2021 Avante (New) VS 2017 Harrier Turbo G (Used) 100k ish Budget

jonbaekis00

Car shopping time ! But really cant make up my mind to get which of the above

I know the main difference is power but be very honest nowdays cant go to bolehland... i feel can live without it... Prev Gs450h locally never press past 110 anyway... 

Just some thoughts about each car

Avante CN7 2021 1.6A Elite ($96,999?)

- PRO I have not purchase new car b4. might be a good experience ...😂

- PRO Fuel Consumption from what i hear is 15-18km/L sounds good !

- PRO Interior is quite beautiful.. esp elite model w white leather

-CON Premium 33%.... What? = ARF only 6k

- CON Poor specced vs Korea model

- CON Questionable reliability (Especially IVT)

Harrier G-Grade Turbo 2.0T ($108k+-?)

- PRO Toyota reliability (hopefully, i was scalded by lexus once😂) and resale value

- PRO not tried yet but i heard the soundproofing is almost lexus like. as a previous lexus owner i surely miss NVH 

- PRO Although looks older but comes w nappa leather and interior build quality inside seems pretty good !

- CON Loses out on cost for petrol, insurance, road tax vs the avante (esp petrol n insurance)

- CON Infotainment screen.. WOW! a trip back to 2005

- CON its used vs new, not sure how big of a difference it would make. 

Harrier turbo owners please advice about the infotainment screen, sound system (stock), FC , NVH and etc... love to hear your thoughts 

Anyway safe driving bros 

Jon !

Given your less than stellar track record with picking the right used car (XF with a dud gearbox) and the lack of ability to maintain one (cooking your GS450h engine), you might be better off with a new car and a long warranty. 

• Haha! 9

How come more and more noobs come here with such random picks and ask ppl which one would you pick?

Got some special deal is it? Buy 1-for-1 offer? Or COE drop a lot? Or COE going to drop a lot?

• Haha! 7

5 hours ago, jonbaekis00 said:

Car shopping time ! But really cant make up my mind to get which of the above

I know the main difference is power but be very honest nowdays cant go to bolehland... i feel can live without it... Prev Gs450h locally never press past 110 anyway... 

Actually its not about the speed. Its how much effort required to get to that speed. Bigger CC and turbo, effortlessly. 

You really need to test drive to see if you can get used to it.

If it were me, Harrier between these 2 choices.

This is not an apple to apple comparison. Hard to choose thou.

Give me I will get the Avante. It is just a vehicle to travel from pt A to pt B.

Which car give you the wow factor longer? Your call. 

So long the used car is under agent warranty, its done for me. If PI,  think hard and long. 

1 hour ago, kobayashiGT said:

This is not an apple to apple comparison. Hard to choose thou.

Give me I will get the Avante. It is just a vehicle to travel from pt A to pt B.

So say the owner of type R .. just for going from pt A to Pt B 😂 

39 minutes ago, Hamburger said:

Which car give you the wow factor longer? Your call. 

So long the used car is under agent warranty, its done for me. If PI,  think hard and long. 

There’s not many wow factor at this price bracket.. most just go for BAF syndrome.. buy n forget.. with a viewpoint of buying a fridge or a washing machine.. as long as it does the job and don’t give complications can Liao 

No disrespect to Avante owners. It's a good car for it's class

But if TS is used to owning a Jag, Lexus.....the novelty of owning a new Avante will wear off within a year. Even the Harrier will be 'unsatisfying' 

Juz saying 

59 minutes ago, Soya said:

No disrespect to Avante owners. It's a good car for it's class

But if TS is used to owning a Jag, Lexus.....the novelty of owning a new Avante will wear off within a year. Even the Harrier will be 'unsatisfying' 

Juz saying 

According to his past posts, his XF purchase was aborted cos the car he picked was eventually diagnosed with a dud gearbox. So he didn't actually own a Jag. 

Just to clarify. 

36 minutes ago, Toeknee_33 said:

According to his past posts, his XF purchase was aborted cos the car he picked was eventually diagnosed with a dud gearbox. So he didn't actually own a Jag. 

Just to clarify. 

Ok lah...but it's an indication of 'aspiration'

34 minutes ago, Soya said:

Ok lah...but it's an indication of 'aspiration'

Totally understand where you are coming from. Many years ago, I got sick and tired of maintaining my 3L Xantia and exchanged it for something else in a lower category (cos no enuf mulah), while consoling myself that its a new car and would be trouble-free. I got sick and tired of the new car in 6 months.

In TS's case, he is exchanging "newness of car" with "class of car", so I assume the driving aspirations has kinda taken a back seat.

For example, for the price of a new Avante, you can buy a renewed-COE 535i.

Edited by Toeknee_33

4 minutes ago, Toeknee_33 said:

Totally understand where you are coming from. Many years ago, I got sick and tired of maintaining my 3L Xantia and exchanged it for something else in a lower category, while consoling myself that its a new car and would be trouble-free. I got sick and tired of the new car in 6 months.

In TS's case, he is exchanging "newness of car" with "class of car", so I assume the driving aspirations has kinda taken a back seat.

If one is into cars, big chunk of the purchase decision comes from the heart

Otherwise, majority of MCFers here would be driving an Attrage...

• Haha! 9

5 hours ago, Sdf4786k said:

So say the owner of type R .. just for going from pt A to Pt B 😂 

Just a lao pok car lah. hahaha. 🤣

4 hours ago, Soya said:

If one is into cars, big chunk of the purchase decision comes from the heart

Otherwise, majority of MCFers here would be driving an Attrage...

Hard truths