Govt wants to share construction manpower disruption burdern between the contractors, developers, and buyers

noobcarbuyer

My SIL is such an idiot.

Why get one contract when you can get 3 contracts and 3 times the money

and work 3 times slower?

6 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

You know why there is not enough workers?

Because they are all digging up my street.

Last week they dug a big hole for power lines and then filled it up again.

This week they dug a big hole for fibre lines and then filled it up again.

Two weeks they dug a big ho'e for gas lines and then filled it up again.

Should have done all three when they dug it up and filled it up once and for all.

Edited by Jamesc

8 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

Its about time the con industry

move to automation.

Con industry is one of the most backward industries

and its time they move into 21st century.

Tiagong in the angmo countries like Australia, they are using automation and modern machineries in their construction industry.  So they rely less on the foreign workers and then train their own people to operate these efficient equipment.  They could afford to pay their locals this way.

Tio bo?

4 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

The best is when I saw 6 men standing around a hole

with only one guy in the hole doing all the work.

The 6 on top all using eye power!

yes I see that too.

Jamesc, you have a lot of things to post.. but you divide out into many short posts..

I like.. why?

because same as the CONtractors.. 1 simple job can split into many small jobs... way to boost GDP.. lol

1 minute ago, Albeniz said:

Tiagong in the angmo countries like Australia, they are using automation and modern machineries in their construction industry.  So they rely less on the foreign workers and then train their own people to operate these efficient equipment.  They could afford to pay their locals this way.

Tio bo?

no tiagong. i see for myself when i live there.

they also work at night on road repair. here no such thing..

7 minutes ago, Albeniz said:

Tio bo?

depends ... my cousin and few friends migrate to oz

they have work as site supervisor ... engineer ... project manager for construction, railway, infra, etc

their pay is "much" higher than the simi HR Manager, Marketing Manager, Cust Svc Manager siting in air con room TCSS

but in spore ... it's the other way round ... pay peaunuts for dirty work ... so we need bangla ... unlimited

1 minute ago, Wt_know said:

depends ... my cousin and few friends migrate to oz

they have work as site supervisor ... engineer ... project manager

their pay is higher than the simi Hr Manager, Marketing Manager, Cust Svc Manager siting in air con room

but in spore ... it's the other way round ... pay peaunuts for dirty work ... so we need bangla 

seems we know the solution.. but still do the opposite.. lol

10 minutes ago, Nolicense said:

seems we know the solution.. but still do the opposite.. lol

ah gong know the mistake ... said want to pay more for "engineer" working in transport,  aerospace, marine, high-tech engineering, etc

but too late liao ... spore now only produce youtuber, instagrammer and tiktoker ... lol

even software programmer/developer are hard to find ... filled with pinoy and ceca ... 

local only apply for marketing specialist focus on FB, Google and digital marketing bla bla bla ... 

1 hour ago, Jamesc said:

My SIL is such an idiot.

Why get one contract when you can get 3 contracts and 3 times the money

and work 3 times slower?

SIL means? Son in law? Or Sister in law?  Ordinarily I would say Sister in Law but you sound like what a certain person's MIL would say to her Son in Law.

And you know, with all the hacking going on  nowadays, you never know :D

2 hours ago, Wt_know said:

ah gong know the mistake ... said want to pay more for "engineer" working in transport,  aerospace, marine, high-tech engineering, etc

but too late liao ... spore now only produce youtuber, instagrammer and tiktoker ... lol

even software programmer/developer are hard to find ... filled with pinoy and ceca ... 

local only apply for marketing specialist focus on FB, Google and digital marketing bla bla bla ... 

And Grabfood-er :grin:

1 hour ago, Philipkee said:

SIL means? Son in law? Or Sister in law?  Ordinarily I would say Sister in Law but you sound like what a certain person's MIL would say to her Son in Law.

shhhh.... he got split personality disorder...

5 hours ago, Albeniz said:

Tio bo?

Absolutely right.

4 hours ago, Philipkee said:

Son in law lah!

