FC and performance for drivers

Kklee

This thread is set up for discussions of anything technical, features, functions, tips/tricks or technological gadgets relating to fuel consumption (FC) and performance for general drivers. 
It is not for the discussion extensive or extreme car modifications  and similar irrelevances. 
Do share what works for you,  your aspiration and related information. 
Do ask if you have any questions relating FC and performance. 

Edited by Kklee

Wah dun hv that IMHO? 

IMHO.. Gd FC? Change EO timely lor. 

But hor save on FC but waste on EO lor. 

Like that how? Aiya, if only this topic is started by some members of substance & not by some IMHO

🤣

24 minutes ago, ER-3682 said:

Good FC.....????Control your Right Leg on throttle.

Wah this post so looooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooong one.

:grin:

Want FC, forgo performance. Want performance , forgo FC. The two are mutually exclusive, lets be realistic. 😀

Hybird will help to some extent, otherwise, EV would be the best, only performance but ZERO FC. 

Edited by Ct3833

6 minutes ago, badlammy said:

The most important step is to pick the right car.

For me, the 1.4 DSG has always been the best balance for FC and performance.

And the bestest gearbox too.

:grin:

Increase tire pressures to maximum recommended.

Choose a rim and tire combo that has a smaller contact patch to minimize frictional drag.

Higher octane could give better fuel efficiency but costs more in the first place. Work out on a cost per kilometre basis which is the most value for money petrol grade to use.

Eliminate excess junk from the boot - like your car washing buckets, shampoo, etc.

Window visors reduce aerodynamic efficiency creating more drag.

Choose to drive during off peak hours so you do less start-stop driving.

Reduce the use of air conditioning, it take up 10-15% of the fuel consumption.

7 minutes ago, Macrosszero said:

Increase tire pressures to maximum recommended.

Choose a rim and tire combo that has a smaller contact patch to minimize frictional drag.

Higher octane could give better fuel efficiency but costs more in the first place. Work out on a cost per kilometre basis which is the most value for money petrol grade to use.

Eliminate excess junk from the boot - like your car washing buckets, shampoo, etc.

Window visors reduce aerodynamic efficiency creating more drag.

Choose to drive during off peak hours so you do less start-stop driving.

Reduce the use of air conditioning, it take up 10-15% of the fuel consumption.

How to know the maximum tyre pressure? 

17 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

Want FC, forgo performance. Want performance , forgo FC. The two are mutually exclusive, lets be realistic. 😀

Hybird will help to some extent, otherwise, EV would be the best, only performance but ZERO FC. 

Yes,  they should be discussed separately.  

19 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Drive during off-peak hours on the expressway with ACC is THE BEST.

My next car,  hope will have ACC.  😎

I don't exactly watch my FC but I'm quite a light footer.

My wife always say when I drive everybody in the car will fall asleep :grin:

I think I got the right car: 2, in fact with me.

0 fuel consumption, fueled by food.

No need to pay pappie fuel tax some more.

2 hours ago, badlammy said:

The most important step is to pick the right car.

For me, the 1.4 DSG has always been the best balance for FC and performance.

But anyways, drive on the highway and since my car does not have acc, predicting traffic is the way to go.

Edited by Brass

1 hour ago, Windwaver said:

I don't exactly watch my FC but I'm quite a light footer.

My wife always say when I drive everybody in the car will fall asleep :grin:

What is your Car's Make.?How many Km/L.?