gives the model a combined output of 232 hp (173 kW / 235 PS) and 446 lb-ft (605 Nm) of torque. This enables the EV6 to accelerate from 0-62 mph (0-100 km/h) in as little as 6.2 seconds.

Upgrading to the 77.4 kWh battery rewards buyers with longer ranges and a more powerful electric motor that develops 225 hp (168 kW / 228 PS) and 258 lb-ft (350 Nm) of torque. The all-wheel drive variant boosts that output to 321 hp (239 kW / 325 PS) and 446 lb-ft (605 Nm) of torque. This enables it to run from 0-62 mph (0-100 km/h) in as little as 5.2 seconds and have a range in excess of 316 miles (510 km) in the WLTP combined cycle.

Sitting at the top of the range is the EV6 GT, which is available exclusively with all-wheel drive and the long range battery. It has a combined output of 577 hp (430 kW / 585 PS) and 546 lb-ft (740 Nm) of torque. That’s pretty impressive and it allows the vehicle to accelerate from 0-62 mph (100 km/h) in a Porsche Taycan 4S-beating 3.5 seconds.

The EV6 rides on the new E-GMP platform and features 400V and 800V charging capabilities. This enables it to go from a 10 to 80 percent charge in just 18 minutes. If you’re short on time, the rear-wheel drive long range EV6 can be given 62 miles (100 km) of range in less than four and a half minutes.

In order to maximize ranges, the EV6 has been equipped with an energy-efficient heat pump that scavenges waste heat from the car’s coolant system. This enables the model to have 80% of the range it would at 77° F (25° C) when temperatures drop to 19° F (-7° C).

Drivers will also find a smart regenerative braking system with six different levels of recuperation, ranging from none to one-pedal driving. There are also has paddle ‘shifters’ that allow drivers to “quickly and easily slow the car and recuperate kinetic energy to maximize driving range and efficiency.”

The EV6 has an integrated charging control unit that allows for a vehicle-to-load function. While that doesn’t sound too exciting, it effectively turns the model into a giant battery which can supply energy to other things. As an example, the EV6 could power an air conditioner and a 55-inch television for more than 24 hours during an outage. The model can also be used to charge another electric vehicle, giving stranded motorists enough juice to get to a nearby charging station.

Kia also took towing into consideration as the EV6 can move items weighing up to 3,527 lbs (1,600 kg). This means it can be used to tow your camper, trailer or boat as long as the battery has more than a 35% charge.

If you keep your foot planted on the accelerator, the EV6 GT should eventually hit a targeted top speed of 260 km/h. Besides going fast, the model has a range of 405 km and electronic limited slip differential software that promises to deliver dynamic ride and handling characteristics.

The top of the line EV6 GT with performances matching the Porsche Taycan would not come cheap (probably >$250K if it ever land in Singapore), but a good attempt by Kia (and Hyundai group as a whole) in venturing into the high performance EV category. A top speed of 260Km/h is one of the faster so far and worth shouting about.

Kia Reports 33,000 EV6 'Prospects' In Europe And Opens Orders.

https://insideevs.com/news/505278/kia-33000-ev6-prospects-europe/

Kia EV6 Got Over 21,000 Reservations On The First Day In Korea.

https/insideevs.com/news/498308/kia-ev6-21000-reservations-korea/

Let's pray that C&C KIA SG bring in standard EV6, GT Line and GT Line S for 2022 inline with 2022 EV cars rebate scheme.

KIA EV6 UK variant/trims which is RHD, the standard EV6 £40895 only cost SGD$76121, so cheap. We can only wish for this kind of price in our dreams. 

kia-ev6-offer-uk-20210504.jpg

Edited by Fellows

3 hours ago, Fellows said:

Kia Reports 33,000 EV6 'Prospects' In Europe And Opens Orders.

https://insideevs.com/news/505278/kia-33000-ev6-prospects-europe/

Kia EV6 Got Over 21,000 Reservations On The First Day In Korea.

https/insideevs.com/news/498308/kia-ev6-21000-reservations-korea/

Let's pray that C&C KIA SG bring in standard EV6, GT Line and GT Line S for 2022 inline with 2022 EV cars rebate scheme.

KIA EV6 UK variant/trims which is RHD, the standard EV6 £40895 only cost SGD$76121, so cheap. We can only wish for this kind of price in our dreams. 

kia-ev6-offer-uk-20210504.jpg

in UK... 320i M sport is cheaper than 40k Euro.

means this EV will be selling in SG for around 200k for the standard EV6, before the rebate.

if 150-160k for this EV, still good? or u rather get harrier etc?

17 hours ago, Dannnn said:

in UK... 320i M sport is cheaper than 40k Euro.

means this EV will be selling in SG for around 200k for the standard EV6, before the rebate.

if 150-160k for this EV, still good? or u rather get harrier etc?

A bit moot if you can't charge the car right? Most of us don't stay in landed property... how many HDB car parks have charging points? And out of all the charging points in Singapore, which ones have that 800 W charger that can top up 100 km in 5 min... so are you going km sit in the car for a few hours to top up then drive home or take public transport home after leaving the car there and going back in the dead of the night to retrieve the car? Simply impractical for the every day man like me...

Come on KIA SG, bring this baby here, the standard, long range and GT-Line will do! Obviously you need to bring in the facelift KIA K3 first. 

Edited by Fellows

On 6/4/2021 at 12:47 PM, Fellows said:

Come on KIA SG, bring this baby here, the standard, long range and GT-Line will do! Obviously you need to bring in the facelift KIA K3 first. 

Who will buy this? Only those with landed property who can fit a charger point lor...

@teomingern actually when we have more charging point like maybe in malls, or charging station with cafe for chilling, or even blue sg port, all can share and there is universal charging port and if nee than go fast charge station using their fast charge pin. 

Edited by Fellows

On 7/2/2021 at 9:19 PM, Fellows said:

@teomingern actually when we have more charging point like maybe in malls, or charging station with cafe for chilling, or even blue sg port, all can share and there is universal charging port and if nee than go fast charge station using their fast charge pin. 

My issue is if you plug in and charge, then your car is done, will you come back to move your car? If no, then how will someone else charge? You're chilling it the cafe, I think not many will be willing to go to the car park after 1 hour just to move the car to keep the charging space free? Same same for HDB car park or any other charging space right? Especially at night in a HDB car park or condo car park, you plug in, you go home and sleep, next morning you unplug and use the car... but in between a neighbour comes home and desperately needs to top up his car's battery, but your car is in the space, and your car is fully charged already... so how?

So unless each parking space has a charger, I think there will be a lot of friction over such matters... now all around the world, you don't really have this problem cos electric cars are still a miniscule proportion of vehicles on the road but it will grow more acute when there are many more cars than charging station spaces...

Edited by teomingern

8 minutes ago, teomingern said:

My issue is if you plug in and charge, then your car is done, will you come back to move your car? If no, then how will someone else charge? You're chilling it the cafe, I think not many will be willing to go to the car park after 1 hour just to move the car to keep the charging space free? Same same for HDB car park or any other charging space right? Especially at night in a HDB car park or condo car park, you plug in, you go home and sleep, next morning you unplug and use the car... but in between a neighbour comes home and desperately needs to top up his car's battery, but your car is in the space, and your car is fully charged already... so how?

So unless each parking space has a charger, I think there will be a lot of friction over such matters... now all around the world, you don't really have this problem cos electric cars are still a miniscule proportion of vehicles on the road but it will grow more acute when there are many more cars than charging station spaces...

its time based charging...so if you dont want to move your car after charging then you just have to pay more for nothing...