SPH to Restructure Media Business into Not-for-Profit Entity

Carbon82

hopefully SGCM/MCF still got money to maintain server and keep everyone employed.

12 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

MCF become non profit …

downsize to Intel386 PC? lol

F98401E1-D1A1-48D6-AF63-0FE1038242A3.jpeg

I will just keep the keyboard. hahhaa. the rest cannot lah. this downsize cannot upload image and video liao. waatching youtube is a chore also.

1 hour ago, Columbian78 said:

Base on the official announcements, my quick interpretation is that the media business will be thrown out to become a non profit entity and eventually be totally unlinked from the listco SPH. It will inherit the employees, media seets, $80M cash, 2 main properties and some reit and listco shares. SPH will not receive any significant money in return ($1 sort of transfer). There was no mention of debts.

The listco will then mainly consist of property, student accom, aged care,  which are the 3 main businesses. Plus some minor businesses/investments like sgcarmart, HWZ, Mindchamps, Coupang, M1, etc.

So I think some info are still lacking. But this is the first step to eventually pave the way for the listco to formally unlock its internal value, which is to be seen.

Looks like another Mediacorpse in the making, living on handouts from G to further "national" agendas. 

Now SPH can truly become SPH, Singapore Properties Holdings, since it is largely a real estate business. 

This also copy me.

My massage for good looking young ladies also become a not for profit business. They no overseas allowance I no big tips.

I just live hand to mouth these days.

12 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

Looks like another Mediacorpse in the making, living on handouts from G to further "national" agendas. 

Now SPH can truly become SPH, Singapore Properties Holdings, since it is largely a real estate business. 

My thoughts exactly. Might as well headhunt management talent from City Developments Grp, Ascendas, Far East Organisations etc to take over this fat CEO if that's going to the case. 

Fat CEO has managed to transform it from listed to being delisted as a constituent of STI , and now its very existence has become a not-for-profit organisation.

Win liao lor 

Edited by Lethalstrike

4 minutes ago, Lethalstrike said:

My thoughts exactly. Might as well headhunt management talents from City Developments Grp, Ascendas, Far East Organisations etc to take over this fat CEO if that's going to the case. 

Fat CEO has managed to transform it from listed to delisted, and now its very existence has become a non-for-profit organisation.

Win liao lor 

What likely left in the listco will be Property & Accommodation business.

Media biz will spin off as standalone biz that will not be consolidated.

3 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

What likely left in the listco will be Property & Accommodation business.

Media biz will spin off as standalone biz that will not be consolidated.

Media biz as not for profit entity will be parked under Prime Minister's Office 😁

Just now, Lethalstrike said:

Media biz as not for profit entity will be parked under Prime Minister's Office 😁

Actually, it is not that bad if you read Zaobao.

6 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Actually, it is not that bad if you read Zaobao.

Yes I do sometimes. 

Zaobao is like the red TransCab taxis, where all the rowdier drivers (reporters) are parked there. 

Straits Times is like blue/yellow Comfort Delgro taxis, have to be prim and proper and toe the line. One reported offence and you are out. 

😁

Edited by Lethalstrike
  • Haha! 9

6 minutes ago, Kklim said:

Lose money how? Who's going to top up so there adequate cash flow?

i think taxpayers will top up.

why haven't anyone ask that 1 important question 

What's the situation for BB

1478996170_tenor(40).gif.a00cdae014aafc690781df74a9e3b353.gif

Edited by Staff69

19 minutes ago, Kklim said:

Lose money how? Who's going to top up so there adequate cash flow?

Some cashflow generating assets are parked in this structure 

14 minutes ago, Lethalstrike said:

Yes I do sometimes. 

Zaobao is like the red TransCab taxis, where all the rowdier drivers (reporters) are parked there. 

Straits Times is like blue/yellow Comfort Delgro taxis, have to be prim and proper and toe the line. One reported offence and you are out. 

😁

Not really.  It is the editorial leeway that Chinese media got.

46 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

hopefully SGCM/MCF still got money to maintain server and keep everyone employed.

i tot these 2 entities already profitable? now lump with the waste paper printer... end up subsidize the waste paper.

die la..

28 minutes ago, dudez7 said:

@Mustank LOL meaning no more paywalled subscriber articles ?

Someone has to pay one lah

all the journalist don’t need eat one meh

Now they not profitable as property, dragging down group profitability, kena shift out lor

Who pay, they didn’t say

maybe get public funding?

MCF is all non paid reporters with posts with credibility.

No need to pay any reporters here and the quality of writing is of a much higher standard.