Singapore passports to be valid for 10 years for applications from October

Blueray

1 hour ago, Blueray said:

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/singapore-passport-validity-extended-10-years-renewal-ica-14760828

They realized folks who renewed their passport last year have until 2025 before it expires again. This group will be pissed if their passport remains in pristine condition by then. [laugh]

48 minutes ago, Old-driver said:

Nabei.... I just renewed [furious]

You still need to travel during this pandemic? Mine expired last year and like many, din't bother to renew in the near future. 

3 hours ago, Blueray said:

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/singapore-passport-validity-extended-10-years-renewal-ica-14760828

"For those aged below 16, the passport validity will remain at five years. ....As children’s facial features change more rapidly, renewing their passport every five years will allow the photograph in their passport to be updated more frequently, which will minimise identification problems when going through immigration," the agency said. 

But what if as an adult I go for a facelift and some skin polishing??

Then my new look may differ from the passport photo.

11 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

Really can't make up their mind ..... :slow:

10 , 5 , 10 ... :wacko:

Anyone still remember the 7 yrs 'Blue' passport for travelling to West Malaysia only. :meaw:

Of Course remember, is cheaper too and the pages is a lot thicker than the current passport

17 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

Anyone still remember the 7 yrs 'Blue' passport for travelling to West Malaysia only. :meaw:

too many run to malaysia pump petrol.. so take away the blue passport lor.. lol

26 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

I got mine from outram branch. The building  opposite tiong bahru bun pastries. Now taken by a pte kindergarten.

Edited by Kopites

S'pore passport remains 2nd most powerful in the world, behind Japan's

SINGAPORE - Japan continues to outstrip Singapore as the world's most powerful passport in a new update to a global index.

It noted that Japanese passport holders can travel without a prior visa to a record 193 destinations, up from 191 in the first quarter of this year.

Singapore remains in second place with access to 192 destinations, compared with 190 places reported in January. 

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/spore-passport-remains-2nd-most-powerful-passport-in-the-world-behind-japan

192 destinations ?

Moi can go jiu hu jin happy liao ... :D

Why ICA need to wait till from 1 Oct? cannot from next week or 1 June ? 

( just in case i need to apply for a new passport before 1 Oct [laugh] )

6 minutes ago, RH1667 said:

Why ICA need to wait till from 1 Oct? cannot from next week or 1 June ? 

( just in case i need to apply for a new passport before 1 Oct [laugh] )

Ya boy .. petrol hike then fast hand fast leg .. 

This must wait 5 months .. wtf!

I feel so vindicated. When my son's and my father's passports became due, I just ignored the notices. COVID-19 want to renew for fiak? 

Now can renew swee swee for 10 years later. Steady pom pi pi. 😂

ICA staff cannot lay idle even during pandemic mah... So they keep sending out passport renewal reminders to keep the applicants walking in. 🚶‍♂️..🚶‍♂️..🚶‍♂️....🚶‍♂️...

1 hour ago, Macrosszero said:

If cannot travel, renew for 20 years also no use. 

image.png.a0e80dec13993e001da1ed036eed91e5.png

Precisely. 

Calculate the depreciation if we are going to leave it inside the drawer.