Advice on Michelin made in Thailand vs Dunlop made in japan

16 minutes ago, Confusedboi said:

you should consider michelin primacy 4 if you want more comfortable ride and less wear on tyre  and less tyre noise.

if you want better grip than michelin pilot sport 4 but the tyre wears out faster and will be noiser.

Michelin Primacy 4 is in the same class as Bridgestone Turanza series right?[rolleyes]

4 hours ago, tantripad said:

Lasting is important so save money . Good grip but I am not speedster . 

Bridgestone tyres are quite lasting.

Turanza is comfort range

Potenza is performance range.

another option is Goodyear Eagle Assy 5. cheap and good. dunno whether lasting or not cos mine are just 1.5 year old. [:p]

4 hours ago, tantripad said:

Looks like verdict is Michelin

Workshop recommended  Michelin primacy 4 ST @ $165 

How does this compare to XM2 ? 

165 so ex. Check out GY Efficient Grip Performance 2. I paid much less for R17 225. It's good in the wet, very quiet and comfy, low rolling resistance and enough dry grip even for my driving (probably a lot more "sporty" then how you claim you drive.). 

Here's a good site to compare the various options. 

https://www.tyrereviews.com/Article/2020-Tyre-Reviews-Ultimate-Summer-Tyre-Test.htm

Top is Continental Premium Contact 6 but it has very bad wet handling. Second place is GY EG Perf2. Premacy 4 is a distant 7.

Edited by Volvobrick

14 hours ago, tantripad said:

@Gizmore 

where you got it fixed ? How much ? 

Tyre Track in Yishun. $105/pc.

No affiliation with the shop. Bought there due to the fact it is beside my office.

Date code of tyre is 0121. So should be manufactured Jan-2021.

Edited by Gizmore

15 hours ago, tantripad said:

Lasting is important so save money . Good grip but I am not speedster . 

You can save money on bodykit, paintjob, etc. Dun save money on rubber. 

Does not matter u dun go above 100.

I use Michi ps4.  Changing weather give you the grip, able to react to other drivers around you.  The ability and potential to get you out of situations saves you much more. 

Anyway how lasting also depends on how one drives. 

Cannot say about Dunlop cos never use. 

Edited by Phluvcat

16 hours ago, Beregond said:

not only model.

what priority the driver is looking at is also very important.

lasting? comfort? low noise? dry grip? wet grip?

dunlop is also a very old and prestige brand for tyres,

to say hands down michelin is better is unfair to me.

For me, once I collect my new car from AD I drive down to hurry tyre straight away change out my Dunlop Maxx sports 50+ that come standard to Michelin PS4 with no regret! This is for your manufacture and model comparison 😬

12 hours ago, DOBIEMKZ said:

Supplementing my above statements, avoid China-brand tyres.

Like some T brand tyre many cars stick the tyre brand at the back window to enjoy $10 per tyre discount when changing .....and I seen such tyre fitted on Audi SQ5! OMG

• Shocked 2

11 hours ago, tantripad said:

This is a level above XM2.

But better to consider GY Assy 5, cheaper. Very good grip in wet and dry. Noise is low. Made in Germany.

Edited by Tohto

16 hours ago, DylanChen said:

drive like this, simi tyre also not much diff lah

Have you notice heavy rain odds of taxi accidents very high! And those racers taxi driver take corner suddenly like turtle unlike private car who uses performance tyre still can drive normally not speeding just normally that is the difference in rubber pattern and quality

12 hours ago, tantripad said:

may wanna enquire with TyreTrack at Yishun to compare prices.

2 of my friends got their Michelin PS4 from there.

another friend and I got our GY F1 Assy 5 there. 

36 minutes ago, Blueray said:

may wanna enquire with TyreTrack at Yishun to compare prices.

2 of my friends got their Michelin PS4 from there.

another friend and I got our GY F1 Assy 5 there. 

actually now tyre price quite cheap compare like many years ago.

no point comparing to the last cents.

i rather spend more and change it at a place more convenient to me, or i feel more comfortable talking with.

i dun like those pushy type, or those face change the min u say u want to consider more.

Michelin Primacy 4. Price might be a tad pricier, but I think it’s the best overalll.

9 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

Top is Continental Premium Contact 6 but it has very bad wet handling. Second place is GY EG Perf2. Premacy 4 is a distant 7.

How can it be Top of the list if it has "very bad wet handling?"

Anyway this is the type of tyre I am looking for for my MIL car.

Now raining a lot.

Thanks for the good tip. :a-m1212:

:a-happy:

2 hours ago, D3badge said:

Like some T brand tyre many cars stick the tyre brand at the back window to enjoy $10 per tyre discount when changing .....and I seen such tyre fitted on Audi SQ5! OMG

Hahaha $40 is big money you know.

So many BMs Mercs Audi cannot even pay HDB parking fees.

Must tailgate people to save a few dollars only.

$40 to stick T sticker is nothing.

Maybe $40 even willing to sell their grandmothers.

Only in MCF you get people saying today I sold this stock made $200,000

Yesterday I sold that stock made $300,000.

Everyday post this kind of stories.

But the reality of this Covid period

is everyday I see videos on people 

tailgate out of HDB carparks.

Not 1, not 2 but so many and many also road tax cannot pay

and not bread and butter cars hor, a lot were Contis. :a-m1212:

16 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

Hahaha $40 is big money you know.

So many BMs Mercs Audi cannot even pay HDB parking fees.

Must tailgate people to save a few dollars only.

$40 to stick T sticker is nothing.

Maybe $40 even willing to sell their grandmothers.

some time cannot understand why some ppl want to 活到這樣辛苦 just to drive ' branded'

even my close friends.

Edited by Beregond