Hmmm a man that likes his sister in law always has sister in law on his mind.

Aiyoh not married yet already thinking about sister in law.

Anyway who loves to call me an idiot except my MIL.

:grin:

12 hours ago, Albeniz said:

Tio bo?

Yes, they moving on to using technology or technological advancement as there is much less margins for errors.

Humans are trained to operate these techs and machineries.

So humans and workers are upgraded in their skills and capabilities and pays, and the output is also better.

On 5/2/2021 at 6:22 AM, Philipkee said:

A bit odd.  If they wanna increase prices, is there a need for a new law?  Maybe there is a  new tax.

I just hope it's not retroactive or something meaning that the price you have signed for has now become invalid and the price is up.

Like you buy guaranteed COE and now you need to top up as well.

i dont think its want to increase price just like that ..

simple example is buyer sign agreement to buy flat from developer, supposed to hand over by a certain date ..

back to back developer would have construction agreement with contractor to build the flats and hand over to developer by a certain date too, this would be a date a few months before hand over date from developer to buyer ..

developer cannot hand over to buyer by that date because contractor cannot finish building and hand over to developer due to shortage of workers and slow work progress because of covid etc

under agreement buyer can claim something from developer for late hand over, in turn developer will probably be able to claim from contractor for late hand over too ..

contractor may go bust if they cannot pay up developer's claim, then when the few hundred buyers claim from developer they may also choose to go bust rather than pay up if they lose money - since they may not have been paid their claim by contractors ..

this proposal is to try to "share" losses among buyer contractor and developer .. if each take some loss then no one may need to go bust .. or at least that is the theory ..

5 minutes ago, Mooose said:

simple example is buyer sign agreement to buy flat from developer, supposed to hand over by a certain date ..

back to back developer would have construction agreement with contractor to build the flats and hand over to developer by a certain date too, this would be a date a few months before hand over date from developer to buyer ..

developer cannot hand over to buyer by that date because contractor cannot finish building and hand over to developer due to shortage of workers and slow work progress because of covid etc

under agreement buyer can claim something from developer for late hand over, in turn developer will probably be able to claim from contractor for late hand over too ..

contractor may go bust if they cannot pay up developer's claim, then when the few hundred buyers claim from developer they may also choose to go bust rather than pay up if they lose money - since they may not have been paid their claim by contractors ..

this proposal is to try to "share" losses among buyer contractor and developer .. if each take some loss then no one may need to go bust .. or at least that is the theory ..

good intention..

later gahmen subsidise contractor. developer claim from contractor LD.

developer give little bit to buyer.. not sure because the rules say developer not supposed to give freebies (discount) to buyers.

buyer suck thumb.

1 minute ago, Nolicense said:

good intention..

later gahmen subsidise contractor. developer claim from contractor LD.

developer give little bit to buyer.. not sure because the rules say developer not supposed to give freebies (discount) to buyers.

buyer suck thumb.

i think the intention is to make the rules to cover all three parties so that one party does not end up paying another party, with the third side losing out ..

if contractor is subsidised then it should be clear that the developer will not be able to claim LD from contractor and the amount of compensation to buyer if any should also be specified ..

alternatively it would be a matter of no one claim from anyone late delivery .. buyer lose out in LD but similarly developer cannot claim LD from contractor etc ..

29 minutes ago, Mooose said:

Minister has come out to clarify that the potential legislation is to ensure that the increase of labour costs are to be shared fairly between the developers, main contractors, sub-contractors (and presumably the buyers).

https://www.singaporelawwatch.sg/Headlines/Emergency-legislation-in-the-pipeline-for-battered-construction-sector

Minister for National Development Desmond Lee said in a Facebook post that the pandemic has delayed progress at many worksites, and affected buyers of homes and other properties.

Mr Desmond Lee said: "We are working on further measures to help keep construction going. This includes potential legislation that PM Lee spoke about, that will enable the significant increases in labour costs to be fairly shared between developers and contractors, and between main contractors and subcontractors."

Edited by noobcarbuyer